Archived information

The Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Economic Impact of Marine Related Activities in Canada

Appendix B: Water Transportation Sector Output Estimates

Statistics Canada reports output and GDP data for Water Transportation (NAICS #4831), but not for Support Activities for Water Transportation (NAICS #4883). NAICS 4831 covers the ships, while NAICS 4883 covers port activities. From an economic impact perspective, NAICS 4883 is the more significant industry because of the scope of activities it encompasses.

To obtain a complete picture of the economic impact of the marine transportation sector, it is necessary to estimate an output value for Support Activities for Water Transportation. This is possible using historical data. The first step involves establishing the respective contributions to GDP of each activity; the second step requires establishing the level of output needed to produce this GDP (the GDP/output ratio).

Under the former Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system, these components formed a single industry for statistical purposes (Water Transportation #449), though up until 2000, data for each component was reported separately by Statistics Canada. With the transition to NAICS, support activities for all transportation modes were grouped into a single industry (Support Activities for Transportation NAICS #488). Thus, support activities for water transportation were bundled with, and became indistinguishable from, corresponding services for rail, truck and air transportation.

It is possible to estimate the size of the Support Activities industry by examining the period of overlap between SIC and NAICS in the years leading up to 2000. Table B-1 shows that as a single industry under SIC, Water Transportation and Related Services generated $2,995 million in GDP ($2002) at the national level in 2000. The earliest NAICS data goes back to 1997, and shows that Water Transportation (NAICS #483) generated $1,147 million in 2000. The difference between the two represents Support Activities (NAICS #488), with a $1,848 million contribution to GDP. Table B-1 indicates that the ratio of Support Activities to Water Transportation is about 1.5. In other words, for every $1.00 of GDP generated in Water Transportation, another $1.50 is generated in Support Activities.

Table B-1: Contribution to GDP - ratio of NAICS 488 to NAICS 483
Year Water transportation & services (SIC) Water Transportation NAICS 483 Support Activities NAICS 488 Ratio 488/483
1997 2,470 982 1,488 1.52
1998 2,494 985 1,509 1.53
1999 2,608 1,086 1,522 1.40
2000 2,995 1,147 1,848 1.61

Source: CANSIM V328820; Statistics Canada, special tabulation

Support for this relationship may be found in the U.S. marine transportation data. Table B-2 shows a ratio for the two industries (NAICS 483 and 488) averaging just under 1.5 for the period 2000-2004 (the latest year for which data are available). The U.S. Bureau of Census reports data for both industries, allowing the relative magnitudes of the industries to be readily observed.

Table B-2: Contribution to GDP (U.S.) – Water Transportation and Support Activities ($US millions)
Year NAICS 483 NAICS 488 Ratio 488/483
2000 4,901 7,063 1.44
2001 4,934 7,240 1.47
2002 4,625 7,474 1.62
2003 6,036 8,139 1.35
2004 5,457 8,713 1.6

Source: U.S. Bureau of Census

Though it may be reasonable to assume a stable 1.5:1.0 ratio exists with respect to GDP, it does not follow that this same ratio applies to the respective values of industry output. This is because NAICS 4831 and 4883 industry structures differ, resulting in different levels of output needed to produce a unit of GDP. This is evident from the direct multipliers in Appendix G. Given these multipliers, determining the output value for NAICS 4883 is a matter of solving for the value that results in a level of direct GDP that is 1.5 times higher than that for NAICS 4831. Once the value of output is obtained, it is possible to run the Statistics Canada I-O Model to obtain the full array of impact estimates.

The set of derived output values for each of the provinces is shown in Table B-3.

Table B-3: Output values for NAICS 4831 and 4883
Province NAICS 4831 NAICS 4883 GDP ratio 4883/4831
Output GDP Multiplier GDP Output GDP Multiplier GDP
Newfoundland and Labrador 222,000 0.35 77910 212,000 0.55 116,600 1.5
Nova Scotia 243,000 0.41 99630 281,000 0.54 151,740 1.5
New Brunswick 72,000 0.40 28,800 81,000 0.54 43,740 1.5
Prince Edward Island 21,400 0.20 4,280 14,000 0.46 6,440 1.5
Québec 314,000 0.45 141,300 415,000 0.52 215,800 1.5
British Columbia 1,911,000 0.45 859,950 2,484,000 0.52 1,291,680 1.5

Source: Statistics Canada, special tabulation for NAICS 4831 data; Appendix G for multipliers.

Date modified:

Informations archivées

La Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Impact économique des activités maritimes au Canada

Annexe B : Estimations de la production du secteur du transport maritime

Statistiques Canada produit des rapports sur les données de production et du PIB pour le transport maritime (SCIAN #4831), mais non pour les activités de soutien au transport maritime (SCIAN #4883). Le rapport SCIAN 4831 concerne les navires, alors que le rapport SCIAN 4883 touche les activités portuaires. Sur le plan des impacts économiques, le rapport SCIAN 4883 est le plus important de l'industrie, en raison de l'ampleur des activités qu'il englobe.

