Appointment opportunity: Lisims Fisheries Conservation Trust

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada’s diversity. The Government of Canada has implemented an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous peoples and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard is to protect our three oceans, coasts, waterways and fisheries to ensure that they remain healthy for future generations .

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following position:

Trustee (part-time position)

Lisims Fisheries Conservation Trust

The Lisims Fisheries Conservation Trust (the “Trust”) was created in 2000 as part to the Nisga’a Final Agreement among the Nisga’a Nation, Canada and British Columbia to promote conservation and protection of Nass Area fish species, facilitate sustainable management of fish species and stocks, and promote and support Nisga'a participation in the stewardship of Nass Area fisheries for the benefit of all Canadians. The Trust is governed by three Trustees: one appointed by the Nisga’a Nation, one appointed by Canada and one joint appointment. This appointment opportunity is to replace the Trustee appointed by Canada.

The Trustee’s functions include managing the Trust fund which was settled by the Nisga’a Nation and the Government of Canada, receiving annual reports on the activities and budgets of the Nisga’a Fisheries program, receiving and considering requests for funding from the Joint Fisheries Management Committee (comprised of representatives of the Nisga’a Nation, Canada and British Columbia), making discretionary disbursements to the Nisga’a Nation to fund portions of the Nisga’a Fisheries program and reporting annually to the Nisga’a Nation and Canada on the activities of the Trust.

More information about the Trust and its activities can be found on the website: https://www.nisgaanation.ca.

Candidates must apply online by Thursday, September 26, 2019, via the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) website. English and French appointment opportunities will be produced in an alternative format upon request. Your cover letter and résumé should be sent to appointments-nominations@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Per Diem: Trustees are entitled to receive per diem expenses of $400 per day when conducting the Trust’s business. The annual time requirement for this position in the past several years has been 2 to 4 days.

Position Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, principally.

Official languages and diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing applicants. You are encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to applicants who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities, and members of a visible minority group.

To be considered, please ensure that your résumé and cover letter clearly demonstrates how you meet the following requirements:

Experience, Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

Senior level business, government or consulting experience

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages an asset.

If you move on the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to confirm that you meet the above selection criteria and that you possess the following

Personal Attributes:

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

If you are appointed to this position:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout the appointment as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under Forms and reference material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner’s website.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Possibilité de nomination : Lisims Fisheries Conservation Trust

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada a mis en place un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s’inscrit dans le droit fil de l’engagement du gouvernement à assurer l’égalité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons à chercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l’inclusion, l’honnêteté, la saine gestion financière et la générosité d’esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

Le principal objectif du ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne est de protéger nos trois océans, nos côtes, nos voies maritimes ainsi que nos pêches afin d’en assurer la vitalité pour les générations futures.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour le poste suivant :

Fiduciaire (poste à temps partiel)

Lisims Fisheries Conservation Trust

Le Lisims Fisheries Conservation Trust (la « Fiducie ») a été créé en 2000 dans le cadre de l’Accord définitif Nisga’a entre la Nation Nisga’a, le Canada et la Colombie-Britannique pour promouvoir la conservation et la protection des espèces de poissons de la région de Nass, faciliter la gestion durable des espèces et des stocks de poissons ainsi que promouvoir et appuyer la participation des Nisga’a à l’intendance des pêches dans cette région au profit de tous les Canadiens. La Fiducie est régie par trois fiduciaires : un nommé par la Nation Nisga’a, un nommé par le Canada et un nommé conjointement. Cette possibilité de nomination vise à remplacer le fiduciaire nommé par le Canada.

Les fonctions du fiduciaire consistent à gérer le fonds en fiducie qui a été établi par la Nation Nisga’a et le gouvernement du Canada, à recevoir les rapports annuels sur les activités et les budgets du programme des pêches Nisga’a, à recevoir et à examiner les demandes de financement du Comité mixte de gestion des pêches (composé de représentants de la Nation Nisga’a, du Canada et de la Colombie-Britannique), à effectuer les déboursements discrétionnaires à la Nation Nisga’a pour financer des parties du programme de pêche Nisga’a et à produire le rapport annuel pour la Nation Nisga’a et le Canada concernant les activités de la Fiducie.

De plus amples renseignements sur la Fiducie et ses activités sont disponibles au https://www.nisgaanation.ca.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne au plus tard le jeudi 26 september, 2019 sur le site Web de Pêches et Océans Canada. Les possibilités de nomination en anglais et en français seront produites dans un autre format sur demande. Les lettres de présentation et curriculum vitæ doivent être envoyés à appointments-nominations@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Tarif journalier : Les fiduciaires peuvent toucher un tarif journalier de 400 $ lorsqu’ils exercent les activités de la Fiducie. Au cours des dernières années, le temps requis pour ce poste a été de deux à quatre jours par année.

Emplacement du poste : Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique), principalement.

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats au poste au moment de les évaluer. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre niveau de maîtrise de votre langue seconde et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l’un des groupes désignés suivants : femmes, Autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Afin que votre candidature soit prise en considération, assurez-vous que votre curriculum vitæ et votre lettre de présentation démontrent clairement que vous répondez à chacun des critères suivants :

Expérience, connaissances, compétences et capacités

Expérience de niveau supérieur en affaires, au gouvernement ou en consultation

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles est un atout.

Si vous passez à la prochaine étape du processus de sélection, nous communiquerons avec vos références pour vérifier que vous satisfaites aux critères de sélection mentionnés ci-dessus et que vous possédez les atouts suivants :

Qualités personnelles

Facteurs d’admissibilité et conditions d’emploi

Si vous êtes nommé à ce poste :

Vous devez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d’éthique et d’activités politiques à l’intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long du mandat, cela constituant une condition d’emploi. Ces lignes directrices peuvent être consultées sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous Formulaires et documents de référence.

Vous serez soumis à la Loi sur les conflits d’intérêts. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des postes à pourvoir semblables.