Research Document - 2007/024

Physical Oceanographic Conditions in the Gulf of St. Lawrence in 2006

By Galbraith, P.S., D. Gilbert, C. Lafleur, P. Larouche, B. Pettigrew, J. Chassé, R.G. Pettipas and W.M. Petrie

Abstract

An overview of physical oceanographic conditions in the Gulf of St. Lawrence in 2006 is presented. Air and surface water temperatures were above normal except for late summer in most parts of the Gulf. Bottom water temperatures on the Magdalen Shallows were unusually warm; no observations below 0°C were recorded in September. The yearly total freshwater runoff at Québec City was normal but included an anomalous strong fall peak. Sea ice coverage and volume within the Gulf during the winter was the lowest recorded since 1969. The winter cold mixed layer volume was the smallest recorded in the 11 year history of the winter helicopter survey and corresponded to 29% of the total water volume of the Gulf. This shallow winter mixed layer led to the CIL index for summer 2006 increasing to +0.21°C. This is the warmest value since 1983, but only 0.1°C warmer than in 2000 which was the second warmest. Regional patterns of the CIL minimum temperatures show that increases between 2005 and 2006 were more pronounced in the Laurentian Channel than elsewhere. The minimum temperature actually decreased in Mecatina Trough, presumably due to the increased inflow of a thick layer of cold and highly saline water, which was observed from the annual March survey, through the Strait of Belle Isle. Regional patterns similar to those found for the CIL minimum temperatures were seen in the regional CIL thickness distribution. The CIL volume (T < 1°C) for the Magdalen Shallows during the September groundfish survey was the lowest since 1982. Water temperatures were generally one standard deviation above the mean, based on the 1971-2000 climatology at all depths for most of the year. Exceptions to this included the CIL in Esquiman Channel and Mecatina Trough and the deeper waters (> 300 m) of the southern half of the Laurentian Channel which were colder. The most noteworthy thermal features in November were the anomalously deep CIL in the Estuary and northwestern Gulf regions and the anomalously warm waters above the CIL everywhere in the Gulf. The outlook for 2007 based on the March 2007 survey is for a 0.6°C cooling of the summer CIL index forecast from a thicker winter cold surface layer and increased inflow of Labrador Shelf water through the Strait of Belle Isle.

 Complete PDF document
(56 pages; 5031K)

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Offer to produce in both official languages:

This report uses scientific and technical terms and is published in the official language of the working group or scientific expert that produced the document. If this document is not accessible to you in the official language of your choice, please contact the Secretariat.

Date modified:

Document de recherche 2007/024

Conditions d’océanographie physique dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent en 2006

Par Galbraith, P.S., D. Gilbert, C. Lafleur, P. Larouche, B. Pettigrew, J. Chassé, R.G. Pettipas et W.M. Petrie

Résumé

Les conditions d’océanographie physique dans le golfe du Saint Laurent en 2006 sont brièvement présentées. Les températures de l’air et des eaux de surface étaient supérieures à la normale, sauf à la fin de l’été, dans la plupart des régions du Golfe. Les températures de l’eau près du fond du Plateau madelinien ont été exceptionnellement chaudes en septembre, aucune température inférieure à 0 °C n’ayant été observée à ce moment-là. Le débit d’eau douce à Québec avait une moyenne annuelle normale, mais sa répartition mensuelle incluait une crête anormalement forte à l’automne. La superficie et le volume de glace de mer durant l’hiver ont été les plus faibles enregistrés depuis 1969. Le volume de la couche mélangée d’eau froide hivernale était le plus faible en 11 ans de relevés par hélicoptère et correspondait à 29 % du volume d’eau total dans le Golfe. Cette couche mélangée moins profonde s’est traduite par une hausse de l’indice de la CIF pour l’été 2006. Celui-ci a atteint +0,21 °C. Il s’agissait de la température la plus chaude enregistrée depuis 1983, bien qu’elle n’ait été que légèrement plus chaude qu’en 2000. La distribution régionale des températures minimales de la CIF estivale montrent que les augmentations de 2005 à 2006 ont été plus prononcées dans le chenal Laurentien qu’ailleurs. En effet, la température minimale a même diminué dans la fosse de Mécatina, causée par l’intrusion hivernale d’une épaisse couche d’eau froide et salée par le détroit de Belle Isle. La répartition spatiale de l’épaisseur de la CIF est semblable à celle de la température minimale. Le volume de la CIF (T < 1 °C) observé sur le Plateau madelinien pendant le relevé multidisciplinaire de septembre a été le plus faible enregistré depuis 1982. Les températures de l’eau étaient généralement au dessus de la moyenne climatologique de 1971 à 2000 par un écart-type, à toutes les profondeurs pour une grande partie de l’année. Les exceptions comprenaient la CIF dans le chenal Esquiman et dans la fosse de Mécatina ainsi que les eaux profondes (> 300 m) de la partie sud du chenal Laurentien, où les eaux ont été plus froides que la normale. En novembre, les caractéristiques les plus remarquables de la température de l’eau ont été une CIF anormalement profonde dans l’estuaire et dans la partie nord-ouest du Golfe ainsi que les eaux anormalement chaudes au-dessus de la CIF partout dans le Golfe. Les perspectives pour 2007, d’après le relevé de mars 2007, comprennent un refroidissement de 0,6 °C de l’indice de la CIF estivale par-rapport à 2006, en raison de la couche de surface froide plus épaisse en hiver 2007 et de l’apport hivernal plus important en provenance du plateau continental du Labrador via le détroit de Belle Isle.

 Document PDF complet
(56 pages; 5031K)

Offre de produire le document dans les deux langues officielles :

Ce rapport contient des termes scientifiques et techniques; il a été publié dans la langue officielle du groupe de travail ou du scientifique expert qui l’a produit. Si ce document n’est pas disponible dans la langue officielle de votre choix, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat.

Avis d’accessibilité :

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Date de modification :