Canadian Aquaculture R&D Review 2017

Shellfish: Oysters

Investigating Polydora Outbreak in New Brunswick Off-Bottom Cultured Oysters

A better understanding of the increased intensity and prevalence of Polydora related to environmental conditions and their impact on oyster health would assist industry in developing management and mitigation strategies.

Known simply as a “mudworm” or “blisterworm”, Polydora websteri has the ability to bore into the shells of live and dead shellfish. Commonly found in intertidal and subtidal areas in Atlantic Canada, its presence among New Brunswick oyster populations has normally been minor and usually of low intensity with burrows containing little or no mud. However, there have been sporadic increases of infestation rates observed in off-bottom (or suspension) oyster growing sites in New Brunswick. Some reports have indicated that heavy infestations can result in low meat quality, abscesses, alteration of growth patterns, and weakened shells (increasing predator susceptibility). This unusual increase could ultimately lead to serious impacts on oyster populations and result in economic losses for the aquaculture industry. To help identify the current impact of Polydora on New Brunswick oyster growing areas, this project aims to: 1) document the presentation and level of the infestation of Polydora; 2) document the impact of Polydora on overall oyster health; and 3) document distribution and infestation level of Polydora in relation to environmental conditions.

Date: APR. 2014–MAR. 2017

Funded by: DFO–Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (DFO–ACRDP)

Co-Funded by: Huîtres Aquador Oysters Inc.

Project Lead: Daniel Bourque, Mary Stephenson (DFO)

Project Team: Daniel Bourque, Mary Stephenson, Janelle McLaughlin, Jeff Clements (DFO)

Collaborators: Serge Gaudet (Huîtres Aquador Oysters Inc.)

Contact: Daniel.Bourque@dfo-mpo.gc.ca, Mary.Stephenson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Website: www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/aquaculture/rp-pr/acrdp-pcrda/projects-projets/G-14-01-002-eng.html

Crassostrea virginica shells with varying degrees of mud blister impact from Polydora websteri. (A) shells not impacted, (B) shells mildly impacted , and (C) shells severely impacted. Mud blisters are outlined in red. Photo: Jeffery Clements (DFO)

Assessment of Oyster Spat Collection Potential in Bouctouche Bay, New Brunswick

The oyster culture industry in New Brunswick depends on the oyster spat collected at four sites–Bouctouche Bay, Cocagne Bay, Caraquet Bay, and Miramichi Bay. In 2009, lower than average oyster spat collection rates were a source of concern for producers. To properly manage these fluctuations, an in-depth understanding of the various factors influencing collection rates and recruitment numbers within the system is needed.

This project studied the factors influencing oyster spat collection in Bouctouche Bay, New Brunswick by using modelling techniques to reproduce the oyster larval transport from spawning to recruitment for environmental conditions observed in situ (in the field) and assessing the relative contribution of the various larval sources (wild versus cultured stock). This modelling will also help researchers evaluate the possible repercussions of one (or more) spat evolution scenarios on the hydrodynamics (examining the erosion effects on the flow of water and nutrients) and overall spat collection potential within the bay.

The results from this experiment showed that the seed collection area is located in a retention zone of the bay where renewal by Northumberland Strait waters is slowest and indicated that water circulation within Bouctouche Bay is sensitive to meteorological forcing (wind and atmospheric pressure). A particle tracking module was coupled with the hydrodynamic model in order to investigate in more detail the transport of oyster larvae within Bouctouche Bay. Further analysis of the particle tracking results is underway to provide the relative contribution of each area of the bay, the effects of meteorological and river forcing on these contributions, and potential modifications to this pattern in the context of a scenario where a storm would result in breaching of the sand dune in front of the seed collection area.

DateMAY 2013–JUN. 2015

Funded by: DFO–Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (DFO–ACRDP)

Co-Funded by: Entreprise Baie Acadienne Inc.

Project Lead: Thomas Guyondet (DFO)

Project Team: Marie-Josée Maillet (DAAF); Serge Jolicoeur (U Moncton); Dominique Bérubé (New Brunswick Department of Energy and Resource Development)

Collaborators: Entreprise Baie Acadienne Inc.

