Archived information

The Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Economic Impact of Marine Related Activities in Canada

Introduction

1. Rationale

Activities dependent on the ocean make a substantial contribution to the Canadian economy. Fisheries and naval installations provided the rationale for the first European settlement. Fish processing, shipbuilding and marine transportation followed, providing the basis for economic development and growth on all three of Canada's coasts. These ocean activities defined settlement patterns that continue to this day.

New activities emerged over the years including tourism, aquaculture, bio-technologies, specialized manufacturing and oil and gas exploration and development. A wide range of service industries supports these activities. Together, they create substantial opportunities as well as challenges for more traditional uses.

A specialized public administration has evolved to provide stewardship leading to sustainable use. Objectives and guidance are embedded in the 1997 Oceans Act, with a full vision spelled out in 2002 in Canada's Ocean Strategy.

This study finds its rationale against this backdrop of on-going change in ocean activities and management, and the need to ensure decision-makers understand clearly the nature and economic significance of these activities. Specifically, the study is aimed at gaining greater insight into the full range of ocean activities and their contribution to the Canadian economy.

To this end, this report provides output values for marine-related activities covering the period 2002-2006, with estimates of the economic impacts for 2006. The last study of this kind was completed in 2003, covering the years 1998-2000.1

2. Purpose and objectives

This report aims to provide decision-makers, planners, industry and the general public with a measure of the relative economic importance of the oceans surrounding Canada on three sides. To this end, the main objective is to estimate the economic value of marine-related activities in Canada, and within its defined ocean regions: Atlantic, Pacific and Arctic. Within this broad objective are two more specific objectives:

  • Describe and quantify existing marine-related commercial and public sector activities in terms of their economic impacts on national and regional economies.
  • Estimate the value of emerging activities for which data are incomplete or unavailable.

3. Contents

Following this Introduction, Chapter II sets out the methodology used to generate the economic impacts. Methodology includes a section identifying and defining the specific activities comprising the marine economy, and explains the distinction between primary and secondary activities. Data requirements and sources are identified, and any limitations specified. The methodology goes on to explain the approach used to measure the economic value of the specified marine activities, including the meaning of specific indicators and how direct, indirect and induced impacts are defined.

Chapter III sets out the national economic analysis of primary and secondary private sector activities. Each activity is described in qualitative and quantitative terms using industry-specific economic indicators as well as output value. Any data issues are identified. Economic impacts – estimated using the Statistics Canada Inter-provincial Input-Output Model – are set out for each activity using conventional indicators: GDP, employment and labour income. Also included in Chapter III is a section dealing with so-called secondary activities.

Chapter IV sets out the national economic analysis of public sector activities. This includes federal and provincial government departments and agencies, as well as universities and ENGOs.

Chapter V contains the roll-up of impacts at the national level as well as impacts for the Atlantic, Pacific and Arctic regions (a map delineating the ocean impact regions is set out in Figure 1.1). Though the study concerns marine activities, the economic impacts tend to occur on land. For this reason and because of the need to conform to established statistical units, the impact regions coincide with provincial and territorial boundaries.2

  • The Atlantic region includes the four Atlantic Provinces and Québec. Following the Terms of Reference, marine spending by National Defence and Fisheries and Oceans headquartered in Ottawa is also included in the Atlantic region.
  • The Pacific region consists of British Columbia.
  • The Arctic comprises Nunavut, Northwest Territories, Yukon and Nunavik.

The national impacts are a summation of the results of Chapters III and IV, and are built up from regional impacts. The regional impacts are a summation of bottom-up impacts built from the aggregation of impacts at the provincial level.

Chapter VI sets out concluding observations, examining growth potential for each activity, emerging issues and methodological challenges encountered in producing the report.

Several activity-specific appendices contain details of the derivation of output value used to run the input-output model, where these data are not available from published sources.

Figure 1.1: Map of Canada showing ocean impact regions as defined for this study A map delineating the ocean impact regions. Three regions are displayed. The Atlantic region includes the four Atlantic Provinces and Québec. The Pacific region consists of British Columbia and the Arctic comprises Nunavut, Northwest Territories, Yukon and Nunavik.

1 RASCL, Canada's Ocean Industries: Contribution to the Economy, 1988-2000, prepared for DFO, September 2003.
2 The reader should note that by defining the regions in this fashion, a small amount of marine activity occurring in Hudson Bay (mainly seasonal shipping through the Port of Churchill, Manitoba) is excluded from the impacts.

Date modified:

Informations archivées

La Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Impact économique des activités maritimes au Canada

Introduction

1. Raison d'être

Les activités qui dépendent des océans apportent une contribution substantielle à l'économie canadienne. La pêche et les installations navales ont justifié le premier établissement en Europe. La transformation du poisson, la construction navale et le transport maritime ont ensuite suivi, jetant ainsi les bases du développement et de la croissance économique sur les trois côtes du Canada. Ces activités dans le domaine des océans ont déterminé les modèles d'établissement qui ont survécu jusqu'à ce jour.

De nouvelles activités sont apparues au cours des ans, incluant le tourisme, l'aquaculture, les biotechnologies, la fabrication spécialisée, ainsi que l'exploration et l'exploitation pétrolières et gazières. Un vaste éventail d'industries de services facilitent ces activités. Ensemble, elles créent des possibilités considérables, ainsi que des défis en ce qui concerne les usages plus traditionnels.

