Science Advisory Report 2009/061

Science Guidance on the Development of Networks of Marine Protected Areas (MPAs)

Summary

  • This DFO Science advisory report provides guidance to achieve national consistency for the design of MPA networks, particularly at regional scales. This guidance focuses on implementing the CBD design features in the Annexes referenced above. The design features include the scientific criteria in Annex I and the scientific guidance in Annexes II and III.
    • For a functional network of MPAs to exist, the network should deliver pre-identified outcomes beyond those which would be expected if there were only a collection of MPAs, each sited optimally and functioning for some individual specific purpose.
    • This SAR provides guidance that will be applicable at any geospatial scale at which an MPA network may be designed. Cases where the relevance of a specific component of the guidance changes with geospatial scale are discussed explicitly.
    • Development of networks of MPAs to achieve specific objectives should be conducted at the appropriate scale(s), supported by groups of experts with appropriate balance of interpretational perspectives and extensive knowledge (including scientific, traditional, and experiential knowledge) of the respective regions.
    • Specific science guidance is supplied regarding the application of; scale and scope, Canadian (DFO) ecologically or biologically significant area (EBSA) criteria, selection of representative areas, selection of representative areas, replication, connectivity, and adequacy and viability.

 Complete PDF document
(12 pages; 96K)


While it was originally intended that a Proceedings document be produced; the current Science Advisory Report contains the expected conclusions and scientific advice intended from this Science Advisory Process.

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Date modified:

Avis scientifique 2009/061

Lignes directrices scientifiques pour l’élaboration des réseaux d’aires marines protégées (AMP)

Sommaire

  • Le présent avis scientifique du secteur des Sciences du MPO contient des lignes directrices pour uniformiser la conception des réseaux d’AMP à l’échelle nationale et en particulier aux échelons régionaux. Ces lignes directrices sont axées sur les caractéristiques de la CDB exposées dans les annexes susmentionnées. Parmi ces caractéristiques, mentionnons les critères scientifiques énoncés dans l’annexe I et les directives scientifiques des annexes II et III.
    • Un réseau fonctionnel d’AMP, doit donner des résultats qui dépassent ceux auxquels on pourrait s’attendre s’il n’y avait qu’un ensemble d’AMP, chacune étant située de façon optimale et fonctionnant pour l’atteinte d’un certain but individuel particulier.
    • Le présent AS contient des lignes directrices qui seront applicables à toutes les échelles géospatiales utilisées pour créer des réseaux d’AMP. Des cas où la pertinence d’une composante particulière des lignes directrices change avec l’échelle géospatiale sont examinées de façon explicite.
    • L’élaboration de réseaux d’AMP pour atteindre des objectifs particuliers doit se dérouler selon l’échelle appropriée, avec le soutien de groupes de spécialistes présentant un équilibre approprié sur le plan de l’interprétation de différentes perspectives et des connaissances approfondies (y compris des connaissances scientifiques, traditionnelles et empiriques) des régions respectives.
    • Des lignes directrices scientifiques particulières sont formulées concernant l’application de : l’échelle, la portée, les critères relatifs aux zones d’importance écologique et biologique (ZIEB) canadiennes (MPO), la représentativité, la répétition, la connectivité ainsi que de la pertinence et la viabilité des aires protégées.

 Document PDF complet
(12 pages; 100 K)


Bien qu'il était initialement prévu qu'un compte rendu de cette rencontre soit produit, la version publiée de l'avis scientifique contient l'information reliée aux conclusions et avis attendus de ce processus d'avis scientifique.

Avis d’accessibilité :

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Date de modification :