Appointment opportunity: Yukon Salmon Sub-Committee

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada’s diversity. Moving forward, the Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous Canadians and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard is to protect our three oceans, coasts, waterways and fisheries and ensure that they remain healthy for future generations.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following position.

Member

The Yukon Salmon Sub-Committee (YSSC) provides formal recommendations to the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans and to First Nations on all matters related to salmon and their habitat in Yukon.

Its office and support staff are located in Whitehorse, Yukon. It is a sub-committee of the Yukon Fish and Wildlife Management board, a public advisory body established under Chapter 16 of the Yukon Umbrella Final Agreement.

Members:

Candidates who applied to the November/December 2018 Notice of Appointment Opportunity must re-apply to be considered in this selection process.

Candidates must apply online by Friday, April 17, 2020. Your cover letter and résumé should include your legal name, and date and place of birth, and be sent to appointments-nominations@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Official languages and diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for appointment. Candidates are encouraged to identify their proficiency in either Canada’s official languages. Women, Indigenous persons, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minority groups are encouraged to apply.

Requirements

To be considered, please ensure that your résumé and cover letter clearly demonstrates how you meet the following requirements:

Experience

Knowledge, skills and abilities

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following conditions:

If you are appointed to the position, you:

For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner’s website.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Occasion de nomination : Sous-comité du saumon du Yukon

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs représentent la diversité du Canada. À l’avenir, le gouvernement du Canada aura recours à un processus de nomination qui sera transparent et axé sur le mérite, qui visera une représentation équitable des deux sexes et qui assurera la représentation adéquate des Autochtones et des membres de groupes minoritaires dans des postes de direction. Nous continuerons de chercher des citoyens qui incarnent nos valeurs communes : l’inclusion, l’honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d’esprit. Ensemble, nous bâtirons une fonction publique à l’image de la diversité du Canada.

Le principal objectif de la ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne est de protéger nos trois océans, nos côtes, nos voies maritimes et nos pêches afin d’en assurer la vitalité pour les générations futures.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour le poste suivant.

Membre

Le Sous-comité du saumon du Yukon (SCSY) formule des recommandations officielles à la ministre fédérale des Pêches et Océans et aux Premières Nations en ce qui concerne toutes les questions qui touchent le saumon et son habitat au Yukon.

Le bureau et son personnel de soutien se trouvent à Whitehorse, au Yukon. Le SCSY est un sous-comité de la Commission de gestion des ressources halieutiques et fauniques du Yukon, un organe consultatif public créé en vertu du chapitre 16 de l’Accord-cadre définitif du Yukon.

Les membres  :

Les candidats qui ont déjà soumis des déclarations d’intérêt en réponse à l’avis de possibilité de nomination de novembre et décembre 2018 devront soumettre une nouvelle candidature afin d’être pris en compte dans le présent processus de sélection.

Les candidats doivent poser leur candidature en ligne avant le vendredi 17 avril 2020. Votre lettre de présentation et votre curriculum vitæ (comprenant votre nom legal, ainsi que votre date et lieu de naissance) doivent être envoyés à l’adresse suivante : appointments-nominations@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats dans le cadre de leur évaluation en vue de la nomination. Les candidats sont invités à mettre en évidence leur compétence dans l’une ou l’autre des langues officielles du Canada. Les femmes, les Autochtones, les personnes handicapées et les membres des minorités visibles sont invités à présenter leur candidature.

Exigences

Afin d’être pris en considération, les candidats doivent s’assurer que les renseignements fournis dans la lettre de présentation et le curriculum vitae montrent clairement en quoi ils répondent aux exigences suivantes :

Expérience

Connaissance, habiletés et capacités

Critères d’admissibilité et conditions d’emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous répondez aux conditions suivantes :

Si vous êtes nommé à ce poste :

Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.