Sustainable fish and seafood

Bounded by three oceans – the Pacific, Arctic and Atlantic - Canada is home to the longest coastline and the largest freshwater lake system in the world. We are proud of the fish and seafood that come from them. Fish and seafood are part of our culture, our way of life, so it's vital that our fisheries remain healthy for future generations.

Our clean, cold waters contain more than 160 species of fish and seafood, and our fresh, frozen, smoked and canned products are in high demand in every corner of the globe.

Did you know?

Learn more about our statistics, including on Canada’s fish and seafood trade, aquaculture, commercial fisheries, and recreational fishing.

Fisheries management in Canada

Canada is a world leader in the sustainable management of fisheries and aquaculture. Through sound science, forward-looking policy, and operational and service excellence, Fisheries and Oceans Canada carries out a broad mandate ensuring:

Canada has an abundance of ecologically diverse and economically significant freshwater and marine and coastal areas. Our overarching goal is to protect Canada’s three oceans, its coasts, waterways and fisheries, and to ensure these remain healthy for future generations.

Learn more about how our fisheries funds provide financial support to keep our fish and seafood sector sustainable and innovative, while meeting the growing demands of a worldwide market.

Poissons et fruits de mer durables

Bordé par trois océans – le Pacifique, l’Arctique, et l’Atlantique – le Canada possède le plus long littoral et le plus grand système de lacs d’eau douce au monde. Nous sommes fiers du poisson et des fruits de mer qui en proviennent. Les poissons et les fruits de mer font partie intégrante de notre culture et de notre mode de vie. Il est donc vital que nos pêches demeurent saines pour les générations futures.

Nos eaux limpides et froides contiennent plus de 160 espèces de poissons et de fruits de mer, et nos produits frais, congelés, fumés, et en conserve sont très recherchés aux quatre coins du monde.

Le saviez-vous?

Apprenez-en davantage sur nos statistiques, notamment sur le commerce du poisson et des fruits de mer du Canada, l'aquaculture, la pêche commerciale et la pêche récréative.

Gestion des pêches du Canada

Le Canada est un chef de file mondial dans la gestion durable des pêches et de l'aquaculture. Grâce à des données scientifiques fiables, à une politique tournée vers l'avenir, et à l'excellence de ses opérations et de ses services, Pêches et Océans Canada s'acquitte d'un vaste mandat en assurant :

Le Canada dispose d'une abondance de zones d'eau douce, marines, et côtières, diversifiées sur le plan écologique et importantes sur le plan économique. Notre objectif global  est de protéger les trois océans du Canada, ses côtes, ses voies navigables et ses pêcheries, et de veiller à ce qu'ils restent sains pour les générations futures.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la façon dont nos fonds pour la pêche fournissent un soutien financier pour maintenir notre secteur du poisson et des fruits de mer durable et innovant, tout en répondant aux demandes croissantes d'un marché mondial.