Contact: Thomas.Guyondet@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Website: www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/aquaculture/rp-pr/acrdp-pcrda/projects-projets/G-13-01-002-eng.html

Impacts of Aquaculture Operations on the Genetic Health of Natural Populations of the Eastern Oyster, Crassostrea virginica

This information will allow for both a better assessment of the genetic health of Crassostrea virginica populations in the Maritimes, and for the establishment of hatchery-based breeding programs.

Oyster farmers currently rely on wild-caught seed (also known as spat) to stock their aquaculture sites. The number and quality of seed, however, is highly variable from year-to-year and juvenile oysters must often be sold and transported from regions with a high seed set (abundance) to regions with a poor seed set. To address this issue, a commercial-scale hatchery in New Brunswick is currently being developed to provide adequate oyster seed to oyster farms within the Maritimes. The potential impact of hatchery-spawned oysters, as well as transplanted wild-caught spat, on the genetic integrity of neighbouring wild oyster beds greatly depends on the factors underlying the genetic structure of natural populations. Conversely, the health and vigour of cultured oysters depends on the quality of available spat, whether from wild-caught sources or hatchery production.

This project will examine genetic diversity between populations of the Eastern Oyster, identify functional diversity in terms of health indicators such as condition index, growth, survival, and reproduction, as well as evaluate the potential impacts of gene flow between wild and cultivated oyster populations. The goal of this project is to evaluate the genetic sequence of natural oyster populations through the creation of a high-density linkage map for the molecular markers associated with functional diversity in the Eastern Oyster.

Date: APR. 2013–JUN. 2017

Funded by: DFO–Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (DFO–ACRDP)

Co-Funded by: L’Étang Ruisseau Bar Ltd.

Project Lead: Mark LaFlamme (DFO)

Project Team: Jean-René Arseneau, Royce Steeves (DFO); Martin Mallet (L’Étang Ruisseau Bar Ltd.)

Collaborators: André Mallet (L’Étang Ruisseau Bar Ltd.)

Contact: Mark.LaFlamme@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Website: www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/aquaculture/rp-pr/acrdp-pcrda/projects-projets/G-13-01-001-eng.html

Quantifying the Effect of Winter Siltation and Burial on Crassostrea virginica’s Health

In commercial shellfish aquaculture operations located within the Gulf of St. Lawrence estuaries, mesh bags containing cultivated Eastern Oysters (Crassostrea virginica) are lowered onto soft seabeds in the autumn and recovered in the spring. Occasional mortalities suggest that oysters are vulnerable to sedimentation and burial during winter.

This study explored the cause-effect relationship of winter siltation and burial on oyster health and productivity. It provides the first complete assessment of winter quiescence (extended period of valve closure) in oysters. Specifically, this project found the following results:

  • The autumnal burial of Eastern Oysters into the sediment disrupts their quiescent behaviour and leads to irreversible and potentially lethal consequences, occurring approximately five months following burial. The risk of winter death from burial is real, and, consequently, overwintering oysters in deeper channel waters (soft-bottom sediments) is not recommended.
  • Burial had no effect on the tissue concentration of lipids, proteins, and glycogen, nor did it impact the energy content index that was developed from these biochemical constituents. Oysters had their valves completely closed most of the time, operating anaerobically, regardless of whether they were buried in the sediment or lying on top of it.
  • Buried oysters were likely physiologically stressed during quiescence. Early “rescue” unburying of quiescent oysters did not improve survival rates; instead, unearthing provoked stress and accelerated the depletion of energy reserves, suspected to be the result of oysters burning energy to remove excess silt clogging their gills. Because resuspending mesh bags in early spring would have minimal mitigation effect on survival rates, avoiding soft bottoms altogether (to avoid burial) remains best for oyster health and survival.

Date: JUL. 2014–JUN. 2016

Funded by: DFO–Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (DFO– ACRDP)

Co-Funded by: L’Étang Ruisseau Bar Ltd.

