Scientific Research on Farmed Arctic Char

Featured Publication

Canadian Aquaculture R/D Review 2013 PDF

Science is the key to an environmentally sustainable and economically viable Arctic Charr industry. The following research initiatives profile the innovative ways in which Fisheries and Oceans Canada, industry, academic and other government researchers are working to optimize growth performance and environmental conditions in Arctic Charr aquaculture.


Arctic Charr’s capability to withstand seawater varies among different family lines of the fish. By investigating the genetic variation associated with growth performance in both freshwater and brackish water among full-sib families of Arctic Charr from the Shippagan strain, researchers are gaining insight into the more important genomic regions regulating growth in this species in both environments. They are also identifying genomic regions that permit survivorship and growth in full-strength seawater.


Innovative zootechnical measures are being implemented to assess their impact on productivity at commercial Arctic Charr aquaculture operations. The measures are aimed at reproduction and nursery operations to estimate the genetic variability of the Nauyuk strain in Quebec for genetic improvement and a strain development program. The initiative also seeks to identify the level of relatedness between spawners and optimal pairings/crosses, and to implement variable velocity conditions to significantly improve growth and the early identification of the highest-performing families.


A multi-disciplinary team of researchers is working to produce all-female stocks of Arctic Charr because the early sexual maturation in males is considered to be a serious constraint to the commercialization of Canada’s Fraser-Shippagan strain. Indirect feminization is the approach being used by feeding broodstock a male sex hormone and crossing the resulting neomales with normal females when they reach sexual maturity.


Researchers are monitoring Arctic Charr movement in sea cages to determine potential differences in feeding patterns between strains and to understand how environmental conditions in the cages may influence fish swimming patterns. Ensuring feed is given at the appropriate depth to avoid stressing fish by unnecessary exposure to high surface temperatures is another one of the goals of gathering information on Arctic Charr distribution in cages.


To develop a competitive Arctic Charr culture industry in eastern Canada, a multi-disciplinary group of researchers worked between 2001 and 2006 to develop an Arctic Charr broodstock with a known pedigree and good growth performance during culture and ability at maturity to produce juveniles adapted to local culture conditions.


Related information:

Recherche scientifique sur l'omble chevalier d'élevage

La recherche scientifique est essentielle pour le développement d'une industrie de l'omble chevalier durable sur le plan écologique et économiquement viable. Les initiatives de recherche suivantes illustrent les méthodes innovatrices auxquelles Pêches et Océans Canada, l'industrie, les chercheurs universitaires et gouvernementaux font appel afin d'optimiser la croissance et les conditions environnementales en ce qui concerne l'élevage de l'omble chevalier.


La capacité de l'omble chevalier à résister l'eau de mer varie selon les différentes lignées du poisson. En étudiant la variation génétique associée à la croissance en eau douce et en eau saumâtre qui est observée entre les familles d'une même fratrie d'ombles chevaliers de la souche de Shippagan, les chercheurs obtiennent des renseignements sur les régions génomiques les plus importantes contrôlant la croissance de cette espèce dans les deux environnements. Ils tentent également d'identifier les régions génomiques qui permettent la survie et la croissance dans des concentrations maximales d'eau de mer.


On applique des mesures zootechniques novatrices dans le but d'évaluer leur effet sur la productivité des élevages commerciaux d'omble chevalier. Les mesures préconisées portent sur les opérations de reproduction et d'alevinage et ont pour objectif d'estimer la variabilité génétique de la souche Nauyuk au Québec aux fins d'un programme d'amélioration génétique et de développement de souche. Le projet vise aussi à identifier le degré de parenté entre les géniteurs et les appariements/croisements optimaux ainsi qu'à appliquer, lors des premiers stades de développement, des vitesses variables afin d'améliorer considérablement la croissance et l'identification précoce des familles les plus performantes.


Une équipe multidisciplinaire de chercheurs travaille à produire des stocks de femelles d'omble chevalier car la maturité sexuelle précoce des mâles représente un obstacle majeur à la commercialisation de la souche Fraser- Shippagan. On applique une méthode de féminisation indirecte consistant à faire absorber une hormone sexuelle mâle à un stock de géniteurs et à croiser les nouveaux mâles ainsi obtenus avec des femelles normales lorsqu'ils atteignent la maturité sexuelle.


Des chercheurs surveillent les déplacements des poissons dans les cages en mer afin de déterminer les différences possibles dans les habitudes alimentaires entre les souches et de comprendre l'influence des conditions environnementales dans les cages sur les déplacements du poisson. La collecte d'information sur la répartition des poissons dans les cages vise également à garantir que la nourriture est distribuée à la profondeur appropriée afin d'éviter de perturber les poissons en les exposant inutilement aux températures élevées en surface.


Dans le but de développer une industrie concurrentielle d'élevage de l'omble chevalier dans l'est du Canada, une équipe multidisciplinaire de chercheurs a travaillé à développer, entre 2001 et 2006, des géniteurs d'omble chevalier au patrimoine génétique connu affichant une bonne performance de croissance en élevage et capables de produire des juvéniles adaptés aux conditions locales d'élevage.


Information connexe :