Applying at Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the Canadian Coast Guard

Learn about applying to the department, what information is on a job advertisement and what different terms mean.

On this page

About applying to the department

Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the Canadian Coast Guard post job advertisements that are unique to each position. If you’re interested in applying, it’s important to read the full advertisement, as the requirements for positions vary. 

Hiring managers are looking to find the right candidate for the right job at the right time. Make sure your application follows the instructions listed on the advertisement. The hiring managers won’t request additional details if you haven’t provided enough information.

Information on a job advertisement

We provide information in our job advertisements in a standard format to make it easier for potential applicants to identify important information.

Example of the basic information provided on a job advertisement.
Description

The following image shows an example of the tombstone data provided on a job advertisement.
Title: Various Administrative Support Positions
Organization: Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Location: Ottawa (Ontario)
Group and level: AS-01, CR-05
Salary range: $51,538 to $57,643
Application deadline: Closing date: 19 December 2018 – 23:59, Pacific Time
Area of selection: Who can apply: Persons residing in Canada and Canadian citizens residing abroad.

There are many sections on a job advertisement that help you evaluate if you’re a good fit for the position, including:

Essential qualifications

All job advertisements include a section that says: ‘In order to be considered, your application must clearly explain how you meet the following (essential qualifications).’ You should not submit an application if you don’t possess all of the criteria listed.

This is the criteria that you must demonstrate in your application, which may include:

Provide details in your application on your top accomplishments related to these criteria. You should also prepare explanations relating to these criteria in case hiring managers ask you questions for each criterion to obtain more information about your experience.

Other qualifications

Some advertisements include a section that says: ‘if you possess any of the following, your application must also clearly explain how you meet it (other qualifications).’ This usually includes other criteria, such as:

While these criteria aren’t essential, they’re considered an asset. If you meet any of the criteria, identify this in your application as we may use this information when evaluating applications. These criteria may also be used to limit the number of candidates to be considered.

Qualifications assessed at a later date

Criteria identified as ‘applied / assessed at a later date (essential for the job)’ will be evaluated during your assessment. However, you don’t need to explain how you meet these criteria in your application.

Criteria identified as ‘applied / assessed at a later date (may be needed for the job)’ are those that may be considered at a later date. They aren’t required for the job but would be considered an asset. You don’t need to explain how you meet these criteria in your application.

Conditions of employment

The conditions of employment are the requirements you must meet and maintain throughout your employment if you’re appointed, such as:

Other information 

The ‘other information’ section includes additional information about the staffing process.

Glossary of terms

Definitions of some terms in the job advertisement may be unfamiliar to you.

Postuler pour un emploi à Pêches et Océans Canada et à la Garde côtière canadienne

Renseignez-vous sur la façon de postuler pour un emploi au Ministère, les renseignements qui sont inscrits dans une offre d’emploi et la signification de divers termes.

Sur cette page

Postuler pour un emploi au Ministère

Pêches et Océans Canada et la Garde côtière canadienne affichent des offres d’emploi qui sont distinctifs à chaque poste. Si vous souhaitez présenter votre candidature à un poste, il est important de lire l’offre au complet, car les exigences des postes varient.

Les gestionnaires d’embauche cherchent à trouver le bon candidat pour le bon poste au bon moment. Assurez-vous que votre demande est conforme aux instructions figurant sur l’offre. Les gestionnaires d’embauche ne vous demanderont pas de détails supplémentaires si vous n’avez pas fourni suffisamment de renseignements.

Renseignements dans une offre d’emploi

Dans nos offres d’emploi, nous présentons les renseignements dans un format standard afin de permettre aux candidats potentiels de déterminer plus facilement les renseignements importants.

Exemple de renseignements de base fournis dans une offre d’emploi.
Description

L’image suivante illustre un exemple des données de base fournies dans une annonce d’emploi.
Titre : Postes de soutien administratif variés
Organisation : Pêches et Océans Canada
Lieu : Ottawa (Ontario)
Groupe et niveau : AS-01, CR-05
Échelle salariale : 51 538 $ à 57 643 $
Date limite : 19 décembre 2018 – 23 hr 59, heure du pacifique
Qui est admissible : Personne résidant au Canada ainsi que les citoyens canadiens résidant à l’étranger

De nombreuses sections d’une offre d’emploi vous aident à évaluer si vous êtes un bon candidat pour le poste annoncé, comme :

Qualifications essentielles

Toutes les offres d’emploi comprennent une section dans laquelle on peut lire : « Afin que votre candidature soit retenue, votre demande doit clairement décrire comment vous répondez aux énoncés suivants (qualifications essentielles) ». Vous ne devriez pas présenter une demande si vous ne répondez pas à tous les critères énumérés.

Les critères auxquels vous devez répondre dans votre demande comprennent :

Veuillez fournir dans votre demande des détails sur vos principales réalisations liées à ces critères. Vous devriez également préparer des explications concernant ces critères au cas où les gestionnaires d’embauche vous poseraient des questions pour chaque critère afin d’en savoir plus sur votre expérience.

Autres qualifications

Certaines offres comprennent une section dans laquelle on peut lire : « Si vous répondez à certains des énoncés suivants, votre demande doit également clairement décrire comment vous y répondez (autres qualifications) ». D’autres critères sont généralement inclus, comme :

Bien que ces critères ne soient pas essentiels, ils sont considérés comme un atout. Si vous répondez à l’un ou l’autre de ces critères, indiquez-le dans votre demande, car nous pourrions utiliser cette information pour évaluer les demandes. Ces critères peuvent également être utilisés pour limiter le nombre de candidatures à prendre en considération.

Qualifications évaluées à une date subséquente

Les critères portant la mention « utilisés ou évalués à une date subséquente (essentiels à l’emploi) » seront évalués au cours de votre évaluation. Toutefois, vous n’avez pas à expliquer comment vous répondez à ces critères dans votre demande.

Les critères portant la mention « utilisés ou évalués à une date subséquente (pourraient être nécessaires à l’emploi) » sont ceux qui peuvent être pris en considération à une date ultérieure. Ils ne sont pas nécessaires pour l’emploi, mais ils seraient considérés comme un atout. Vous n’avez pas à expliquer comment vous répondez à ces critères dans votre demande.

Conditions d’emploi

Les conditions d’emploi sont les exigences auxquelles vous devez satisfaire tout au long de votre emploi si vous êtes nommé, par exemple :

Autres renseignements 

La section « Autres renseignements » comprend des renseignements supplémentaires sur le processus de dotation.

Glossaire

Définitions de certains termes utilisés dans l’offre d’emploi avec lesquels vous pouvez être peu familiers.