Marine reservoirs of infectious agents associated with proliferative gill disorders in farmed salmon

PARR-FHTT-2016-P-01

Description

Gill diseases contribute to economically important production losses in Atlantic salmon aquaculture. This project will improve our understanding of reservoirs of infections with infectious agents associated with these disorders. One of these, amoebic gill disease (AGD), was diagnosed for the first time in BC in 2014 and the causative agent, Paramoeba perurans, has been detected in BC. Another agent that is associated with proliferative gill inflammation (PGI) in Europe, the microsporidian Desmozoon lepeophtherii, has been detected in BC and Washington State. Several cases of a PGI-like condition were reported in farmed salmon in BC in 2015. This proposal capitalizes on an opportunity to benefit from a unique set of samples: juvenile salmon collected by industry as part of their sea lice certification program. Specifically, these samples will be examined for evidence of their involvement as reservoirs of infection with agents associated with proliferative gill disorders in farmed salmon. The objectives of this project are to:

  1. Determine distribution of P. perurans and D. lepeophtherii in wild Pacific salmon and salmon lice collected in proximity to marine netpens;
  2. Describe the occurrence of proliferative gill lesions in wild fish;
  3. Characterize the genomic sequence of BC variants of P. perurans and D. lepeophtherii;
  4. Conduct laboratory transmission studies to identify and quantify (host and environmental) parameters surrounding transmission of causative agent between candidate reservoir species and Atlantic salmon.

These objectives reflect the knowledge gaps concerning PGI and causal agents in farmed salmon in BC. The key anticipated project outcome will be knowledge related to the distribution and causes of PGI in BC. This knowledge will inform further development of farmed fish health management strategies.

Findings

N/A

Publications

N/A

Program Name

Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Research (PARR)

Year(s)

2016 - 2018

Principal Investigator

Simon Jones
Research Scientist, Pacific Biological Station
Email: Simon.Jones@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Réservoirs marins d'agents infectieux associés aux troubles des branchies prolifératifs chez le saumon d'élevage

PRRA-FHTT-2016-P-01

Description

Les maladies des branchies contribuent à des pertes de production dans l'aquaculture du saumon de l'Atlantique qui ont des répercussions économiques importantes. Le projet permettra d'améliorer notre compréhension des réservoirs des infections par des agents infectieux associés à ces troubles. L'une de ces maladies amibiennes des branchies a été diagnostiquée pour la première fois en Colombie-Britannique en 2014, et l'agent causal, Paramoeba perurans, a été détecté en Colombie-Britannique. Un autre agent qui est associé à l'inflammation des branchies proliférative en Europe, la microsporidie Desmozoon lepeophtherii, a été détecté en Colombie-Britannique et dans l'État de Washington. Plusieurs cas d'un état semblable à l'inflammation des branchies proliférative ont été signalés chez des saumons d'élevage en Colombie-Britannique, en 2015. Cette proposition met à profit une occasion de disposer d'un ensemble unique d'échantillons, à savoir les saumons juvéniles prélevés par l'industrie dans le cadre de son programme de certification afférent au pou du poisson. Plus précisément, ces échantillons seront examinés pour que l'on puisse y déceler des signes de leur participation en tant que réservoirs de l'infection par des agents associés aux troubles des branchies prolifératifs chez le saumon d'élevage. Les objectifs de ce projet sont les suivants :

  1. Déterminer la répartition de P. perurans et de D. lepeophtherii chez le saumon sauvage du Pacifique et du pou du saumon à proximité des parcs en filet marins;
  2. Décrire l'occurrence de lésions des branchies prolifératives chez les poissons sauvages;
  3. Caractériser la séquence génomique de variantes de P. perurans et D. lepeophtherii en Colombie-Britannique;
  4. Réaliser des études de transmission en laboratoire pour déterminer et quantifier les paramètres (hôte et environnement) entourant la transmission de l'agent responsable entre les espèces réservoirs candidates et le saumon de l'Atlantique.

Ces objectifs reflètent les lacunes dans les connaissances concernant l'inflammation des branchies proliférative et les agents responsables chez les saumons d'élevage en Colombie-Britannique. Le principal résultat prévu du projet sera lié aux connaissances sur la répartition et les causes de l'inflammation des branchies proliférative en Colombie-Britannique. Ces connaissances permettront d'éclairer l'élaboration future de stratégies de gestion de la santé des poissons d'élevage.

Constatations

S.O.

Publications

S.O.

Nom du programme

Programme de recherche sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture (PRRA)

Année

2016 - 2018

Chercheur principal

Simon Jones
Chercheur, Station biologique du Pacifique
3190, chemin Hammond Bay, Nanaimo (Colombie-Britannique) V9T 6N7
Courriel: Simon.Jones@dfo-mpo.gc.ca