Humpback Whale Catalogue

Humpback whales (Megaptera novaeangliae) migrate between high latitude summer feeding grounds and low latitude winter breeding grounds. In the North Pacific, winter breeding grounds are known in waters off Japan, Hawaii and Mexico; summer feeding grounds are found in coastal waters of Alaska, British Columbia and the western mainland United States. Researchers use photographs of the ventral surface of the tail flukes to identify and track movements of individual whales and to estimate abundance. Patterns of pigmentation, scarring and shape of the flukes are unique to each individual.

This catalogue is a collection of identification photographs of humpback whales seen in British Columbian waters from 1989 to 2007. The majority of the data were collected by the Cetacean Research Program at the Pacific Biological Station, as part of its assessments of the conservation status of cetacean species-at-risk. Most photographs and data were collected in known areas of concentration along the coast of British Columbia, including Langara Island, southeast Moresby Island, the northern mainland, and southwest Vancouver Island.

Each individual humpback is given a unique alphanumeric identifier. Each identifier starts with BC to indicate that the animal was seen in British Columbian waters. Following the BC is an X, Y or Z, corresponding to the amount of white on the flukes and a number to identify the individual. BCX## contain approximately 0-20% white, BCY## have approximately 20-80% white and BCZ## have approximately 80-100% white. The catalogue is generally arranged in order of increasing white pigmentation. BCX flukes are further arranged into groups of similar appearance, and thus may not be in order of increasing white pigmentation.

Guidelines for taking identification photographs of humpback whales

  • Identifications photographs are of the ventral side (underside) of the tail flukes.
  • Photographs should be taken at a range where the identifying features and the trailing edge are clearly visible. We suggest using a telephoto lens to maximize your distance to the whale. Remember to follow the viewing guidelines closely and avoid approaching closer than 100 metres to the whale.
  • Photographs should be in sharp focus in order to obtain the identifying features and trailing edge.
  • At least 50% of the flukes should be above the surface and in the photograph.
  • Flukes should be at an angle of 90° or facing you in such a way that the identifying features and the trailing edge are clearly visible.
  • Note the date, time, general location, and latitude and longitude (if possible) of the animal photographed.

Contact and Send Photographs to:

Cetacean Research Program
Pacific Biological Station
3190 Hammond Bay Rd
Nanaimo B.C. V9T 6N7
Phone: (250) 756-7253
Email: John.K.Ford@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Conditions of Use

This website is provided for the use of researchers or people interested in humpback whale identification. Photographs and data may not be used in any form without permission.

Collecting identification photographs of humpback whales is encouraged but caution must be used to avoid disturbing the animals while doing so. Please refer to the Department of Fisheries and Oceans viewing guidelines and follow these guidelines closely. If you would like more information on a humpback you have identified or would like to contribute identification photographs, please contact the Cetacean Research Program at the Pacific Biological Station.

I Agree

Photo: Humpback Whale
Humpback Whale Call - Eastern Scotian Shelf

Humpback whales produce a variety of low frequency sounds generally below 1 kHz. Humpbacks are well-known for their songs, which are made up of a series of complex, repeating sequences of sounds. These songs are usually produced by males in their breeding grounds. Songs are thought to play a role in mating and may be used to attract females or keep competing males spaced apart. Humpback whales have also been found to sing in their feeding grounds. This segment of a humpback whale song was recorded in the middle of winter offshore of Nova Scotia, on the edge of the eastern Scotian Slope.

Humpback whale. Photo credit: John Ford

Humpback whale
Photo credit: John Ford

Humpback whale. Photo credit: Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Humpback whale
Photo credit: Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Humpback whale. Photo credit: John Ford

Humpback whale
Photo credit: John Ford

Date modified:

Catalogue des Rorquals à Bosse

Les rorquals à bosse (Megaptera novaeangliae) migrent entre les aires d’alimentation estivales situées à haute latitude et les aires de reproduction hivernales situées à basse latitude. Dans le Pacifique Nord, les aires de reproduction hivernales sont connues au large du Japon, d'Hawaï et du Mexique; les aires d’alimentation estivales sont trouvées dans les eaux côtières de l'Alaska, de la Colombie-Britannique et de l’ouest des États-Unis continentaux. Les chercheurs utilisent des photos de la face ventrale des nageoires de la queue pour identifier et suivre les mouvements des baleines individuelles et pour estimer l'abondance. Les détails de la pigmentation, du marquage et de la forme des nageoires de la queue sont uniques à chaque individu.