Un système spécialisé d'administration publique a évolué afin d'assurer ainsi une intendance ayant donné lieu à une utilisation durable. Les objectifs et les directives sont enchâssés dans la Loi sur les océans de 1997, alors que la vision détaillée est décrite dans la Stratégie sur les océans du Canada, qui remonte à 2002.

Cette étude trouve sa raison d'être dans cet environnement en constante évolution touchant les activités et la gestion des océans, ainsi que dans le besoin de faire en sorte que les décideurs comprennent clairement la nature et l'importance de ces activités sur le plan économique. De façon plus précise, l'étude vise à mieux faire comprendre l'éventail complet des activités dans le domaine des océans et leur contribution à l'économie canadienne.

Pour ce faire, ce rapport nous présente les valeurs attribuables aux activités dans le domaine maritime pendant la période de 2002 à 2006, ainsi que des estimations des impacts économiques en 2006. La dernière étude du genre a été complétée en 2003 et couvrait la période de 1998- 2000. 1

2. But et objectifs

Ce rapport a pour but de présenter aux décideurs, aux planificateurs, à l'industrie et à la population générale un paramètre de l'importance économique relative des océans qui entourent le Canada de trois côtés. À cette fin, l'objectif principal consiste à estimer la valeur économique des activités maritimes au Canada, ainsi que dans les régions océaniques définies, soit l'Atlantique, le Pacifique et l'Arctique. Cet objectif général comporte deux objectifs plus précis :

  • Décrire et quantifier les activités actuelles dans les secteurs commercial et public dans le domaine maritime sur le plan de leurs impacts économiques sur les économies nationales et régionales.
  • Estimer la valeur des nouvelles activités dont les données sont incomplètes ou non disponibles.

3. Contenu

Suivant cette introduction, le chapitre II nous présente la méthodologie employée afin de produire les impacts économiques. La méthodologie comporte une section identifiant et définissant les activités particulières que représente l'économie maritime, ainsi qu'une explication de la distinction entre les activités primaires et secondaires. Les besoins et les sources de données y sont identifiés, de même que les limites. La méthodologie se poursuit alors qu'on explique l'approche utilisée afin de mesurer les valeurs économiques des différentes activités maritimes, incluant le sens des divers indicateurs et la façon dont on définit les impacts directs, indirects et induits.

Dans le chapitre III, on décrit l'analyse économique nationale des activités primaires et secondaires du secteur privé. Chaque activité y est décrite de façon qualitative et quantitative en faisant appel à des indicateurs économiques, ainsi qu'à la valeur des extrants. Toutes les questions relatives aux données y sont identifiées. Les impacts économiques – estimés à partir du modèle des entrées-sorties interprovinciales de Statistiques Canada – sont énoncés pour chaque activité en faisant appel à des indicateurs conventionnels, soit le PIB, l'emploi et le revenu du travail. De plus, le chapitre III comporte une section portant sur les soi-disant activités secondaires.

Le chapitre IV renferme l'analyse économique nationale des activités du secteur public, ce qui comprend les ministères et organismes fédéraux et provinciaux, ainsi que les universités et les ONGE.

Le chapitre V présente une récapitulation des impacts au niveau national, ainsi que des impacts dans les régions de l'Atlantique, du Pacifique et de l'Arctique (une carte délimitant les régions d'impact sur les océans est présentée à la figure 1.1). Même si l'étude porte sur les activités maritimes, les impacts économiques se produisent sur la terre ferme. Pour cette raison et en raison du besoin de se conformer aux unités statistiques établies, les régions touchées coïncident avec les frontières des provinces et des territoires.2

  • La région de l'Atlantique comprend les quatre provinces de l'Atlantique et le Québec. Conformément au cadre de référence, les dépenses maritimes réalisées par la Défense nationale et par Pêches et Océans Canada à Ottawa sont également comprises dans la région de l'Atlantique.
  • La région du Pacifique comprend la Colombie-Britannique.
  • La région de l'Arctique comprend le Nunavut, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, le Yukon et le Nunavik. Les impacts nationaux constituent un sommaire des résultats des chapitres III et IV, et reposent sur les impacts régionaux.

Les impacts régionaux constituent un sommaire des impacts ascendants élaboré à partir du regroupement des impacts au niveau provincial.

Le chapitre VI nous présente les observations servant de conclusion, les nouveaux enjeux, ainsi que les défis méthodologiques qu'on doit relever au moment de produire le rapport.

Plusieurs annexes consacrées aux activités renferment des détails sur la façon de dériver la valeur de sortie utilisée afin d'exécuter le modèle d'entrée-sortie, alors qu'on ne peut trouver ces données dans les sources publiées.

Figure 1.1 : Carte du Canada montrant les régions d'impact sur les océans telles que définies aux fins de cette étudeCarte du Canada montrant les régions d'impact sur les océans. Trois régions d'impact sont affichèes. La région de l'atlantique comprend les quatres provinces de l'atlantique et Québec. La région du Pacifique consiste de la Colombie-Britannique et l'Artique comprend le Nunavut, Territoires du Nord-Ouest, Yukon et Nunavik.

1 RASCL, La contribution du secteur maritime à l'économie canadienne, 1988 - 2000, préparé pour le MPO, septembre 2003.
2 Le lecteur devrait prendre note qu'en définissant les régions de cette façon, un faible nombre des activités maritimes qui se déroulent à la baie d'Hudson (principalement la navigation saisonnière passant par le port de Churchill, Manitoba) sont exclues des impacts.

Date de modification :