Terms of Reference

Update to the Ecological Risk Assessment of Grass Carp (Ctenopharyngodon idella) for the Great Lakes Basin: Lake Ontario

Regional Science Response Process - Central and Arctic Region

February 26, 2016
Burlington, ON and via Teleconference/WebEx

Chairperson: Becky Cudmore

Context

In 2014, Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), through the Asian Carp Program, identified the need for a peer-reviewed binational ecological risk assessment of Grass Carp for the Great Lakes basin. This project was vetted through the Asian Carp Regional Coordinating Committee, coordinated by the Great Lakes Fishery Commission (GLFC) and included experts from the DFO, the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) as authors of the risk assessment. The process used for this ecological risk assessment serves to summarize the best available information and identify the relative risks posed to a specified area within a specified timeframe by a non-native species. The risk assessment document (Cudmore et al. 2017) contains the body of information used to develop the overall risk of Grass Carp for the Great Lakes basin, across all risk assessment elements, by consensus of the peer-review participants and, ultimately, the authors. It is the definitive science document of this process and includes science advice.

The ecological risk assessment of Grass Carp for the Great Lakes basin (Cudmore et al. 2017) collected and presented information on historical arrivals and risks of Grass Carp to each of the Great Lakes given the information available up to the base assessment year of 2014. At the time, five Grass Carp had been reported from the Lake Ontario basin between 1985 and 2010 (Cudmore et al. 2017); this information helped inform the level of risk assigned to the Lake Ontario basin. After the risk assessment document was peer reviewed, but before it was approved for release, eight Grass Carp were captured in the Canadian waters of Lake Ontario in 2015, including six diploids. These captures are significant and may change the likelihood rankings and ecological consequences ratings for Lake Ontario in the risk assessment document, which may affect the scientific advice regarding the risk of Grass Carp to Lake Ontario. As the risk assessment document has already been peer reviewed and no further revisions are permitted, a Science Response Report was developed to incorporate this new and important information that will act as an addendum to the risk assessment document. Consideration of these captures in the risk assessment process ensures effective scientific advice on the risk of Grass Carp to the Great Lakes basin is provided for managers in a timely manner.

Objectives

The objective was to review, and revise, if appropriate, the likelihood rankings and ecological consequence ratings for Lake Ontario (Cudmore et al. in prep.) given information on 2015 Grass Carp captures in Lake Ontario that have occurred since the completion of the risk assessment document:

  • Determine if the recent (2015) triploid Grass Carp capture in Lake Ontario changes the likelihood rankings (arrival, survival, spread) and ecological consequence ratings for Lake Ontario;
  • Determine if the recent (2015) diploid Grass Carp captures in Lake Ontario changes the likelihood rankings (arrival, survival, establishment, spread) and ecological consequence ratings for Lake Ontario.

Expected Publication

  • Science Response Report

Expected Participation

  • Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) (Ecosystems and Oceans Science)
  • Great Lakes Fishery Commission
  • U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
  • U.S. Geological Survey

Reference

Cudmore, B., Jones, L.A., Mandrak, N.E., Dettmers, J.M., Chapman, D.C., Kolar, C.S, and Conover, G. 2017.  Risk Assessment of Grass Carp (Ctenopharyngodon idella) in the Great Lakes Basin. DFO Can. Sci. Advis. Sec. Res. Doc. 2016/118. vi + 115 p.

Notice:

Participation to CSAS peer review meetings is by invitation only.

Date modified:

Cadre de référence

Mise à jour de l'évaluation du risque écologique de la carpe de roseau (Ctenopharyngodon idella) dans le bassin des Grands Lacs : Lac Ontario

