Canadian Aquaculture R&D Review 2007

Welcome to the on-line version of The Canadian Aquaculture R&D Review 2007

This publication features nearly 200 ‘state-of-the-science’ aquaculture research projects that have been underway across Canada since 2005. These projects provide invaluable knowledge that contributes to the sustainable development of the aquaculture industry either through innovative advances in technology, species diversification, improved production practices and much more. The topics are sub-divided into categories to allow you to go directly to specific areas of interest.

Publications like the R&D Review showcase the innovation, dedication and professionalism of the many scientists, technicians, research assistants, and students who produce the knowledge, and connect it with those who benefit from the knowledge – governments, industry, and communities.

We are working on building links from the stories in the R&D Review to the species profiles featured on this website. We encourage you to visit the finfish and shellfish species profiles while we continue to strengthen these information linkages.

The Canadian Aquaculture R&D Review is the result of close collaboration between a number of parties including industry, federal and provincial governments and the research community. We wish to acknowledge and thank the British Columbia Aquaculture Research and Development Committee, the Fisheries and Oceans Canada Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program, AquaNet, the National Research Council of Canada Institute for Marine Biosciences, Canadian Centre for Fisheries Innovation and Reseau Aquaculture Quebec for their permission to post the R&D Review to the DFO website.

R et D en aquaculture au Canada de 2007

Bienvenue à la version Web de la R et D en aquaculture au Canada de 2007.

Cette publication présente près de 200 résumés des plus récents projets de recherche en aquaculture entrepris à travers le Canada depuis 2005. Ces projets constituent une source de connaissances inestimables qui contribuent au développement durable de l’industrie aquacole grâce à des avancées dans les technologies, la diversification des espèces, l’amélioration des pratiques de production et de nombreux autres champs d’intérêt. Les thèmes sont subdivisés en catégories qui vous permettront de consulter directement les sujets qui vous intéressent particulièrement.

Des publications comme celle-ci mettent en valeur les idées novatrices, la détermination et le professionnalisme des nombreux scientifiques, techniciens, adjoints à la recherche et étudiants qui font progresser les connaissances et qui les mettent à la disposition de ceux auxquels elles profiteront, à savoir le gouvernement, l’industrie et les collectivités.

Nous travaillons actuellement à établir des liens entre les projets contenus dans la publication sur la R et D et les pages consacrées aux différentes espèces qui se trouvent sur ce site Web. Nous vous encourageons à consulter les pages sur les poissons et les mollusques et crustacés alors que nous continuons d’y travailler.

La publication sur la R et D en aquaculture au Canada est le fruit d’une étroite collaboration entre l’industrie, le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces ainsi que la communauté des chercheurs. Nous tenons à remercier le British Columbia Aquaculture Research and Development Committee, le Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture, AquaNet, l’Institut des biosciences marines du Conseil national de recherches du Canada, le Centre canadien d’innovations des pêches et le Réseau Aquaculture Québec pour nous avoir accordé l’autorisation d’afficher cette publication sur le site du MPO.