Project Lead: Luc Comeau (DFO)

Project Team: Claire Carver (Carver Marine Consulting); Jeffrey Davidson (UPEI); Jean-Bruno Nadalini, Réjean Tremblay (UQAR)

Collaborators: André Mallet (L’Étang Ruisseau Bar Ltd.)

Contact: Luc.Comeau@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Website: www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/aquaculture/rp-pr/acrdp-pcrda/projects-projets/G-14-02-001-eng.html

Oysters on the sea floor in an eelgrass bed. Photo: Luc Comeau (DFO)

Improving Physiological Health of Oysters by Selecting Seed for Stress Resilience

Access to a consistent supply of high quality and resilient seed stocks (i.e., those with the capacity to launch an immune response when faced with pathogens or withstand fluctuations in salinity and temperature associated with climate change) has been identified as a key constraint for the continued viability and expansion of the Eastern Oyster industry in Atlantic Canada. Selecting oysters that are more efficient (lower metabolic need, better feed conversion, and lower reproductive effort) and have increased resistance to deal with stressful events (lower stress response) will ultimately be healthier and thus have greater resilience to pathogens and environmental changes. This project identified genetic markers in the Eastern Oyster associated with metabolic and feed absorption efficiency (10 SNPs and 14 SNPs. respectively) and produced a first generation crop of oysters. In 2017, the progeny will be monitored (and genotyped) to verify if they display these particular traits.

This project is focused on generating efficient and resilient oysters to ensure that if faced with a pathogen or environmental stressor, they will have an increased capacity to launch an immune response.

Date: JAN. 2015–JUN. 2017

Funded by: DFO–Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (DFO–ACRDP)

Co-Funded by: L’Écloserie Acadienne Ltd.

Project Lead: Denise Méthé (DFO)

Project Team: Sarah Stewart-Clark, Stephanie Hall (Dalhousie U); Gillian Tobin-Huxley (DFO); Fraser Clark (Mount Allison U)

Collaborators: Maurice Daigle (L’Écloserie Acadienne Ltd.)

Contact: Denise.Methe@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Website: www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/aquaculture/rp-pr/acrdp-pcrda/projects-projets/G-14-03-001-eng.html

Gillian Huxley-Tobin (DFO) sieving oyster larvae produced from selected broodstock. Photo: Denise Méthé (DFO)

Oyster larvae ready to set. Photo: Denise Méthé (DFO)

Eastern Oyster, Crassostrea virginica, Response to Environmental, Physiological, and Mechanical Stressors

In New Brunswick, oyster mortalities appear to be closely related to environmental factors (e.g., temperature, salinity, etc.) and husbandry (rearing) practices. The physiological health of the animal can determine how well it adapts to, and recovers from, exposure to potential stressors. This study investigated the relationship between oyster health and environmental changes to identify critical periods of physiological stress.

In 2013, the physiological health of oysters (phagocytosis, hemocyte viability, oxidative stress, lysosomal destabilization, condition index, tubule atrophy) from two culture sites in Richibucto estuary (Aldouane River, Indian Island) were evaluated monthly (10 oysters/site). Additional samples were taken during periods of expected stress (i.e., pre- and post-spawning, air drying). Air drying is a technique used by oyster growers to control fouling on culture gear and oysters.

Hemocyte mortality (8.4%) and lysosomal destabilization (40%) remained slightly above that reported in literature (5% and 30%, respectively). Phagocytic activity was normal, hovering around 20% with greater fluctuations at the Indian Island site. Oxidative stress was most apparent during summer months (June-Sept), as expected. Likewise, tubule atrophy indices were 5X higher during winter months (December–April) compared to the growing season (May–November).

Condition index remained above 30%, except in July–August (25%), due to spawning event—as confirmed through histology. Likewise, tubule atrophy was noticeably higher in pre-spawned individuals, indicative of no feeding activity. Interestingly, the other biomarkers showed no stress response to spawning. Finally, air drying was identified as a stressful event for oysters, but based solely on lysosomal destabilization. Lysosomal destabilization remains a sensitive biomarker of stress response in oysters.

Field monitoring established seasonal baseline levels for a number of physiological biomarkers of stress for oysters.

