Science Advisory Report 2019/022

Advice from the assessment of the risk to Fraser River Sockeye Salmon due to piscine orthoreovirus (PRV) transfer from Atlantic Salmon farms in the Discovery Islands area, British Columbia

Summary

Piscine Orthoreovirus (PRV-1) Transfer Risk Assessment

  • PRV-1 released from Atlantic Salmon (Salmo salar) farms operating in the Discovery Islands area was assessed to pose minimal risk to Fraser River Sockeye Salmon (Oncorhynchus nerka) abundance and diversity. The uncertainties ranged from high certainty to high uncertainty (see below).
  • The assessment was conducted using relevant scientific information related to piscine orthoreovirus (PRV-1), including farm-related fish health data, current fish health management practices, surveys and studies from enhanced and wild salmon in British Columbia.
  • The risk assessment was conducted based on the findings that all active farms likely become positive for PRV-1 and Fraser River Sockeye Salmon are susceptible to PRV-1 infection.
  • The risk assessment assumed:
    • continuous PRV-1 shedding from farms, that the exposure time and dose are sufficient to cause infection in at least one Fraser River Sockeye Salmon when they migrate through the Discovery Islands; and
    • that results for laboratory studies on the impact of PRV-1 infection in juvenile Sockeye Salmon are indicative of what occurs in marine environments.
  • The overall Likelihood Assessment concluded that at least one Fraser River Sockeye Salmon, at either the juvenile or adult stage, becoming infected with PRV-1 attributable to Atlantic Salmon from in Discovery Islands area is very likely with the uncertainties for the different steps ranging from high certainty to high uncertainty.
  • The Consequence Assessment concluded that the potential magnitude of consequences to Fraser River Sockeye Salmon abundance and diversity is negligible with reasonable certainty for juveniles and reasonable uncertainty for adults. The levels of the uncertainty of this conclusion were discussed and participants came to different conclusions on the applicability and abundance of the data to support uncertainty estimates.
  • The main uncertainties in this risk assessment are:
    • the high uncertainty related to the likelihood of infection of Fraser River Sockeye Salmon with PRV-1 from infected Atlantic Salmon farms given the lack of data to estimate the concentration of PRV-1 attributable to infected Atlantic Salmon farms, and given that the exposure duration required for infection with PRV-1 to occur and the minimum PRV-1 infectious dose for Sockeye Salmon are unknown; and
    • the reasonable uncertainty related to the consequence assessment given the applicability of proxy data and laboratory studies to estimate consequences for adult Sockeye Salmon.

This risk assessment was informed by a summary of the current state of knowledge related to piscine orthoreovirus (PRV) and associated diseases (Polinski and Garver, 2019) of which the key elements are summarized below.

Characterization of Piscine Orthoreovirus (PRV) and Associated Diseases

  • Of the three known PRV genogroups, PRV-1 occurs in BC, Norway and other areas. The variant of PRV-1 found in British Columbia is the subject of the risk assessment.
  • Data from Norway suggests there is variation in the virulence among strains of PRV-1. BC PRV-1 has less genetic variability and less virulence for Atlantic Salmon than Norwegian PRV-1.
  • PRV-1 is ubiquitous and highly prevalent in marine net-pen farmed Atlantic and Chinook salmon of British Columbia. PRV-1 has a wide geographic distribution among wild Pacific salmon (BC, Alaska and Washington) but at a lower prevalence than farmed salmon and with species/stock-specific variation.
  • Evidence of infection for PRV-1 relies on the use of molecular methods which detect the presence of PRV-1 genetic material; however, this does not indicate infective PRV-1.
  • PRV-1 infects red blood cells. In laboratory challenge trials with juvenile Atlantic or Sockeye salmon, high loads of PRV-1 have been reported. However, it was not predictive of development of disease.
  • Farmed and wild salmon of British Columbia appear most likely to become infected with PRV-1 in seawater, although infections in juvenile salmon have been reported in freshwater.
  • Sockeye Salmon appear less susceptible to infection relative to Atlantic Salmon in British Columbia following experimental exposure.
  • In marine net-pens, PRV-1 has been associated with severe heart inflammation in farmed Atlantic Salmon and jaundice/anemia syndrome in farmed Chinook Salmon in British Columbia; but a causal relationship has not been established.
  • In laboratory challenge trials with juvenile Atlantic Salmon, when high viral loads were generated, the BC variant of PRV-1 enhanced prevalence of minor to moderate heart lesions, without any fish mortality, clinical signs or anaemia.
  • In four laboratory challenge trials with juvenile Sockeye Salmon, high viral loads of PRV-1 were generated without any fish mortalities, clinical signs or anaemia. The histopathology results could not be attributed to PRV-1.
  • No impairment of respiratory function has been demonstrated in BC PRV-1 infected juvenile Atlantic or Sockeye salmon under experimental conditions.
  • Based on observations described above, current evidence does not support the conclusion that BC PRV-1 causes disease or mortality in Sockeye Salmon.