Ce catalogue est une collection de photos d'identification des baleines à bosse observées le long du littoral de la Colombie-Britannique entre 1989 et 2006. La majorité des données ont été recueillies dans le cadre du programme de recherche sur les cétacés à la Station de biologie du Pacifique, en tant qu'élément de ses évaluations de la situation quant à la conservation des espèces de cétacés cités comme étant en péril. La plupart des photos et des données ont été recueillies dans les régions où il y a des populations connues le long de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique, y compris l'île de Langara, le sud-est de l’île de Moresby, le Nord continental, et le sud-ouest de l'île de Vancouver.

On donne à chaque rorqual à bosse un identificateur alphanumérique unique. Chaque identificateur commence par BC, ce qui indique que l'animal a été observé le long du littoral de la Colombie-Britannique. Suivant le BC, il y a un X, un Y ou un Z, correspondant à la quantité de blanc sur la nageoire caudale de sa queue et un numéro identificateur. Le groupe BCX## a approximativement entre 0 et 20% de blanc, le groupe BCY ## a approximativement entre 20 et 60% de blanc et le groupe BCZ ## a approximativement entre 60 et 100% de blanc. Règle générale, le catalogue est arrangé par ordre croissant de pigmentation blanche. Les nageoires caudales de la queue du groupe BCX sont de plus arrangées en groupes d'aspect semblable; de ce fait, ce groupe n’est pas nécessairement en ordre croissant de pigmentation blanche.

Les directives pour la prise des photos d’identification des rorquals à bosse

  • Les photos d'identification sont de la face ventrale (face inférieure) des nageoires caudales de la queue.
  • Les photos devraient être prises à une portée où les caractéristiques d'identification et le flanc arrière sont clairement visibles. Nous suggérons l’utilisation d’un téléobjectif afin de garder une distance maximale à la baleine. Rappelez-vous de suivre de près les directives pour l'observation des animaux marins et d’éviter de vous approcher à moins de 100 mètres de la baleine.
  • Les photos devraient être nette en vue d’obtenir les caractéristiques d'identification et le flanc arrière.
  • Au moins 50% des nageoires caudales de la queue devraient être incluses dans la photo.
  • Les nageoires caudales de la queue devraient être à un angle de 90° ou vous faire face de telle manière que les caractéristiques d'identification et le flanc arrière soient clairement visibles.
  • Notez la date, le temps, l’endroit général, la latitude et la longitude (si possible) de l'animal photographié.

Contact et Envoyez les photos à :

Programme de recherche sur les cétacés
La Station de biologie du Pacifique
3190, chemin Hammond Bay
Nanaimo, B.C. V9T 6N7
Téléphone: (250) 756-7253
Courriel: John.K.Ford@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Conditions d'Utilisation

Ce site Web est mis à la disposition des chercheurs ou des individus intéressés à l'identification des baleines à bosse. Ces photos et ces données ne peuvent être utilisées sous aucune forme sans permission expresse.

La collecte des photos d'identification des baleines à bosse est encouragée mais il faut éviter de déranger les animaux tout en le faisant. Veuillez se référer aux directives pour observation du Ministère des Pêches et des Océans et veuillez suivre ces directives de près. Si vous voulez de plus amples informations sur une baleine à bosse que vous avez identifiée ou si vous voulez contribuer des photos d'identification, prière de contacter le Programme de recherche sur les cétacés à la Station de biologie du Pacifique.

Je suis d'accord

Photo: Rorquals à Bosse
Appel d'un rorqual à bosse - L'est du plateau néo-écossais

Les rorquals à bosse produisent un éventail de sons de basse fréquence généralement inférieurs à 1 kHz. Les rorquals sont bien connus pour leurs chants qui sont composés d'une série de séquences de sons complexes et répétitifs. Ces chants sont habituellement produits par les mâles dans leurs aires de reproduction. Ils semblent jouer un rôle dans l'accouplement et pourraient être utilisés pour attirer des femelles ou tenir les mâles en compétition à distance. Il a également été constaté que les rorquals à bosse chantent dans leurs aires d'alimentation. Ce segment d'un chant du rorqual à bosse a été enregistré en plein milieu de l'hiver au large des côtes de la Nouvelle-Écosse, en bordure de l'est du plateau néo-écossais.

Rorqual à bosse Megaptera novaeangliae. Crédit photo : John Ford

Rorqual à bosse Megaptera novaeangliae
Crédit photo : John Ford

Rorqual à bosse Megaptera novaeangliae. Crédit photo : Pêches et Océans Canada

Rorqual à bosse Megaptera novaeangliae
Crédit photo : Pêches et Océans Canada

Rorqual à bosse Megaptera novaeangliae. Crédit photo : John Ford

Rorqual à bosse Megaptera novaeangliae
Crédit photo : John Ford

Date de modification :