Date: OCT. 2012–JUN. 2015

Funded by: DFO–Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (DFO–ACRDP)

Co-Funded by: La Maison BeauSoleil Inc.

Project Lead: Daniel Bourque (DFO)

Project Team: Denise Méthé, Janelle McLaughlin (DFO)

Collaborators: Amédée Savoie (La Maison BeauSoleil Inc.)

Contact: Denise.Methe@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Website: www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/aquaculture/rp-pr/acrdp-pcrda/index-eng.html

R&D en aquaculture au Canada 2017


Mollusques et crustacés : huîtres

Étude d’une épidémie de Polydora dans les sites d’ostréiculture en suspension au Nouveau-Brunswick

Une meilleure compréhension de l’intensité accrue et de la prévalence de Polydora, en fonction des conditions environnementales, ainsi que l’impact de ce polychète sur la santé de l’huître, permettrait d’assister l’industrie dans l’élaboration de stratégies de gestion et d’atténuation.

Polydora websteri perce la coquille des mollusques vivants et morts. On trouve couramment l’espèce dans les zones intertidales et sublittorales du Canada atlantique, mais elle est habituellement peu présente dans les populations d’huîtres du Nouveau-Brunswick, notamment dans les terriers contenant peu ou pas de boue. Or, des augmentations sporadiques des taux d’infestation ont été observées dans les sites d’ostréiculture en suspension du Nouveau-Brunswick. Certains rapports indiquent qu’un taux élevé d’infestation peut donner lieu à la diminution de la qualité de la chair, à l’apparition d’abcès, à la modification des schémas de croissance et à l’affaiblissement des coquilles (ce qui augmente la vulnérabilité aux prédateurs). Cette augmentation inhabituelle pourrait ultimement mener à des impacts importants sur les populations d’huîtres et entraîner des pertes économiques pour l’industrie aquacole. Afin de favoriser la détermination des effets actuels de Polydora dans les zones de culture d’huîtres du Nouveau-Brunswick, ce projet vise : 1) à documenter la présentation et le niveau d’infestation de Polydora; 2) à documenter les effets de Polydora sur l’état de santé global des huîtres; et, 3) à documenter la répartition et le niveau d’infestation de Polydora en fonction des conditions environnementales.

Date : AVR. 2014 – MARS 2017

Financement : MPO – Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (MPO – PCRDA)

Co-financement : Huîtres Aquador Oysters Inc.

Responsable(s) du projet : Daniel Bourque, Mary Stephenson (MPO)

Équipe de projet : Daniel Bourque, Mary Stephenson, Janelle McLaughlin, Jeff Clements (MPO)

Collaborateur(s) : Serge Gaudet (Huîtres Aquador Oysters Inc.)

Contact : Daniel.Bourque@dfo-mpo.gc.ca, Mary.Stephenson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Site web : www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/aquaculture/rp-pr/acrdp-pcrda/projects-projets/G-14-01-002-fra.html

Coquilles d’huîtres Crassostrea virginica affecté par Polydora websteri à différents niveaux : a) une coquille non affectée; b) une coquille légèrement touchée; et, c) une coquille gravement touchée. Les régions affectées sont indiquées en rouge. Photo : Jeffery Clements (MPO)

Évaluation du potentiel de captage de naissains d’huîtres dans la baie de Bouctouche au Nouveau-Brunswick

L’ostréiculture au Nouveau-Brunswick dépend entièrement du naissain recueilli à quatre sites : Bouctouche, Cocagne, Caraquet et Miramichi. En 2009, la baisse des taux de collecte moyens a préoccupé les producteurs. Pour bien gérer ces fluctuations, il est nécessaire de développer une compréhension approfondie des divers facteurs qui influent sur les taux de collecte et le nombre de naissains recrutés au sein du système.

Ce projet a examiné les facteurs ayant une incidence sur le captage de naissains dans la baie de Bouctouche au Nouveau-Brunswick, en utilisant des techniques de modélisation permettant de reproduire le déplacement des larves d’huîtres du frai jusqu’au recrutement dans les conditions environnementales observées in situ (sur le terrain) et en évaluant l’apport relatif des diverses sources larvaires (c.-à-d., population sauvage par rapport à la population d’élevage). Cette modélisation a également aidé les chercheurs à évaluer les répercussions possibles d’un (ou plusieurs) scénario d’évolution sur l’hydrodynamique (en examinant les effets de l’érosion sur le débit de l’eau et les nutriments), ainsi que le potentiel de captage de naissains global dans la baie.