This Science Advisory Report is from the January 28-30, 2019 National Peer Review Meeting on Assessment of the risk to Fraser River Sockeye Salmon due to piscine orthoreovirus (PRV) transferred from Atlantic Salmon farms located in the Discovery Islands area, British Columbia. Additional publications from this meeting will be posted on the Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) Science Advisory Schedule as they become available.

 Complete PDF Document

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Date modified:

Avis scientifique 2019/022

Avis découlant de l’évaluation des risques pour le saumon rouge du fleuve Fraser que représente le transfert de l’orthoréovirus pisciaire (RVP) à partir des fermes de saumon de l’Atlantique situées dans la région des îles Discovery, en Colombie-Britannique

Sommaire

Évaluation des risques que représente le transfert de l’orthoréovirus pisciaire (RVP-1)

  • Il a été établi que le RVP-1 disséminé à partir des fermes de saumon de l’Atlantique (Salmo salar) exploitées dans la région des îles Discovery présente un risque minimal pour l’abondance et la diversité du saumon rouge du fleuve Fraser (Oncorhynchus nerka). Les incertitudes varient d’une certitude élevée à une forte incertitude (voir ci-dessous).
  • L’évaluation a été effectuée à l’aide de données scientifiques pertinentes sur l’orthoréovirus pisciaire (RVP-1), y compris des données sur la santé des poissons d’élevage, des pratiques actuelles de gestion de la santé des poissons, des enquêtes et des études sur le saumon sauvage et le saumon mis en valeur en Colombie-Britannique.
  • L’évaluation des risques a été effectuée d’après les constatations selon lesquelles toutes les fermes actives finissent probablement par révéler la présence du RVP-1 et le saumon rouge du fleuve Fraser est sensible à l’infection par le RVP-1.
  • L’évaluation des risques suppose :
    • l’excrétion continue du RVP-1 à partir des fermes, que le temps et la dose d’exposition sont suffisants pour entraîner une infection chez au moins un saumon rouge du fleuve Fraser lors de sa migration dans la région des îles Discovery;
    • que les résultats des études de laboratoire sur l’incidence de l’infection par le RVP‑1 chez le saumon rouge juvénile sont représentatifs de ce qui se passe dans les milieux marins.
  • L’évaluation globale de la probabilité a permis de conclure que l’infection par le RVP-1 d’au moins un saumon rouge du fleuve Fraser, au stade juvénile ou adulte, attribuable au saumon de l’Atlantique de la région des îles Discovery est très probable, les incertitudes aux différentes étapes variant d’une certitude élevée à une forte incertitude.
  • L’évaluation des conséquences a permis de conclure que l’ampleur potentielle des conséquences sur l’abondance et la diversité du saumon rouge du fleuve Fraser est négligeable, avec une certitude raisonnable pour les juvéniles et une incertitude raisonnable pour les adultes. Les niveaux d’incertitude de cette conclusion ont fait l’objet de discussions et les participants sont arrivés à des conclusions différentes sur l’applicabilité et l’abondance des données à l’appui des estimations de l’incertitude.
  • Les principales incertitudes dans cette évaluation des risques sont :
    • la forte incertitude liée à la probabilité d’infection du saumon rouge du fleuve Fraser par le RVP-1 à partir des fermes de saumon de l’Atlantique infectées, compte tenu du manque de données permettant d’estimer la concentration du RVP-1 attribuable aux fermes de saumon de l’Atlantique infectées et puisque la durée d’exposition requise pour que l’infection par le RVP-1 se produise et la dose infectieuse minimale du RVP-1 pour le saumon rouge sont inconnues;
    • l’incertitude raisonnable liée à l’évaluation des conséquences étant donné l’applicabilité des données indirectes et des études de laboratoire pour estimer les conséquences pour le saumon rouge adulte.
  • Cette évaluation des risques s’est appuyée sur un résumé de l’état actuel des connaissances relatives à l’orthoréovirus pisciaire (RVP) et aux maladies connexes (Polinski et Garver, 2019), dont les principaux éléments sont résumés ci-dessous.

