Science Advisory Report 2016/057

Ecological Risk Assessment of Grass Carp (Ctenopharyngodon idella) for the Great Lakes Basin

Summary

  • Grass Carp (Ctenopharyngodon idella) is an herbivorous, freshwater fish that was first introduced in the United States in the early 1960s for use in biological control of aquatic vegetation. It has since escaped and dispersed through the Mississippi River basin towards the Great Lakes. To characterize the risk of Grass Carp to the Great Lakes basin, a binational ecological risk assessment of Grass Carp was conducted.
  • This risk assessment covered both triploid (sterile) and diploid (fertile) Grass Carp and assessed the likelihood of arrival, survival, establishment, and spread, and the magnitude of the ecological consequences within 5, 10, 20 and 50 years from 2014 (i.e., the baseline year) to the connected Great Lakes basin (defined as the Great Lakes basin and its tributaries to the first impassable barrier); risk was assessed based on current climate conditions and at the individual lake scale but does not address a finer geographical scale (e.g., bay or sub-region).
  • For triploid Grass Carp, the probability of occurrence (likelihood of arrival, survival, and spread) was assessed, and for diploid Grass Carp the probability of introduction (likelihood of arrival, survival, establishment and spread) was assessed

Arrival:

  • Grass Carp (both triploid and diploid) have arrived from outside the Great Lakes basin to two lake basins: lakes Michigan and Erie, but the pathways are not clear.
  • The most likely point of direct arrival for triploid and diploid Grass Carp into the Great Lakes basin is through the Chicago-Area Waterway System (CAWS) to Lake Michigan.
  • The most likely vector of arrival for triploid and diploid Grass Carp to Lake Erie is human-mediated release.
  • Likelihood of arrival to Lake Ontario is low at 5 years for both triploid (human-mediated release) and diploid (physical connections) Grass Carp, and increases to moderate at 10 (triploid) and 50 (diploid) years. Likelihood of arrival to lakes Superior and Huron by 50 years is considered to be very unlikely to low for both triploid and diploid Grass Carp.
  • Regulations and their effective enforcement are important factors that may affect the likelihood of arrival.

Survival:

  • Based on thermal tolerance, food availability, predation, pathogens and diseases, adult and juvenile (both triploid and diploid) Grass Carp will survive in the Great Lakes; there are no known factors that would preclude survival.
  • Survival at northern latitudes of Lake Superior is less certain based on some climate-based models.

Establishment:

  • Triploid Grass Carp are not expected to establish because they are sterile (failed triploids are considered as diploids).
  • Evidence exists for the conditions to support establishment of diploid Grass Carp, such as, but not limited to, existence of spawning habitat, potential for positive population growth, and overwinter survival of early life stages.
  • Establishment requires relatively few diploid individuals if older age classes are introduced. Population growth is most sensitive to the survivorship of juveniles.
  • Likelihood of establishment by 5 years is high for Lake Erie due to evidence of recruitment in Lake Erie.
  • For lakes Michigan, Huron, Erie and Ontario, the likelihood of establishment is very likely by 10 years.
  • In contrast, the likelihood of establishment in Lake Superior remains low at 50 years given the low probability of overwinter survival and inability to mature based on current climate, which will limit establishment.

Spread:

  • No known impediments to spread exist among the lakes.
  • Spread to other Great Lakes in the basin is a concern based on the arrival of Grass Carp in lakes Erie and Michigan.
  • Expect significant lake-to-lake movement within 10 years (Lake Michigan to Lake Huron); movement will be influenced by habitat and food availability, especially across lakes Michigan, Huron, and Erie.
  • Possible movement expected between lakes Huron and Superior and from Erie to Huron, but less likely between Ontario and Erie (Welland Canal).

Ecological Consequences:

  • Consumption of aquatic vegetation by Grass Carp (both ploidies) may lead to consequences to elements of the biotic community (high potential consequence was predicted for 33 of 136 fishes assessed; and for 18 of 47 bird species assessed) and abiotic environment.
  • The ecological consequences for triploid Grass Carp for all lakes were ranked as negligible at the lake-scale for all time periods because of inability to establish.
  • It is important to note that effects may be greater within localized wetlands if Grass Carp (regardless of ploidy) aggregate in these areas.
  • Ecological consequences depend on the predicted density of Grass Carp to occur in each lake.
  • Lakes Michigan, Huron, Erie, and Ontario are most likely to experience increasing ecological consequences within 20–50 years.