Processus de réponse des Sciences régional – Région du Centre et de l’Arctique

Le 26 février 2016
Burlington, ON et WebEx/Téléconférence

Présidente : Becky Cudmore

Contexte

En 2014, Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), dans le du Programme de lutte contre la carpe asiatique, a établi la nécessité d'une évaluation binationale examinée par les pairs du risque écologique que représente la carpe de roseau pour le bassin des Grands Lacs. Ce projet a été étudié en détail par le Comité régional de coordination de la carpe asiatique et coordonné par la Commission des pêcheries des Grands Lacs (CPGL); des experts de Pêches et Océans Canada, de l'U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) et de l'U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) ont réalisé l'évaluation du risque. Le processus utilisé dans la présente évaluation du risque écologique sert à synthétiser la meilleure information disponible et à cerner les risques relatifs que pose une espèce non indigène dans une zone et durant un laps de temps précis. Le présent document d'évaluation du risque (Cudmore et al. 2017) contient l'ensemble des informations utilisées pour déterminer le risque global de la carpe de roseau dans le bassin des Grands Lacs, selon tous les éléments de l'évaluation du risque, par consensus des pairs chargés de l'examen et, en fin de compte, des auteurs eux-mêmes. Il s'agit du document scientifique définitif sur ce processus, et il inclut des avis scientifiques.

L'évaluation du risque écologique que représente la carpe de roseau dans le bassin des Grands Lacs (Cudmore et al. 2017) a permis de recueillir et de présenter des informations sur les arrivées historiques de la carpe de roseau et sur les risques que pose cette espèce dans chacun des Grands Lacs en fonction des renseignements disponibles jusqu'à l'année de base de l'évaluation (2014). À ce moment-là, cinq carpes de roseau avaient été signalées dans le bassin du lac Ontario entre 1985 et 2010 (Cudmore et al. 2017), et ces données ont servi à déterminer le niveau de risque attribué pour le bassin du lac Ontario. Or, après l’examen du document d'évaluation du risque par des pairs, mais avant son approbation aux fins de publication, huit carpes de roseau ont été capturées dans les eaux canadiennes du lac Ontario en 2015, dont six diploïdes. Ces captures sont importantes et susceptibles de modifier les cotes de probabilité et des répercussions écologiques pour le lac Ontario dans le document d'évaluation du risque, ce qui pourrait avoir une incidence sur l'avis scientifique sur les risques que pose la carpe de roseau pour le lac Ontario.  Comme le document d'évaluation du risque a déjà été examiné par des pairs et qu'aucune révision supplémentaire n'est autorisée, une réponse des Sciences a été élaborée afin d'intégrer cette nouvelle information importante, laquelle sera jointe sous forme d'addenda au document d'évaluation du risque.  La prise en considération de ces captures dans le processus d'évaluation du risque garantit que l'on fournisse aux gestionnaires des avis scientifiques efficaces et en temps opportun sur le risque que constitue la carpe de roseau pour le bassin des Grands Lacs.

Objectifs

L'objectif était d'examiner et de réviser, si nécessaire, les cotes de probabilité et les cotes relatives aux conséquences écologiques pour le lac Ontario (Cudmore et al. 2017) compte tenu des données relatives aux captures de carpes de roseau qui ont été réalisées en 2015 dans le lac Ontario, après l'achèvement du document d'évaluation du risque.

  • Il s'agissait de déterminer si la capture récente (2015) d'une carpe de roseau triploïde dans le lac Ontario modifiait les cotes de probabilité (arrivée, survie, propagation) et les cotes relatives aux conséquences écologiques pour le lac Ontario.
  • Il fallait aussi déterminer si les captures récentes (2015) de carpes de roseau diploïdes dans le lac Ontario modifiaient les cotes de probabilité (arrivée, survie, établissement, propagation) et les cotes relatives aux conséquences écologiques pour le lac Ontario.

Publication prévue

  • Réponse des Sciences

Participation prévue

  • Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) (Secteur des Sciences, et des Écosystèmes et des Océans)
  • Commission des pêcheries des Grands Lacs
  • U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
  • U.S. Geological Survey

Référence

Cudmore, B., Jones, L.A., Mandrak, N.E., Dettmers, J.M., Chapman, D.C., Kolar, C.S, and Conover, G. 2017.  Ecological Risk Assessment of Grass Carp (Ctenopharyngodon idella) for the Great Lakes Basin. DFO Can. Sci. Advis. Sec. Res. Doc. 2016/118. vi + 115 p.

Avis:

La participation aux réunions d'évaluation par les pairs du SCCS est sur invitation seulement.

Date de modification :