Caractérisation de l’orthoréovirus pisciaire (RVP) et des maladies connexes

  • Des trois génogroupes connus de RVP, le RVP-1 est présent en Colombie-Britannique, en Norvège et dans d’autres régions. La variante du RVP-1 trouvée en Colombie‑Britannique fait l’objet de l’évaluation des risques.
  • Les données norvégiennes suggèrent qu’il existe une variation de la virulence parmi les souches de RVP-1. Le RVP-1 de la Colombie-Britannique présente une variabilité génétique moindre et une virulence moindre pour le saumon de l’Atlantique que le RVP-1 de la Norvège.
  • Le RVP-1 est omniprésent et très répandu chez le saumon de l’Atlantique et le saumon quinnat d’élevage en parcs en filet marins de la Colombie-Britannique. Le RVP-1 a une vaste aire de répartition géographique parmi le saumon sauvage du Pacifique (C.-B., Alaska et Washington), mais sa prévalence est plus faible que celle du saumon d’élevage et elle varie selon les espèces et les stocks.
  • La preuve de l’infection par le RVP-1 repose sur l’utilisation de méthodes moléculaires qui détectent la présence de matériel génétique du RVP-1, mais cela n’indique pas que le RVP-1 est infectieux.
  • Le RVP-1 infecte les globules rouges. Des charges élevées du RVP-1 ont été signalées dans des essais de provocation en laboratoire menés sur des saumons de l’Atlantique ou des saumons rouges juvéniles. Cependant, cela ne permettait pas de prédire l’évolution de la maladie.
  • Les saumons d’élevage et les saumons sauvages de la Colombie-Britannique semblent les plus susceptibles d’être infectés par le RVP-1 dans l’eau de mer, bien que des infections chez des saumons juvéniles aient été signalées en eau douce.
  • Le saumon rouge semble moins sensible à l’infection que le saumon de l’Atlantique en Colombie-Britannique après une exposition expérimentale.
  • Dans les parcs en filet marins, le RVP-1 a été associé à une grave inflammation cardiaque chez le saumon de l’Atlantique d’élevage et au syndrome de l’anémie et de la jaunisse chez le saumon quinnat d’élevage en Colombie-Britannique, mais aucun lien de causalité n’a été établi.
  • Dans des essais de provocation en laboratoire menés sur des saumons de l’Atlantique juvéniles, lorsque des charges virales élevées ont été générées, la variante du RVP-1 de la Colombie-Britannique a révélé une augmentation de la prévalence des lésions cardiaques de mineures à modérées, sans aucun mortalité de poissons, signes cliniques, ni anémie.
  • Dans quatre essais de provocation en laboratoire menés sur des saumons rouges juvéniles, des charges virales élevées du RVP-1 ont été générées sans aucun mortalité de poissons, signes cliniques, ni anémie. Les résultats de l’histopathologie n’ont pas pu être attribués au RVP-1.
  • Aucune altération de la fonction respiratoire n’a été démontrée chez les saumons de l’Atlantique ou les saumons rouges juvéniles infectés par le RVP-1 de la Colombie‑Britannique dans des conditions expérimentales.
  • D’après les observations décrites ci-dessus, les données actuelles ne permettent pas de conclure que le RVP-1 de la Colombie-Britannique entraîne des maladies ou la mortalité chez le saumon rouge.

This Science Advisory Report is from the January 28-30, 2019 National Peer Review Meeting on Assessment of the risk to Fraser River Sockeye Salmon due to piscine orthoreovirus (PRV) transferred from Atlantic Salmon farms located in the Discovery Islands area, British Columbia. Additional publications from this meeting will be posted on the Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) Science Advisory Schedule as they become available.

 Document PDF complet

Avis d’accessibilité :

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Date de modification :