Annual Report on the Department of Fisheries and Oceans - Use of the Law Enforcement Justification Provisions

2013

Sections 25.1-25.4 of the Criminal Code provide a limited justification at law for acts and omissions that would otherwise be offences when committed by designated law enforcement officers (and those acting under their direction) while investigating an offence under federal law, enforcing a federal law, or investigating criminal activity. The law enforcement justification provisions are subject to a legal requirement of reasonableness and proportionality.

The law enforcement justification provisions also establish a system of accountability that includes a requirement under which the competent authority, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans must make public an annual report on the use of specific portions of the law enforcement justification provisions by Fishery Officers employed by Fisheries and Oceans.

In particular, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans must report:

Statistics

Temporary designations

Paragraphs 25.3(1)(a), (d) and (e) of the Criminal Code require the following information to be made public:

From January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2013, the Department of Fisheries and Oceans reports that the senior official made no temporary designations.

Authorizations for Specific Acts and Omissions

Paragraphs 25.3(1)(b), (d) and (e) of the Criminal Code require the following information to be made public:

From January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2013, the Department of Fisheries and Oceans reports that no authorizations were granted to public officers to commit justified acts or omissions that would otherwise constitute offences and that would likely result in loss of or serious damage to property.

From January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2013, the Department of Fisheries and Oceans reports no authorizations were granted for directing another person to commit a justified act or omission that would otherwise constitute an offence.

Instances of Public Officers Proceeding Without Senior Official Authorization

Paragraphs 25.3(1)(c), (d) and (e) of the Criminal Code require the following information to be made public:

From January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2013, the Department of Fisheries and Oceans reports that no public officers proceeded without a senior official’s written authorization in these circumstances.

 

Honorable Gail Shea
Minister of Fisheries and Oceans

Rapport annuel du ministère des Pêches et des Océans - Recours à des dispositions de justification de l’application de la loi

2013

Les articles 25.1 à 25.4 du Code criminel prévoient une justification limitée, sur le plan juridique, d’actes et d’omissions qui constitueraient par ailleurs des infractions s’ils étaient commis par des agents désignés de la paix (et les personnes qui agissent sous leurs direction) dans le cadre d’une enquête sur une infraction à une loi fédérale, dans la mise en application d’une loi fédérale ou dans le cadre d’une enquête sur une activité criminelle. Les dispositions du régime de justification de l’application de la loi sont assujetties à une exigence juridique en matière du caractère raisonnable et de la proportionnalité.

Les dispositions du régime de justification de l’application de la loi prévoient aussi l’établissent d’un système de responsabilisation qui comporte une obligation en vertu duquel l’autorité compétente, soit la ministre des Pêches et des Océans, doit rendre public un rapport annuel sur le recours à certaines des dispositions de justification en vue de l’application de la loi par les agents des pêches à l’emploi de Pêches et Océans Canada.

En particulier, la ministre des Pêches et des Océans doit rapporter notamment :

Statistiques

Désignations temporaires

Les alinéas 25.3(1)a), d) et e) du Code criminel exigent que les renseignements ci-dessous soient rendus publics :

Pour la période du 1er janvier et le 31 décembre 2013, le ministère des Pêches et des Océans rapporte qu’il n’y a eu aucune désignation temporaire par le fonctionnaire supérieur.

Autorisations accordées pour commettre certains actes ou omissions

Les alinéas 25.3(1)b), d) et e) du Code criminel exigent que les renseignements ci-dessous soient rendus publics:

Pour la période du 1er janvier et le 31 décembre 2013, le ministère des Pêches et des Océans rapporte n’avoir autorisé aucun fonctionnaire public à commettre des actes ou omissions justifiés qui constituerait par ailleurs des infractions et qui entraîneraient vraisemblablement la perte de biens ou des dommages importants à ceux-ci.

Pour la période du 1er janvier et le 31 décembre 2013, le ministère des Pêches et des Océans rapporte n’avoir accordé aucune autorisation d’ordonner à une personne de commettre un acte ou une omission justifié qui constituerait par ailleurs une infraction.

Nombre de fois que des fonctionnaires publics ont commis un acte ou une omission sans autorisation écrite du fonctionnaire supérieure

Les alinéas 25.3(1)c), d) et e) du Code criminel exigent les renseignements ci-dessous soient rendues publics :

Pour la période du 1er janvier et le 31 décembre 2013, le ministère des Pêches et des Océans rapporte aucun fonctionnaire public n’a procédé sans l’autorisation écrite d’un fonctionnaire supérieur, dans ces circonstances.

 

L'honorable Gail Shea
Ministre des Pêches et des Océans