Scientific Research on Tunicates

Science is the key to an economically and environmentally sustainable aquaculture industry. Fisheries and Oceans Canada scientists and researchers have worked to build understanding and knowledge about tunicates and other aquatic invasive species, including the treatments and control methods used to reduce their presence and impact on Canada’s shellfish aquaculture operations.


Detection, Prevention and Treatment

More than 20 individual projects were conducted between 2007 and 2008 to reduce the impact of invasive tunicates on mussel crops and to improve productivity in infested waters using innovative equipment and approaches. As a result, treatment techniques and strategies to mitigate the impact of aquatic invasive species were developed and are used by industry along with other control measures.

  • Canadian Aquaculture R&D Review articles: 20092011
  • Fact sheet: Containment and mitigation of nuisance tunicates on Prince Edward Island to improve mussel farm productivity

A four-year research initiative was also undertaken in PEI to address tunicates at three different levels: detection, prevention, and treatment. Researchers sought to develop a diagnostic kit using genetic material to identify different tunicate life stages in sea water samples as part of the detection component of the study. For the prevention component, the team analyzed marine samples to develop an environmentally sound and sustainable anti-fouling agent derived from marine natural products. The work on different tunicate treatments involved field work and direct collaboration with industry to develop new treatments for the mitigation of tunicates.

  • Canadian Aquaculture R&D Review article: 2009

Equipment designed to mitigate the impact of solitary and colonial tunicate species on mussel farms was developed and evaluated over a one-year period. As a result, two innovative systems to treat colonial tunicates in and out of the water are now available.


The risk of spreading tunicates through husbandry practices and environmental conditions within processing plants was evaluated in order to identify processing stages that present a high risk of introduction of the invasive species. Secondly, research sought to develop control strategies to minimize the potential for gamete and larvae tunicate releases.

  • Canadian Aquaculture R&D Review article: 2007

Violet tunicate-invested farms in Prince Edward Island’s Cardigan River were treated in order to reduce the biomass of the tunicates on mussel socks and culture gear. The effect of the treatment was evaluated and compared using Savage Harbour as a control bay. The effect of treatment on the infestation levels was also monitored on the socks and the bottom under and around infested farms. The project sought to identify avoidance strategies and husbandry methods to control fouling and predators.

  • Canadian Aquaculture R&D Review article: 2007

Between 2009 and 2001, research was undertaken in British Columbia to assess the efficacy of various mechanical (scrubbing), biological (sea urchin grazing), and chemical (lime, acetic acid, bring, fresh water) means of tunicate control in Pacific oyster culture.

  • Canadian Aquaculture R&D Review article:  2011

Risks associated with species transfers – Industry and Governments are looking at ways to help set appropriate processes and regulations on transfers of aquaculture species from one area to another without risking potential introductions of invasive species (such as tunicates) into receiving environments.

  • Canadian Aquaculture R&D Review article: 2011

Biology

From 2008 to 2011, research was undertaken to explore how some aspects of C. intestinalis tunicate biology could be exploited using passive approaches to minimize tunicate abundance in aquaculture sites. Specifically, the study sought to determine the optimal time and effort of active treatment by investigating the reproductive biology of the tunicate species and to evaluate environmental tolerances of tunicate early-life stages in terms of their level of vulnerability to natural and/or treatment conditions.


Researchers in Nova Scotia set out to better understand the distribution and biology of the five species of tunicate found in the Province in order to facilitate the development of an effective management strategy against the invasive species.


Researchers in British Columbia investigated how changes in environmental conditions (e.g., temperature, salinity, etc.), predation intensity, and physical/chemical treatments affected the survivorship, growth, and reproduction of four species of tunicates. The results were expected to provide information on the ability of tunicates to invade new habitats in BC waters.


Impact on shellfish and/or the marine environment

Researchers in Prince Edward Island are undertaking a two year project to identify the critical ecological thresholds for tunicate infestation on mussel farms. The establishment of both economical and ecological thresholds is central to the sustainability of the mussel industry in PEI.


Experimental mussel sock with tunicates over sediment trap
Experimental mussel sock with tunicates over sediment trap

Between 2008 and 2009, researchers assessed the influence of mussels and/or associated tunicates on plankton community size and structure in PEI to improve understanding of the interactions between farmed mussels and tunicates, as well as their impacts on planktonic communities.

  • Canadian Aquaculture R&D Review article: 2009

To predict benthic loading within a culture site, small mussel socks with and without two species of tunicates and control socks were constructed to evaluate sedimentation rates associated with mussels and fouling organisms in field conditions. The research indicated that benthic loading was much greater, although more restrained spatially, when tunicates are present.

Related information:

Recherche scientifique sur les tuniciers

La recherche scientifique est au cœur d'une industrie aquacole durable sur les plans économique et écologique. Les scientifiques et les chercheurs de Pêches et Océans Canada ont cherché à approfondir les connaissances sur les tuniciers et autres espèces aquatiques envahissantes, notamment en ce qui concerne les méthodes de contrôle et les traitements destinés à réduire leur présence dans les installations d'élevage de mollusques et de crustacés.


Détection, prévention et traitement

Plus de vingt projets individuels ont été réalisés entre 2007 et 2008 pour réduire l’incidence des tuniciers envahisseurs sur les récoltes de moules et améliorer la productivité dans les eaux infestées à l'aide d'approches et de matériel novateurs. Ainsi, pour atténuer l'impact des espèces aquatiques envahissantes, on a mis au point des stratégies et des techniques de traitement qui sont combinées à d'autres mesures de contrôle.