Overall Risk:

  • Under current conditions, the overall risk for triploid Grass Carp ranges from low (lakes Superior, Huron and Ontario) to medium (lakes Michigan and Erie) for all years.
  • Under current conditions, the overall risk for diploid Grass Carp is low for all lakes within 5 years, but increases to high for Lake Ontario and extreme for lakes Michigan, Huron and Erie, at 50 years.
  • If the rate of arrival increases, the onset and magnitude of risk will increase.
  • Lakes Michigan and Erie are at greater risk relative to the other lakes.

Overarching Conclusions:

  • Grass Carp has arrived to the Great Lakes basin (lakes Michigan and Erie) and the invasion process has begun.
  • There is an expected time lag associated with the full ecological consequences of an established population of Grass Carp in the Great Lakes basin.
  • Immediate preventative actions would be most effective, especially in conjunction with control activities where Grass Carp have arrived, to reduce the probability of establishment and delay or reduce subsequent ecological consequences.

This Science Advisory Report is from the June 1-3, 2015 peer review of the Binational Ecological Risk Assessment for Grass Carp in the Great Lakes Basin. Additional publications from this meeting will be posted on the DFO Science Advisory Schedule as they become available.

 Complete PDF Document

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Date modified:

Avis scientifique 2016/057

Évaluation du risque écologique de la carpe de roseau (Ctenopharyngodon idella) dans le bassin des Grands Lacs

Sommaire

  • La carpe de roseau (Ctenopharyngodon idella) est un poisson herbivore d’eau douce qui a été introduit aux États-Unis au début des années 1960 pour le contrôle biologique de la végétation aquatique. Toutefois, des individus échappés se sont dispersés dans les Grands Lacs après avoir transité par le bassin du fleuve Mississipi. Une évaluation binationale a été effectuée pour caractériser le risque écologique que pose la carpe de roseau pour le bassin des Grands Lacs.
  • L’évaluation du risque portait à la fois sur les lignées triploïdes (stériles) et diploïdes (fertiles) de carpe de roseau, et notamment sur la probabilité de leur arrivée, de leur survie, de leur établissement et de leur propagation, ainsi que sur l’ampleur des répercussions écologiques dans des horizons de 5, 10, 20 et 50 ans à compter de 2014 (l’année de référence) pour le bassin des Grands Lacs reliés (c.-à-d. les Grands Lacs et leurs affluents jusqu’au premier obstacle infranchissable). Le risque a été évalué en fonction des conditions climatiques actuelles et à l’échelle de chaque lac, mais non à des échelles géographiques plus fines (p. ex., les baies ou les sous-régions).
  • Dans le cas de la carpe de roseau triploïde, l’évaluation s’est fondée sur la probabilité d’occurrence (arrivée, survie et propagation) et, pour la carpe de roseau diploïde, elle a porté sur la probabilité d’introduction (arrivée, survie, établissement et propagation).

Arrivée :

  • La carpe de roseau (lignées triploïde et diploïde) est arrivée dans les bassins des lacs Michigan et Érié en provenance d’une source extérieure au bassin des Grands Lacs. Toutefois, à ce jour, les voies d’entrée exactes restent à éclaircir.
  • Le point d’arrivée directe le plus probable des carpes de roseau triploïdes et diploïdes dans le bassin des Grands Lacs est le Chicago-Area Waterway System (CAWS), qui se déverse dans le lac Michigan.
  • Le vecteur d’arrivée le plus probable des carpes de roseau triploïdes et diploïdes dans le lac Érié est l’introduction liée aux activités humaines.
  • La probabilité d’arrivée dans le lac Ontario dans un horizon de 5 ans est faible pour les carpes de roseau triploïdes (introduction liée à l’activité humaine) et diploïdes (liens physiques), et passe à modérée dans un horizon de 10 ans (triploïdes) et de 50 ans (diploïdes). La probabilité d’arrivée dans 50 ans dans les lacs Supérieur et Huron va de très improbable à faible pour les carpes de roseau triploïdes et diploïdes.
  • La réglementation et son application efficace joueront un rôle déterminant pour la probabilité d’arrivée.

Survie :

  • Compte tenu de la tolérance thermique, de la nourriture disponible, de la prédation, des agents pathogènes et des maladies, les carpes de roseau adultes et juvéniles, diploïdes et triploïdes, survivront dans les Grands Lacs. Aucun facteur connu ne menace leur survie.
  • La survie dans les latitudes nordiques du lac Supérieur est moins certaine si l’on se fie à certains modèles climatiques.