Les résultats de l’expérience ont montré que la collecte de naissains s’effectue dans une zone de rétention de la baie où le renouvellement des eaux du détroit de Northumberland est plus lent. L’expérience a montré également que les forces météorologiques (c.-à-d., vent et pression atmosphérique) jouent un rôle dans la circulation de l’eau dans la baie de Bouctouche. Un module de suivi des particules a été associé au modèle hydrodynamique afin d’étudier plus en détail le déplacement des larves d’huîtres dans la baie de Bouctouche. D’autres analyses sont en cours pour mesurer la contribution relative de chaque zone de la baie, les effets des forces météorologiques et du fleuve sur ces contributions, et les modifications potentielles de ce modèle dans le contexte d’un scénario selon lequel une tempête endommagerait la dune devant la zone de collecte des naissains.

Date : MAI 2013 – JUIN 2015

Financement : MPO – Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (MPO – PCRDA)

Co-financement : Entreprise Baie Acadienne Inc.

Responsable(s) du projet : Thomas Guyondet (MPO)

Équipe de projet : Marie-Josée Maillet (MAPA, N.-B.); Serge Jolicoeur (U Moncton); Dominique Bérubé (Ministère du développement de l’énergie et des ressources du Nouveau-Brunswick)

Collaborateur(s) : Entreprise Baie Acadienne Inc.

Contact : Thomas.Guyondet@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Site web : www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/aquaculture/rp-pr/acrdp-pcrda/projects-projets/G-13-01-002-fra.html

Répercussions des activités d’aquaculture sur la santé génétique des populations naturelles d’huître américaine (Crassostrea virginica)

Ces recherches permettront à la fois de mieux évaluer la santé génétique des populations de Crassostrea virginica dans les Maritimes et de mettre en œuvre des programmes de reproduction en écloserie.

Les ostréiculteurs comptent actuellement sur des semences capturées dans le milieu naturel (naissains) pour ravitailler leurs sites aquacoles. La quantité et la qualité des semences sont toutefois très variables d’une année à l’autre, et des huîtres juvéniles doivent souvent être vendues puis transportées des régions riches en semences vers les régions pauvres en semences (abondance). Pour résoudre ce problème, une écloserie commerciale est en cours de développement au Nouveau-Brunswick, pour fournir suffisamment de naissains d’huîtres aux ostréiculteurs des Maritimes. L’impact potentiel sur l’intégrité génétique des gisements sauvages avoisinants des huîtres élevées en écloserie ainsi que des naissains sauvages transplantés dépend en grande partie des facteurs qui sous-tendent la structure génétique des populations naturelles d’huîtres. Inversement, la santé et la vigueur des huîtres cultivées dépendent de la qualité des naissains disponibles, qu’ils proviennent de sources sauvages ou d’une écloserie.

Ce projet permettra d’étudier la diversité génétique entre les populations d’huîtres américaines, de cerner la diversité fonctionnelle en matière d’indicateurs de santé (c.-à-d., indice de condition, taux de croissance, de survie et de reproduction) et d’évaluer les répercussions potentielles du transfert de gènes entre les populations d’huîtres sauvages et d’huîtres d’élevage. Le but de ce projet est d’évaluer la séquence génétique des populations naturelles d’huîtres grâce à la création d’une carte génétique détaillée des marqueurs moléculaires associés à la diversité fonctionnelle des huîtres américaines.

Date : AVR. 2013 – JUIN 2017

Financement : MPO – Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (MPO – PCRDA)

Co-financement : L’Étang Ruisseau Bar Ltée.

Responsable(s) du projet : Mark LaFlamme (MPO)

Équipe de projet : Jean-René Arseneau, Royce Steeves (MPO); Martin Mallet (L’Étang Ruisseau Bar Ltée.)

