Canadian Aquaculture R&D Review 2007

Introduction

Innovating in a Flattened World

Knowledge moving around the world nearly instantaneously is but one of the factors creating the new economy and society that Thomas Friedman describes as a "flat world: a global, web-enabled platform for multiple forms of sharing knowledge and work, irrespective of time, distance, geography and increasingly, language".*

The leveling of the global economic playing field that is at the heart of The World is Flat is a feature of today's aquaculture industry. One of the consequences is that it is now much more important than ever to rapidly capture opportunity from new knowledge generated by scientific research and technological development.

Yet Canada faces a challenge in mobilizing and commercializing such knowledge. The seventh annual innovation report of the Conference Board of Canada (2006) declares, "Research alone is not enough to secure Canada's success in global markets. It is essential to connect leading-edge research to companies that can transform it into globally competitive products and services".**

This second edition of the Canadian Aquaculture R&D Review is helping to mobilize Canada's research knowledge and to connect knowledge producers - the investigators, technicians, and students - with knowledge needs and knowledge users in industry, communities and governments. It features almost 200 reports on research projects that are new or were active and ongoing since the spring of 2005.

The collection of reports for this publication was channeled through requests to funding agencies supporting aquaculture research and development in Canada. We are grateful for the efforts of all who contributed reports for this review and the efforts of Christie Whelan (DFO) in particular. Special thanks to Dr. Daphne Munroe who provided immensely valuable assistance in organizing and editing the contributions. And thanks to Peter Chettleburgh and the folks at Capamara Publications for putting it all together.

The R&D Review is the result of a collaboration between a number of parties including industry, federal and provincial governments and the research community. We wish to acknowledge the support of the British Columbia Aquaculture Research and Development Committee, Fisheries and Oceans Canada Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program, AquaNet, the National Research Council of Canada Institute for Marine Biosciences, Canadian Centre for Fisheries Innovation and Reseau Aquaculture Quebec.

Tim DeJager, Ph.D.,
DeJager AquaLogic,
Project Coordinator

* Friedman, Thomas, 2005. The World is Flat: A Brief History of the 21st Century. (New York: Farrar, Strauss and Giroux).

**Conference Board of Canada, 2006. Lessons in Public-Private Research Collaboration: Improving Interactions Between Individuals (7th Annual Innovation Report).

The Canadian Aquaculture Research and Development Review has been published with support and funding provided by the British Columbia Aquaculture Research and Development Committee (BCARDC), Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program DFO (ACRDP) and AquaNet, the National Research Council of Canada Institute for Marine Biosciences, Canadian Centre for Fisheries Innovation and Reseau Aquaculture Quebec.

Submitted materials may have been edited for length and writing style. Projects not included in this edition should submit material in time for the 2009 edition.

Project Coordinator 
Tim DeJager, Ph.D.
DeJager AquaLogic

Editorial Assistant
Dr. Daphne Munroe

Produced and Distributed By
Capamara Communications Inc.
4623 William Head Road, Victoria,
BC, V9C 3Y7

Design by James Lewis
Capamara Communications Inc.

R et D en aquaculture au Canada de 2007

Introduction

L’innovation dans un monde plat>

La possibilité de transmettre des connaissances presque instantanément d’un bout à l’autre du monde est l’un des nombreux facteurs à l’origine de la nouvelle économie et de la nouvelle société que Thomas Friedman décrit comme un monde plat, une cyberplateforme mondiale pour des formes multiples de partage de connaissances et de travail, sans égard au temps, à la distance, à la géographie et de plus en plus à la langue.*

L’uniformisation des règles du jeu économiques à l’échelle mondiale au coeur de The World is Flat est l’une des caractéristiques de l’industrie de l’aquaculture moderne. Il en résulte qu’il est maintenant beaucoup plus important que jamais de saisir rapidement les opportunités qu’offrent les nouvelles connaissances issues de la recherche scientifique et du développement technologique.

Le Canada est toutefois confronté à la difficulté de mobiliser et de commercialiser ces connaissances. Dans son septième rapport annuel sur l’innovation, le Conference Board of Canada (2006) déclare que la recherche par elle-même ne suffira pas à assurer le succès du Canada sur le marché mondial. Il est essentiel d’établir un lien entre la recherche de pointe et les entreprises qui peuvent la transformer en produits et services mondialement concurrentiels.**

Cette deuxième édition de R-D EN AQUACULTURE AU CANADA - Poisson dulçaquicole aide à mobiliser les connaissances issues de la recherche menée au Canada et à établir des liens entre les producteurs de connaissances - chercheurs, techniciens et étudiants - et les utilisateurs de ces connaissances au sein de l’industrie, des collectivités et des gouvernements. Quelque 200 résumés de projets de recherche, nouveaux ou en cours depuis le printemps 2005, sont présentés.

Les résumés ci-présentés ont été transmis par le biais de demandes formulées aux organismes de financement appuyant la R-D EN AQUACULTURE AU CANADA - Poisson dulçaquicole. Nous remercions tous ceux qui ont fourni des résumés et en particulier Christie Whelan, du ministère des Pêches et des Océans. Un merci spécial à Daphne Munroe, Ph.D., pour son aide précieuse dans l’organisation et la mise en forme des résumés. Et un gros merci à Peter Chettleburgh et les gens de Capamara Publications pour l’assemblage du produit final.

Nombre d’intervenants de l’industrie, des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux et du milieu de la recherche ont contribué à la réussite de ce projet. Nous tenons à souligner l’aide financière que nous ont apportée le British Columbia Aquaculture Research and Development Committee, le Programme coopératif de recherche-développement en aquaculture de Pêches et Océans Canada, AquaNet, l’Institut des biosciences marines du Centre national de recherches du Canada, le Centre canadien d’innovations des pêches et le Réseau Aquaculture Québec.

Tim DeJager, Ph.D.
DeJager AquaLogic
Coordonnateur du projet

* Friedman, Thomas. 2005. The World is Flat: A Brief History of the Twenty-First Century. (New York : Farrar, Strauss et Giroux).

** Conference Board of Canada. 2006. Lessons in Public-Private Research Collaboration: Improving Interactions Between Individuals (7th Annual Innovation Report).

« Recherche-développement en aquaculture au Canada » a été publiée grâce au soutien et aux fonds fournis par le British Columbia Aquaculture Research and Development Committee (BCARDC), le Programme coopératif de recherche-développement en aquaculture (PCRDA), AquaNet, l’Institut des biosciences marines du Conseil national de recherches du Canada, le Centre canadien d’innovations des pêches et le Réseau Aquaculture Québec

La longueur des documents présentés ainsi que le style de rédaction employé dans ceux-ci peuvent avoir été modifiés. Les responsables de projets non présentés dans la présente publication devraient déposer un résumé ou un article à temps pour la prochaine publication (2009).

Coordonnateur du projet
Tim DeJager, Ph.D.
DeJager AquaLogic

Adjointe à la rédaction
Daphne Munroe, Ph.D.

Production et distribution
Capamara Communications Inc.
4623, William Head Road
Victoria (C.-B.) V9C 3Y7

Conception
James Lewis
Capamara Communications Inc.