Assessment of biodiversity and functional changes in NL benthic communities associated with aquaculture activities

PARR-2016-NL-09

Description

Salmon aquaculture situated along the south coast of Newfoundland is located over hard ocean substrate, and monitoring for the effects of organic enrichment from salmon aquaculture activities relies on visual monitoring techniques. Current regulatory thresholds are based on the extent of visual indicators of organic enrichment surrounding a farm, as a proxy for the management objective of no greater than 50% biodiversity loss. This project builds on past and on-going research, and is focusing on addressing three key knowledge gaps important for improving our understanding of the impact of finfish aquaculture located over hard bottom substrates. First, a better knowledge of the natural communities will be established through completion of a reference database of the natural Newfoundland benthic communities in areas of aquaculture development. This will provide better documentation of the biodiversity hot spots and/or the areas with low natural richness. Through a paired/matched comparison of baseline data (reference) with biodiversity data post-aquaculture, areas with 50% or greater biodiversity loss and the associated indicator presence will be evaluated. Second, a characterization of the functional change of the natural benthic communities will be completed. Thirdly, species richness and biodiversity data will be analyzed through linear mixed-effects (LME) models to examine whether species richness on the seafloor beneath and adjacent to aquaculture sites could be explained using available variables (visual indicators, distance, depth, and fallow period when applicable. The results from this research will help to inform the evaluation of the current regulatory indicators and thresholds used for benthic organic enrichment monitoring for finfish aquaculture located over hard bottom substrates in NL, as defined in the Aquaculture Activities Regulations.

Findings

Benthic organisms were generally sparse and patchy in distribution at hard bottom sites in Newfoundland. Sites had low natural taxa richness. The dominant groups were: anemones, coralline algae, brittle stars, and other algae. Groups such as coralline algae are unique and more sensitive to disturbance despite being located in areas classified as low productivity. Other habitats observed were kelps (e.g., Little Bay, NL) and sponges (e.g., Little Passage, NL). There was no obvious zonation in taxa present across depth differences. There was a significant reduction in the number of benthic taxa near the fish farm cage area. Presently, the effects of finfish aquaculture on benthic communities at hard bottom sites on the East Coast are assessed using visual indicators of organic enrichment, namely bacterial mats, opportunistic polychaetes, and/or barren substrates (i.e., with no visible epifauna). Video data collected for regulatory purposes before and after aquaculture production was used to document (1) change in epibenthic taxon richness (TR) and its discriminatory power in determining aquaculture impact and (2) the association between TR change and the presence of visual indicators. Decreases in TR were associated with visual indicator presence, validating the use of a suite of visual indicators to detect organic deposition. Importantly, visual indicators should be considered together in the context of regulation, given that relationships between TR and indicators were not linear when the latter are considered individually. Based on the results of this study, the Canadian Aquaculture Activities Regulations (2015) thresholds of 70 % of the locations visually detect OPC Beggiatoa or similar bacteria or barren substrate would likely correspond to a 100 % reduction in taxa richness. The usage of a suite of visual indicators instead of one should be assessed to homogenize approaches within the Canadian context for hard-bottom site regulatory approaches and thresholds.

Publications

Salvo F., Mersereau J., Hamoutene D., Belley R., Dufour S., 2017. Spatial and temporal changes in epibenthic communities at deep, hard bottom aquaculture sites in Newfoundland. Ecological Indicators, 76, 207-218.

Hamoutene D., Salvo F., Belley R., Lush L., Hendry C. and Marshall K. 2017. An evaluation of benthic monitoring baseline assessments completed as part of the regulatory requirements for aquaculture finfish site applications on the South Coast of Newfoundland. Can. Tech. Rep. Fish. Aquat. Sci. Fs97 6/3222E-PDF: v + 25 p.