Établissement :

  • Les carpes de roseau triploïdes ne devraient pas s’établir puisqu’elles sont stériles (en cas d’échec de la triploïdisation, les individus sont considérés comme des diploïdes).
  • Des données probantes indiquent que les conditions pourraient être propices à l’établissement de la carpe de roseau diploïde (notamment l’existence d’habitats de frai, le potentiel de croissance de la population et la survie hivernale aux premiers stades biologiques).
  • Un nombre relativement faible d’individus diploïdes de classes d’âge supérieures est nécessaire pour assurer l’établissement. La croissance de la population est tributaire avant tout de la survie des juvéniles.
  • Des signes de recrutement indiquent une probabilité élevée d’établissement dans le lac Érié dans un horizon de cinq ans.
  • Pour les lacs Michigan, Huron, Érié et Ontario, la probabilité d’établissement est considérée comme très élevée dans un horizon de 10 ans.
  • En revanche, la probabilité d’établissement dans 50 ans dans le lac Supérieur demeure faible étant donné la faible probabilité de survie hivernale et l’incapacité des individus de parvenir à maturité dans les conditions climatiques actuelles, défavorables à l’établissement.

Propagation :

  • Il n’existe pas d’obstacle connu à la propagation entre les lacs.
  • La propagation aux autres lacs du bassin des Grands Lacs est préoccupante en raison de l’arrivée de la carpe de roseau dans les lacs Érié et Michigan.
  • Des déplacements importants entre les lacs sont prévus dans un horizon de 10 ans (du lac Michigan au lac Huron). Ils dépendront surtout, entre les lacs Michigan, Huron et Érié, de l’habitat et de la nourriture disponible.
  • Des déplacements sont probables entre les lacs Huron et Supérieur et du lac Érié dans le lac Huron, mais moins probables entre les lacs Ontario et Érié (canal Welland).

Répercussions écologiques :

  • La consommation de plantes aquatiques par les carpes de roseau (des deux ploïdies) peut avoir des répercussions sur des éléments de la communauté biotique (prévisions de répercussions importantes pour 33 des 136 espèces de poisson et 18 des 47 espèces d’oiseau évaluées) et l’environnement abiotique.
  • En raison de leur incapacité à s’établir, les répercussions écologiques des carpes de roseau triploïdes ont été classées comme négligeables à l’échelle des lacs, pour toutes les périodes considérées.
  • Il convient de souligner que les effets peuvent être plus importants dans certaines zones humides si des carpes de roseau (diploïdes ou triploïdes) s’y regroupent.
  • Les répercussions écologiques seront fonction de la densité prévue des carpes de roseau dans chaque lac.
  • Les lacs Michigan, Huron, Érié et Ontario sont plus susceptibles de subir des répercussions écologiques croissantes dans 20 à 50 ans.

Risque global :

  • Dans les conditions actuelles, le risque global lié à la carpe de roseau triploïde varie de faible (lacs Supérieur, Huron et Ontario) à moyen (lacs Michigan et Érié) pour toutes les périodes.
  • Dans les conditions actuelles, le risque global lié à la carpe de roseau diploïde est faible pour tous les lacs dans un horizon de 5 ans, mais il passera à élevé pour le lac Ontario et à extrême pour les lacs Michigan, Huron et Érié dans un horizon de 50 ans.
  • Une hausse du taux d’arrivée provoquera une hausse de la réalisation et de l’ampleur du risque.
  • Les lacs Michigan et Érié présentent un risque plus élevé que les autres lacs.

Conclusions générales :

  • La carpe de roseau est arrivée dans le bassin des Grands Lacs (lacs Michigan et Érié) et le processus d’invasion a débuté.
  • L’apparition des pleines répercussions écologiques d’une population de carpes de roseau établie dans le bassin des Grands Lacs ne sera pas immédiate.
  • Des mesures de prévention immédiates seront plus efficaces, surtout si elles sont menées de concert avec des activités de lutte là où la carpe de roseau est déjà arrivée, afin de réduire la probabilité d’établissement, et de retarder ou de limiter les répercussions écologiques postérieures.

Le présent avis scientifique découle de la réunion du 1 au 3 juin 2015 sur l’Évaluation binationale du risque écologique de la carpe de roseau dans le bassin des Grands Lacs. Toute autre publication découlant de cette réunion sera publiée, lorsqu’elle sera disponible, sur le calendrier des avis scientifiques de MPO.

Document PDF complet

Avis d’accessibilité :

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Date de modification :