Collaborateur(s) : André Mallet (L’Étang Ruisseau Bar Ltée.)

Contact : Mark.LaFlamme@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Site web : www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/aquaculture/rp-pr/acrdp-pcrda/projects-projets/G-13-01-001-fra.html

Quantification des répercussions de l’envasement ou de l’enfouissement hivernal sur la santé de L’huître américaine (Crassostrea virginica)

Dans les sites de conchyliculture commerciale situés dans les estuaires du golfe du Saint-Laurent, des sacs en mailles contenant des huîtres américaines (Crassostrea virginica) sont déposés sur les fonds marins meubles à l’automne puis récupérées au printemps. La mortalité occasionnelle suggère que les huîtres sont vulnérables à la sédimentation et à l’enfouissement durant l’hiver.

Cette étude examine la relation de cause à effet entre l’envasement et l’enfouissement sur la santé et la productivité des huîtres. Elle fournit la première évaluation complète de la quiescence (c.-à-d., période prolongée de fermeture de la valve) hivernale chez les huîtres. Plus précisément, ce projet a révélé les résultats suivants :

  • L’enfouissement des huîtres de l’Est dans les sédiments à l’automne perturbe leur quiescence et a des conséquences irréversibles et potentiellement létales, cinq mois environ après l’enfouissement. Le risque de létalité lors de la période hivernale causé par l’enfouissement est réel et, par conséquent, l’hivernage des huîtres dans les eaux profondes des chenaux (sédiments meubles) n’est pas recommandé.
  • L’enfouissement n’a aucun effet sur la concentration des composantes biochimiques dans les tissus. Les valves des huîtres étaient complètement fermées le plus souvent et elles fonctionnaient de façon anaérobique.
  • Les huîtres enfouies ont probablement subi un stress physiologique pendant la quiescence. Leur désenfouissement n’a pas permis d’améliorer les taux de survie. Il a plutôt causé du stress et accéléré la perte des réserves d’énergie. On soupçonne que les huîtres brûlent cette énergie en tentant d’éliminer le limon qui obstrue leurs branchies. Puisque que la suspension des sacs au début du printemps permettra seulement une amélioration minimale des taux de survie, la meilleure solution pour assurer la santé et la survie des huîtres consiste à éviter les fonds meubles (pour éviter l’enfouissement).

Date : JUILL. 2014 — JUIN 2016

Financement : MPO – Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (MPO – PCRDA)

Co-financement : L’Étang Ruisseau Bar Ltée.

Responsable(s) du projet : Luc Comeau

Équipe de projet : Claire Carver (Carver Marine Consulting); Jeffrey Davidson (UPEI); Jean-Bruno Nadalini, Réjean Tremblay (UQAR)

Collaborateur(s) : André Mallet (L’Étang Ruisseau Bar Ltée.)

Contact : Luc.Comeau@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Site web : www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/aquaculture/rp-pr/acrdp-pcrda/projects-projets/G-14-02-001-fra.html

Huîtres sur le fond marin dans un lit de zoostères. Photo : Luc Comeau (MPO)

Amélioration de l’état de santé physiologique des huîtres par la sélection de naissains résilients au stress

L’accès à un approvisionnement régulier en stocks de naissains résilients et de grande qualité (p. ex., ceux capables de déclencher une réaction immunitaire en présence d’agents pathogènes ou de résister aux fluctuations de la salinité et de la température associées au changement climatique) a été désigné comme l’une des principales contraintes à la viabilité à long terme et à l’expansion de l’industrie de l’huître dans le Canada atlantique. La sélection d’huîtres plus efficientes (besoin métabolique moins important, meilleur taux de conversion alimentaire et effort de reproduction inférieur) et plus résistantes aux événements stressants (faible réaction au stress) permettra d’obtenir au final des huîtres plus saines et, par conséquent, plus résilientes aux agents pathogènes et aux changements environnementaux. Ce projet a permis de repérer des marqueurs génétiques chez l’huître américaine associés à l’efficience métabolique et à l’efficacité d’absorption alimentaire (respectivement 10 SNP et 14 SNP), et de produire une récolte d’huître de première génération. En 2017, la descendance sera surveillée et son génotype sera établi afin de vérifier si elle présente ces caractéristiques particulières.

