Appointment opportunities

We know that our country is stronger, and our government more effective, when decision-makers reflect Canada’s diversity. Moving forward, the Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous Canadians and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard is to protect our three oceans, coasts, waterways and fisheries and ensure that they remain healthy for future generations.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following position(s).

Board member (part-time)

Eeyou Marine Region Wildlife Board

The Eeyou Marine Regional Wildlife Board is the main instrument of Wildlife (all terrestrial, aquatic, avian and amphibian flora and fauna ferae naturae, and all parts and products thereof) management in the Eeyou Marine Region and the main regulator of access to Wildlife.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on its website.

Candidates must apply online by October 18, 2017. English and French appointment opportunities will be produced in an alternative format upon request. Your cover letter and résumé should be sent to appointments-nominations@dfo-mpo.gc.ca at the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Per diem: $225 plus travel and living expenses.

Position location: in Washkaganish, meetings can be held in the Eeyou Istchee

Official languages and diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for this position. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups:  women, Indigenous peoples, disabled persons, and members of visible minorities.

To be considered for one of these positions, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application.

Education and experience

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed: 

Knowledge, skills and abilities
Language requirements

Proficiency in both official languages would be preferred.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following personal attributes in your current and recently held positions:  

Eligibility factors and conditions of employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

If you are appointed to this position, you must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment.

Possibilités de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. À l’avenir, le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s’inscrit dans le droit fil de l’engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Canadiens autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l’inclusion, l’honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d’esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

L’objectif primordial du ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne consiste à protéger nos trois océans, nos côtes maritimes, nos voies maritimes ainsi que nos pêches afin d’en assurer la vitalité pour les générations futures.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour les postes suivants.

Membre (poste à temps partiel)

Conseil de Gestion des Ressources Fauniques de la Région Marine d’Eeyou

Le Conseil de Gestion des Ressources Fauniques de la Région Marine d’Eeyou est le principal organisme de gestion de la faune (tous les animaux sauvages terrestres, aquatiques, aviaires et amphibiens, de la flore terrestre et aquatique, ainsi que de leurs parties et de leurs produits) et principal régulateur de l’accès aux ressources fauniques dans la Région Marine d’Eeyou.

Vous pourrez trouver d'autres renseignements sur l'organisation et ses activités sur son site Web (en anglais).

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne au plus tard le 18 octobre 2017. Les possibilités de nomination décrites en anglais et en français peuvent être produites en média substitut sur demande. Votre lettre d'accompagnement et votre curriculum vitæ doivent être envoyés à l'adresse appointments-nominations@dfo-mpo.gc.ca à Pêches et Océans Canada.

Indemnité quotidienne :  225 $, en plus des frais de déplacement et de subsistance

Lieu du poste : Washkaganish, les rencontres peuvent avoir lieu dans l’Eeyou Istchee

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats au moment de les évaluer pour ces postes. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l'un des groupes suivants : femmes, Autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour un de ces postes, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d'une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissance, compétences et capacités

Exigences linguistiques

La préférence est accordée aux candidats bilingues.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l'étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l'expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

Facteurs d'admissibilité et conditions d'emploi

Dans votre demande, il est important de confirmer que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

Si vous êtes nommé à ce poste :

Vous devrez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d'éthique et d'activités politiques à l'intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d'emploi.