Probability of detecting escaped aquaculture salmon is related to distance between production areas and rivers

PARR-2016-NL-14

Description

Salmon that escaped from sea cage aquaculture facilities have been detected in a large number of rivers in eastern North America with the detection of escapees seemingly related to the distance of the river from the production areas. Morris et al. (2008)Footnote 1 compiled the existing information available to 2007 on aquaculture escapees in rivers of eastern North America but did not provide any quantitative analysis that could be used to link the detection of escapees relative to the distance of the rivers from the production areas. This project proposes to update the compilation of observations from Morris et al. (2008) to 2015 , to review the literature on the behaviour of escaped salmon, and based on these components, to examine a series of models with differing assumptions on behaviour and diffusion, for their ability to generate the empirical observations of escapees in monitored rivers. The objective is to examine models that would provide probability statements of observing an escaped salmon in a river based on the distance of the river from the escape location, the intensity of the escape event, and the river monitoring effort. This knowledge will help to inform siting decisions for new aquaculture sites.

Findings

Propagule pressure was the model used to produce a cumulative spatial measure of aquaculture production pressure from farm escape salmon on wild salmon. The number of escaped farmed salmon (i.e., propagules) detected at counting facilities was positively correlated with propagule pressure. The amount of farmed salmon genetic impacts on wild salmon was also positively correlated with propagule pressure. The location and size of aquaculture facilities directly affected the magnitude of risk to wild salmon populations from escaped farmed salmon. Features of aquaculture production present a risk to wild salmon populations from escaped farmed salmon and propagule models are a step towards predicting the impact of cage-based Atlantic salmon aquaculture on wild salmon.

Publications

Keyser, F., B.F. Wringe, N.W. Jeffery, J.B. Dempson, S. Duffy, and I.R. Bradbury. 2018. Predicting the impacts of escaped farmed Atlantic Salmon on wild salmon populations. Canadian Journal of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences. 75:506-512.

Program Name

Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Research (PARR)

Year(s)

2016 - 2017

Principal Investigator

Ian Bradbury
Research Scientist, St. Andrews Biological Station
Email: Ian.Bradbury@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

La probabilité de repérer des saumons d'élevage fugitifs est liée à la distance entre les sites de production et les rivières

PRRA-2016-NL-14

Description

Des saumons qui se sont échappés des installations d'aquaculture en cages marines ont été détectés dans un grand nombre de rivières de l'est de l'Amérique du Nord, et la détection de fugitifs était apparemment reliée à la distance séparant la rivière des zones de production. Morris et al. (2008) Note de bas de page 1 ont compilé les renseignements existants disponibles en 2007 sur les poissons évadés des établissements aquacoles dans les rivières de l'est de l'Amérique du Nord, mais n'ont fourni aucune analyse quantitative qui pourrait servir à établir des liens entre la détection de fugitifs et la distance séparant les rivières des zones de production. Ce projet propose de mettre à jour la compilation des observations réalisées depuis l'étude de Morris et al. (2008) jusqu'à 2015, de passer en revue les ouvrages scientifiques sur le comportement des saumons évadés, et en fonction de ces éléments, d'examiner une série de modèles offrant différentes hypothèses sur le comportement et la diffusion, pour leur capacité à générer les observations empiriques des fugitifs dans les rivières surveillées. L'objectif consiste à examiner des modèles qui permettraient de fournir des énoncés de probabilité liés à l'observation de saumons fugitifs dans une rivière en fonction de la distance de la rivière par rapport à l'emplacement des évasions, de l'intensité de l'évasion, et des efforts de surveillance de la rivière. Ces connaissances permettront d'éclairer les décisions concernant le choix de nouveaux sites aquacoles.

Constatations

La pression des propagules est un modèle qui a été utilisé pour obtenir une mesure spatiale cumulative de la pression exercée par la production aquacole, en se basant sur les effets des saumons d’élevage fugitifs sur le saumon sauvage. Une corrélation positive a été établie entre le nombre de saumons d’élevage fugitifs (c.-à-d. les propagules) détectés dans les installations de dénombrement et la pression des propagules. Une corrélation positive a également été établie entre l’ampleur des effets génétiques des saumons d’élevage sur les saumons sauvages et la pression des propagules. Le lieu et la taille des installations d’aquaculture ont eu une incidence directe sur l’ampleur des risques que présentent les saumons d’élevage échappés sur les populations de saumons sauvages. Certains aspects de la production aquacole présentent un risque attribuable aux effets des saumons d’élevage fugitifs sur les populations de saumon sauvage, et les modèles basés sur les propagules offrent un moyen de prévoir les effets de la salmoniculture en cage dans l’Atlantique sur le saumon sauvage.

Publications

Keyser, F., B.F. Wringe, N.W. Jeffery, J.B. Dempson, S. Duffy, and I.R. Bradbury. 2018. Predicting the impacts of escaped farmed Atlantic Salmon on wild salmon populations. (En anglais seulement) Journal canadien des sciences halieutiques et aquatiques. 75 : 506-512.

Nom du programme

Programme de recherche sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture (PRRA)

Année

2016 - 2017

Chercheur principal

Ian Bradbury
Chercheur, Station biologique de St. Andrews
Courriel: Ian.Bradbury@dfo-mpo.gc.ca