Hybridization of farmed escaped and wild Atlantic salmon: so what? An empirical and model based exploration of the consequences for wild populations throughout the North Atlantic

PARR-2016-NL-11

Description

The farming of Atlantic salmon now exceeds 2 million tonnes worldwide, exceeding the natural production of wild populations. Interbreeding between wild and escaped farmed salmon has been reported both in Europe and North America and can alter wild population characteristics, eroding local adaptation and causing wild population declines. However, the extent and magnitude of these genetic impacts are difficult to predict. The resiliency of wild populations, the recovery time following hybridization, and the efficacy of possible mitigation strategies remain unclear.

The overall goal of this international collaborative research project is to provide the basis for robust scientific advice regarding the genetic impacts of escaped farmed Atlantic salmon on wild populations both locally (i.e., Newfoundland) and across the North Atlantic. As well, potential successes of various mitigation strategies will be explored by using data collected in parallel research projects from across the North Atlantic. This work will directly complement existing studies and will

  1. quantify the magnitude of hybridization among wild and escaped farmed salmon and explore growth, survival and biological differences among wild and hybrid individuals, and
  2. develop an international collaborative project, under the Canada/US/EU Galway Declaration, focused on evaluating different models used throughout the North Atlantic.

Identifying risks and potential mitigation strategies associated with Atlantic salmon aquaculture escapees is necessary for the successful conservation of wild salmon populations, the stability of recreational and Aboriginal fisheries, and continued growth of a sustainable aquaculture industry. Through an examination of the presence of interbreeding and introgression, this work will help identify strategies for maintaining the rapid growth of the aquaculture industry without altering population structure or local adaptation of wild salmon populations. By doing so, this work will directly assist DFO in meeting Canada's commitment to sustainable development in aquaculture.

Findings

N/A

Publications

N/A

Program Name

Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Research (PARR)

Year(s)

2016 - 2019

Ecoregion(s)

Atlantic: Newfoundland, Labrador Shelves

Principal Investigator

Ian Bradbury
Research Scientist, Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre
Email: Ian.Bradbury@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Hybridation de saumons d'élevage fugitifs et de saumons sauvages de l'Atlantique : et après? Une exploration empirique et fondée sur un modèle des conséquences pour les populations sauvages dans l'ensemble de l'Atlantique Nord

PRRA-2016-NL-11

Description

L'élevage du saumon de l'Atlantique dépasse maintenant les 2 millions de tonnes dans le monde entier, ce qui dépasse la production naturelle des populations sauvages. Le croisement entre les saumons sauvages et les saumons d'élevage évadés a été signalé en Europe et en Amérique du Nord et peut modifier les caractéristiques de la population sauvage, ce qui entraîne une diminution des capacités d'adaptation locale et provoque le déclin des populations sauvages. Toutefois, l'étendue et l'ampleur de ces impacts génétiques sont difficiles à prévoir. La résilience des populations sauvages, le temps de rétablissement à la suite de l'hybridation et l'efficacité des stratégies d'atténuation possibles demeurent imprécis.

L'objectif global de ce projet de recherche de collaboration internationale est de constituer une base solide pour fournir un avis scientifique fiable sur les impacts génétiques des saumons de l'Atlantique d'élevage fugitifs sur les populations sauvages à l'échelle locale (c.-à-d. à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) et dans l'ensemble de l'Atlantique Nord. De plus, les réussites potentielles des diverses stratégies d'atténuation seront étudiées à l'aide de données recueillies dans le cadre de projets de recherche parallèles dans l'ensemble de l'Atlantique Nord. Ces travaux compléteront directement les études existantes et

  1. permettront de quantifier l'ampleur de l'hybridation entre le saumon sauvage et le saumon d'élevage fugitif et d'étudier les différences dans la croissance, la survie et la biologie qui existent entre les individus sauvages et hybrides, et
  2. permettront d'élaborer un projet de collaboration internationale dans le cadre de la Déclaration de Galway entre le Canada, les États-Unis et l'Union européenne, qui sera axé sur l'évaluation des différents modèles utilisés dans l'ensemble de l'Atlantique Nord.

Il est nécessaire de déterminer les risques et les stratégies d'atténuation potentielles associés aux saumons de l'Atlantique d'élevage fugitifs pour la réussite de la conservation des populations de saumons sauvages, la stabilité des pêches récréatives et autochtones, ainsi que la croissance soutenue d'une industrie aquacole durable. Grâce à l'examen de la présence de croisements et d'introgression, ces travaux permettront de définir des stratégies pour maintenir la croissance rapide de l'industrie aquacole sans modifier la structure de la population ou l'adaptation locale des populations de saumons sauvages. Ce faisant, ce travail doit directement aider le MPO à respecter l'engagement du Canada envers le développement durable de l'aquaculture.

Constatations

S.O.

Publications

S.O.

Nom du programme

Programme de recherche sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture (PRRA)

Année

2016 - 2019

Écorégion

Atlantique : Plateaux de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador

Chercheur principal

Ian Bradbury
Chercheur, Centre des pêches de l'Atlantique nord-ouest
Courriel: Ian.Bradbury@dfo-mpo.gc.ca