Ce projet s’intéresse à la génération d’huîtres efficientes et résilientes étant mieux préparées à déclencher une réaction immunitaire en présence d’un agent pathogène ou d’un agent de stress environnemental.

Date : JANV. 2015 – JUIN 2017

Financement : MPO – Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (MPO – PCRDA)

Co-financement : L’Écloserie Acadienne Ltée.

Responsable(s) du projet : Denise Méthé (MPO)

Équipe de projet : Sarah Stewart-Clark, Stephanie Hall (U Dalhousie); Gillian Tobin-Huxley (MPO); Fraser Clark (U Mount Allison)

Collaborateur(s) : Maurice Daigle (L’Écloserie Acadienne Ltée.)

Contact : Denise.Methe@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Site web : www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/aquaculture/rp-pr/acrdp-pcrda/projects-projets/16-1-G-04-fra.html

Tamisage par Gillian Huxley-Tobin (MPO) de larves d’huîtres obtenues à partir d’un stock de géniteurs sélectionnés. Photo : Denise Méthé (MPO)

Larves d’huîtres préparées. Photo : Denise Méthé (MPO)

Réponse de l’huître américaine (Crassostrea virginica) aux agents de stress environnementaux, physiologiques et mécaniques

Au Nouveau-Brunswick, la mortalité des huîtres semble étroitement liée à des facteurs environnementaux (p. ex., température, salinité) et aux pratiques d’élevage. La santé physiologique de l’animal peut dépendre la façon dont il s’adapte aux agents de stress potentiels et dont il récupère. Cette étude examine la relation entre la santé des huîtres et les changements environnementaux, afin de repérer les périodes critiques de stress physiologique.

En 2013, la santé physiologique des huîtres (c.-à-d., phagocytose, viabilité des hémocytes, stress oxydatif, déstabilisation lysosomale, indice de condition, atrophie du tubule) provenant de deux sites d’élevage de l’estuaire de Richibouctou (rivière Aldouane, Indian Island) a été évaluée tous les mois (10 huîtres/site). D’autres échantillons ont été prélevés au cours de périodes de stress anticipé (c.-à-d., avant et après le frai, séchage à l’air). Le séchage à l’air est une technique utilisée pour limiter les salissures biologiques.

La mortalité des hémocytes (8,4 %) et la déstabilisation lysosomale (40 %) se sont situées légèrement au-dessus des valeurs de référence. L’activité de phagocytose était normale, oscillant autour de 20 %, avec des fluctuations plus importantes sur le site d’Indian Island. Le stress oxydatif était plus apparent pendant les mois d’été, comme prévu. De même, les indices d’atrophie du tubule étaient cinq fois supérieurs pendant les mois d’hiver (décembre à avril) par rapport à la saison de croissance (mai à novembre).

L’indice de condition est resté au-dessus de 30 %, excepté en juillet et août (25 %), en raison de la saison du frai. En outre, l’atrophie du tubule était sensiblement plus élevée chez les spécimens avant le frai, révélant une activité de jeûne. Étonnamment, les autres biomarqueurs n’indiquaient pas de réaction de stress au frai. Pour terminer, le séchage à l’air a été considéré comme un événement stressant pour les huîtres, mais uniquement du point de vue de la déstabilisation lysosomale.

La surveillance sur le terrain a permis d’établir des niveaux de référence saisonniers pour un certain nombre de biomarqueurs physiologiques du stress chez les huîtres.

Date : OCT. 2012 – JUIN 2015

Financement : MPO – Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (MPO – PCRDA)

Co-financement : La Maison BeauSoleil Inc.

Responsable(s) du projet : Daniel Bourque (MPO)

Équipe de projet : Denise Méthé, Janelle McLaughlin (MPO)

Collaborateur(s) : Amédée Savoie (La Maison BeauSoleil Inc.)

Contact : Denise.Methe@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Site web : www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/aquaculture/rp-pr/acrdp-pcrda/projects-projets/G-12-01-002-fra.html