  • R et D en aquaculture au Canada  (articles publiés en 2009 et 2011)
  • Fiche technique : Amélioration de la productivité des fermes mytilicoles à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard grâce au confinement des tuniciers nuisibles et à l'atténuation de leur impact.

À l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, un projet de recherche de quatre ans a examiné la question des tuniciers à trois niveaux différents : la détection, la prévention et le traitement. En ce qui concerne la détection, les chercheurs ont tenté d’élaborer une trousse de diagnostic qui utilise le matériel génétique du tunicier pour détecter les différentes phases de la vie du tunicier dans des échantillons d’eau de mer. Pour ce qui est de la prévention, l'équipe a analysé des échantillons marins dans le but de développer un agent antisalissure écologique et durable à partir de produits marins naturels. La recherche qui portait sur les différents traitements contre les tuniciers comprenait des travaux sur le terrain et une collaboration directe avec des mytiliculteurs de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

  • R et D en aquaculture au Canada (article publié en 2009)

Un projet d’un an a permis de mettre au point et d'évaluer un équipement conçu pour atténuer l’impact des espèces solitaires et coloniales de tuniciers présentes dans les moulières, ainsi que d’élaborer deux systèmes innovateurs de traitement de tuniciers coloniaux, dans l'eau et hors de l'eau.


Le risque de dispersion des tuniciers lié aux pratiques d’élevage et aux conditions dans les usines de transformation a été évalué afin d'identifier les étapes de transformation qui présentent un risque élevé d’introduction de l'espèce envahissante. Les chercheurs ont ensuite élaboré des stratégies de lutte pour réduire au minimum les possibilités de libération de gamètes et de larves.

  • R et D en aquaculture au Canada (article publié en 2007)

Les moulières infestées de botrylloïde violet de la rivière Cardigan dans l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard ont reçu un traitement visant à réduire la biomasse de botrylloïdes sur les boudins de moules et le matériel d'élevage. L’effet de cette intervention rapide a été évalué et on a comparé les niveaux de recrutement à ceux du havre Savage (baie témoin). On a également surveillé l’effet du traitement sur les niveaux d’infestation dans les boudins de moules, le fond marin et à proximité des moulières infestées. Le projet cherchait à déterminer les stratégies d'évitement et les méthodes d'élevage pour enrayer les salissures et les prédateurs.

  • R et D en aquaculture au Canada (article publié en 2007)

Entre 2009 et 2011, un projet de recherche a évalué en Colombie-Britannique l'efficacité de différentes méthodes de lutte contre les tuniciers dans les élevages d'huître creuse du Pacifique par des moyens mécaniques (frottement), biologiques (broutage par des oursins) ou chimiques (traitements à base de chaux, d'acide acétique, de saumure et d'eau douce).

  • R et D en aquaculture au Canada (article publié en 2011)

Risques associés au transfert d'espèces – l'industrie et les gouvernements examinent la manière d'établir des processus et des règlements adéquats pour les transferts d'espèces aquacoles d'une zone à l'autre sans courir le risque d'introduire des espèces envahissantes, comme les tuniciers, dans les milieux récepteurs.

  •  R et D en aquaculture au Canada (article publié en 2011)

Biologie

Entre 2008 et 2011, un projet de recherche a étudié certains aspects de la biologie du tunicier C. intestinalis  qui pourraient être exploités pour minimiser son abondance dans les sites aquacoles à l'aide d'approches passives. On cherchait notamment à déterminer la portée et le moment optimaux du traitement actif en étudiant la biologie de la reproduction du tunicier, ainsi qu'à évaluer la tolérance au milieu des premiers stades du cycle vital des tuniciers afin de déterminer leur niveau de vulnérabilité aux conditions ambiantes ou au traitement.


Des chercheurs de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont entrepris d'étudier la répartition et la biologie de cinq espèces de tuniciers de la province afin de faciliter l’élaboration d’une stratégie de gestion efficace contre ces espèces envahissantes.


En Colombie-Britannique, des chercheurs ont étudié l'incidence des changements des conditions du milieu (p. ex., la température, la salinité, etc.), de l'intensité de prédation et des traitements physiques et chimiques sur la survie, la croissance et la reproduction de quatre espèces de tuniciers. Les résultats devaient permettre de mieux comprendre la capacité des tuniciers à envahir de nouveaux habitats dans les eaux de la Colombie-Britannique.


Effets sur les mollusques, les crustacés et le milieu marin

Des chercheurs de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard entreprennent un projet de deux ans afin de déterminer les seuils écologiques critiques pour l'infestation des moulières par les tuniciers. L'établissement de seuils économiques et écologiques est vital pour la durabilité de l'industrie des moules à l'Î.-P.-É.


Boudin expérimental avec tuniciers au-dessus des pièges à sédiments
Boudin expérimental avec tuniciers au-dessus des pièges à sédiments - Photo : Chris McKindsey (MPO)

Entre 2008 et 2009, des chercheurs ont analysé l’influence des moules et des tuniciers associés sur la structure et la taille des communautés planctoniques à l'Île­du­Prince­Édouard afin de mieux comprendre l’interaction entre les moules d’élevage et les tuniciers envahissants, ainsi que leurs impacts sur les communautés planctoniques.

  • R et D en aquaculture au Canada (article publié en 2009)

Afin de prévoir la charge benthique dans un site aquacole, de petits boudins expérimentaux, caractérisés par la présence ou l'absence de deux espèces de tuniciers, ainsi que des boudins de contrôle ont été conçus pour évaluer sur le « terrain » les taux de sédimentation associés aux moules et aux organismes salissants. D'après cette étude, la charge benthique s'avérait plus importante, mais moins étendue, lorsque les tuniciers étaient présents.


Information connexe :