Pour obtenir une image complète de l'impact économique du secteur du transport maritime, il est important d'estimer la valeur de production des activités de soutien au transport maritime. Cela est possible si on fait appel aux données historiques. La première étape consiste à définir les contributions respectives de chaque activité au PIB, alors que la deuxième étape vise à définir le niveau de production nécessaire afin de produire ce PIB (soit le rapport PIB/production).

En vertu de l'ancien système de classification type des industries (CTI), ces éléments constituaient une même industrie aux fins des statistiques (transport maritime #449), même si, jusqu'en 2000, les données pour chaque élément étaient présentées séparément par Statistiques Canada. En adoptant le SCIAN, les activités de soutien de tous les modes de transport étaient regroupées en une même industrie (activités de soutien au transport SCIAN #488). Ainsi, les activités de soutien au transport maritime étaient regroupées avec les services correspondants du transport par train, en camion et par avion dont ils devenaient impossibles à distinguer.

Il est possible d'estimer la taille de l'industrie des activités de soutien en examinant la période de chevauchement entre la CTI et le SCIAN au cours des années ayant précédé l'an 2000. Le tableau B-1 nous montre qu'une industrie donnée en vertu du CTI, soit le transport maritime et les services connexes, a généré 2 995 millions de dollars en PIB (dollars de 2002) à l'échelle nationale en 2000. Les données les plus anciennes du SCIAN remontent à 1997 et révèlent que le transport maritime (SCIAN #483) a généré 1 147 millions de dollars en 2000. La différence entre les deux représente les activités de soutien (SCIAN #488), qui ont apporté une contribution de 1 848 millions de dollars au PIB. Le tableau B-1 nous indique que le rapport entre les activités de soutien et le transport maritime est d'environ 1,5. Autrement dit, pour chaque dollar de PIB généré dans le domaine du transport maritime, 1,50$ est produit au niveau des activités de soutien.

Tableau B-1: Contribution au PIB – rapport entre le SCIAN 488 et le SCIAN 483
Année Transport maritime et services (SIC) Transport maritime SCIAN 483 Activités de soutien SCIAN 488 Rapport 488/483
1997 2 470 982 1 488 1.52
1998 2 494 985 1 509 1.53
1999 2 608 1 086 1 522 1.40
2000 2 995 1 147 1 848 1.61

Source: CANSIM V328820; Statistiques Canada, tabulation spéciale

On peut justifier cette relation en consultant les données sur le transport maritime aux É.-U. Le tableau B-2 nous présente un rapport pour les deux industries (SCIAN 483 et 488) qui s'élève en moyenne tout juste en-deçà de 1,5 pour la période de 2000-2004 (la dernière année pour laquelle on dispose de données). Le U.S. Bureau of Census présente des données pour ces deux industries, permettant ainsi de constater rapidement leur ampleur relative.

Tableau B-2: Contribution au PIB (U.S.) – Activités de transport maritime et de soutien sur l'eau
Année SCIAN 483 SCIAN 488 Rapport 488/483
2000 4 901 7 063 1.44
2001 4 934 7 240 1.47
2002 4 625 7 474 1.62
2003 6 036 8 139 1.35
2004 5 457 8 713 1.6

Source: CANSIM V328820; Statistiques Canada, tabulation spéciale

Même s'il peut être raisonnable de prendre pour acquis qu'il existe un rapport stable de 1,5:1 par rapport au PIB, ce même rapport ne s'applique pas aux valeurs respectives de la production industrielle. Il en est ainsi, puisque les structures de l'industrie selon les SCIAN 4831 et 4883 diffèrent, donnant ainsi lieu à des niveaux différents de production nécessaires afin de produire une unité du PIB. Cette situation est évidente lorsqu'on observe les multiplicateurs directs à l'annexe G. Compte tenu de ces multiplicateurs, on doit, pour déterminer la valeur de production du SCIAN 4883, déterminer la valeur qui entraîne un niveau de PIB direct 1,5 fois plus élevé que pour le SCIAN 4831. Après avoir déterminé la valeur de production, il est possible de faire appel au modèle d'E-S de Statistiques Canada pour connaître l'éventail complet des estimations des impacts.

L'ensemble des valeurs de sortie dérivées pour chacune des provinces est présenté au tableau B- 3.

Tableau B-3: Valeurs de production des SCIAN 4831 et 4883
Province SCIAN 4831 SCIAN 4883 Rapport PIB
4883/4831
Production Multiplicateur du PIB PIB Production Multiplicateur du PIB PIB
Terre-Neuve et Labrador 222 000 0.35 77910 212 000 0.55 116 600 1.5
Nouvelle-Écosse 243 000 0.41 99630 281 000 0.54 151 740 1.5
Nouveau-Brunswick 72 000 0.40 28 800 81 000 0.54 43 740 1.5
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 21 400 0.20 4 280 14 000 0.46 6 440 1.5
Québec 314 000 0.45 141 300 415 000 0.52 215 800 1.5
Colombie-Britanniqu 1 911 000 0.45 859 950 2 484 000 0.52 1 291 680 1.5

Source: Statistiques Canada, tabulation spéciale pour les données du SCIAN 4831, annexe G pour les multiplicateurs.

Date de modification :