Sea Turtles

To report a sea turtle disturbance or harassment

Please visit Report a Sighting or Incident.

Sea turtles belong to the taxonomic Class Reptilia.

Sea turtles have large fore flippers that make them strong swimmers and allow them to move along beaches. Unlike freshwater turtles and tortoises, sea turtles cannot pull their limbs and head inside their shell for protection. Sea turtles have a hard, bony shell, or carapace, except for the leatherback sea turtle, which has a softer carapace composed of a matrix of small bony plates covered by a layer of oil-saturated fat and a leathery skin. Sea turtles use a variety of habitats, including sandy beaches, coastal waters, and the deep ocean.

Female sea turtles dig nests and lay their eggs on tropical and subtropical beaches. After a period of incubation, hatchlings quickly make their way to the ocean upon emerging from the nest. It is believed that young turtles spend their first years floating in offshore beds of Sargassum seaweed that follow large ocean currents. When turtles reach the approximate size of a dinner plate they begin to appear in coastal feeding areas. In general, it takes 15 to 20 years for a sea turtle to reach reproductive maturity. The life expectancy of sea turtles is unknown but it is thought that some species can live to reach 100 years or more.

Four sea turtle species occur in Canadian waters:

These sea turtles migrate to temperate waters in the summer to feed.

Leatherback Sea Turtle swimming near the surface of the ocean. Credit: Canadian Sea Turtle Network.

Leatherback Sea Turtle swimming near the surface of the ocean
Credit: Canadian Sea Turtle Network.

The Loggerhead turtle swimming in the tank is a part of a 2015 tagging project with NC Aquarium at Roanoke Island

The Loggerhead turtle swimming in the tank is a part of a 2015 tagging project with NC Aquarium at Roanoke Island

Conservation

Sea turtles are of global conservation concern. Several populations are in a state of decline. Anthropogenic threats to sea turtles include, but are not limited to:

  • Fisheries bycatch
  • Entanglement
  • Poaching
  • Pollution
  • Coastal development

In Canada, the Pacific and Atlantic populations of leatherback sea turtles are listed as Endangered under the federal Species at Risk Act. The loggerhead sea turtle is also listed as Endangered. For more information on the recovery of these species, please visit the SARA Registry.

Help protect sea turtles!

You can help protect sea turtles by using less plastic. Sea turtles may mistake plastic waste for food. They may also get tangled up in various kinds of plastic, such as six-pack rings from pop cans or packing straps, which may cause injuries or make it hard for them to swim or feed.

Ways you can help:

  • Refuse single-use plastics, like straws and bags
  • Remember your reusable shopping bags
  • Pack your lunch in reusable containers
  • Use refillable water bottles
  • Recycle plastic whenever possible
  • Never litter - garbage can be carried by wind and water to the ocean

Fast Fact

Female turtles return to the same beach where they were born to deposit their eggs.

Related information

Date modified:

Tortues marines

Pour signaler des cas de perturbation ou de harcèlement de tortues marines

Veuillez consulter Signaler une observation ou un incident.

Les tortues marines appartiennent à la classe des Reptiles.

Les tortues marines possèdent de grands ailerons antérieurs qui leur permettent de se déplacer rapidement en mer et de se hisser sur les plages. Contrairement aux tortues dulcicoles et aux tortues terrestres, les tortues marines ne peuvent pas rentrer leur tête et leurs pattes dans leur carapace pour se protéger. Les tortues marines ont une carapace dure et osseuse, à l'exception de la tortue luth, qui a une carapace plus molle, composée d’une matrice de petits nodules osseux, recouverte d’une couche de graisse saturée et d’une peau ayant l'aspect du cuir. Les tortues marines fréquentent toute une variété d’habitats, y compris les plages de sable, les eaux côtières et les eaux océaniques profondes.

Les tortues marines femelles font leur nid sur les plages tropicales et subtropicales et y pondent leurs œufs. Après une période d'incubation, les œufs éclosent et les nouveau-nés se dirigent rapidement vers la mer dès leur sortie du nid. On croit que les jeunes tortues passent leurs premières années de vie à flot dans les bancs hauturiers de sargasses qui se laissent porter par les grands courants océaniques. Lorsqu'elles atteignent la taille d'une assiette, elles commencent à se manifester dans les aires d'alimentation côtières. En général, il leur faut de 15 à 20 ans pour atteindre la maturité sexuelle. L'espérance de vie des tortues marines est inconnue, mais on pense que certaines espèces peuvent vivre jusqu'à 100 ans ou plus.

Quatre espèces de tortue marine évoluent dans les eaux canadiennes :

Ces tortues marines migrent vers des eaux tempérées en été pour se nourrir.

Tortue luth nageant près de la surface de l’océan. Photo : Canadian Sea Turtle Network.

Tortue luth nageant près de la surface de l’océan
Photo : Canadian Sea Turtle Network.

La caouanne nageant dans le bassin prend part à un projet d’étiquetage de 2015 en collaboration avec le NC Aquarium de l’île Roanoke.

La caouanne nageant dans le bassin prend part à un projet d’étiquetage de 2015 en collaboration avec le NC Aquarium de l’île Roanoke.

Conservation

Les tortues marines sont d’intérêt pour la conservation mondiale. Plusieurs populations sont en train de dépérir. Les menaces anthropiques auxquelles sont confrontées les tortues marines comprennent sans s’y limiter :

  • Les prises accessoires dans la pêche
  • Les prises accidentelles dans les engins de pêche
  • Le braconnage
  • La pollution
  • Le développement côtier

Au Canada, les populations de l’Atlantique et du Pacifique de tortue luth sont inscrites à la liste des espèces en voie de disparition de la Loi sur les espèces en péril du gouvernement fédéral. La tortue caouanne fait également partie de cette liste. Pour obtenir plus d’information sur le rétablissement de ces espèces, veuillez consulter le lien suivant le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Aidez à protéger les tortues de mer!

Les tortues de mer peuvent prendre les déchets de plastique pour de la nourriture. Elles peuvent aussi rester coincées dans divers types de plastique, comme des porte-canettes ou des sangles d’emballage, qui peuvent leur causer des blessures ou les empêcher de nager ou de se nourrir.

Comment vous pouvez aider :

  • N’utilisez pas d’objets en plastique non réutilisables, comme les pailles et les sacs.
  • N’oubliez pas d’apporter vos sacs à provisions réutilisables.
  • Apportez votre dîner dans des contenants réutilisables.
  • Utilisez des bouteilles d’eau réutilisables.
  • Recyclez le plastique dans la mesure du possible.
  • Ne laissez pas traîner des ordures - elles peuvent être emportées par le vent.

Info-éclair

Les tortues femelles reviennent à leur plage natale pour pondre leurs oeufs.

Renseignements connexes

Date de modification :