Hamoutene D., Salvo F., Cross S., Dufour S., Donnet S. (2018) Linking the presence of visual indicators of aquaculture deposition to changes in epibenthic richness at finfish sites installed over hard bottom substrates. Environmental Monitoring and Assessment 190(12). DOI: 10.1007/s10661-018-7108-2

Salvo F., Marshall K., Hamoutene D., 2018. Mesocosm trials to determine survival of Ophryotrocha cyclops (Salvo, 2014) to different oxygen conditions. Ecological indicators 89: 572-575 https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ecolind.2018.02.025

Program Name

Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Research (PARR)

Year(s)

2016 - 2018

Principal Investigator

Dounia Hamoutene
Research Scientist, Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre
Email: Dounia.Hamoutene@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Évaluation de la biodiversité et des changements fonctionnels dans des communautés benthiques de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador en lien avec les activités d'aquaculture

PRRA-2016-NL-09

Description

La salmoniculture située le long de la côte sud de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador se trouve sur un substrat dur, et la surveillance des effets de l'enrichissement organique provenant des activités de salmoniculture repose sur des techniques de surveillance visuelle. Les seuils réglementaires sont fondés sur la mesure des indicateurs visuels de l'enrichissement organique à proximité d'une exploitation, en tant qu'approximation de l'objectif de gestion d’une perte de biodiversité inférieure à 50 %. Ce projet s'est appuyé sur les recherches passées et en cours, et s’est concentré sur les trois principales lacunes dans les connaissances qui sont importantes pour améliorer notre compréhension des effets de l'aquaculture des poissons à nageoires située au-dessus de substrats de fond marin dur. Tout d'abord, une meilleure connaissance des communautés naturelles a été établie au moyen d'une base de données de référence des communautés benthiques naturelles de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador dans les zones de développement de l'aquaculture. Cela a permis de mieux documenter les zones cruciales de la biodiversité et les endroits où il y a peu de richesse naturelle. Au moyen d'une comparaison appariée des données de base (référence) avec les données sur la biodiversité recueillies après l'aquaculture, on a évalué les zones présentant au moins 50 % de perte de biodiversité et la présence d'indicateurs connexes. Deuxièmement, une caractérisation des changements fonctionnels des communautés benthiques naturelles a été réalisée. Troisièmement, l'abondance et la biodiversité des espèces ont été analysées par l'intermédiaire de modèles linéaires à effets mixtes afin de vérifier si la richesse des espèces sur le fond de la mer sous les sites aquacoles et à proximité de ces sites pourrait être expliquée en utilisant les variables disponibles (indicateurs visuels, distance, profondeur et période de mise en jachère, s'il y a lieu). Les résultats de cette recherche permettent d'éclairer l'évaluation des indicateurs et des seuils réglementaires actuels utilisés dans la surveillance de l'enrichissement organique benthique pour l'aquaculture des poissons à nageoires située au-dessus de substrats de fond marin dur dans la région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, selon les définitions du Règlement sur les activités d'aquaculture.

Constatations

La distribution des organismes benthiques dans les sites à fond dur de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador est généralement clairsemée et irrégulière. La richesse taxonomique sur ces sites est également naturellement faible. Les groupes dominants sont les anémones, les algues coralliennes, les ophiures et d’autres algues. Certains groupes comme les algues coralliennes sont uniques et sont plus sensibles aux perturbations, même s’ils sont situés dans des zones classées parmi les zones de faible productivité. Les autres habitats observés étaient les laminariées (p. ex. à Little Bay [T.-N.-L.]) et les éponges (p. ex. dans le Little Passage [T.-N.-L.]). Aucune zonation manifeste des taxons n’a été observée aux différentes profondeurs. Une réduction significative du nombre de taxons benthiques a été observée à proximité des exploitations d’aquaculture en cage. À l’heure actuelle, les effets de l’aquaculture de poissons à nageoires sur les communautés benthiques dans les sites à fond dur de la côte Est sont évalués à l’aide d’indicateurs visuels de l’enrichissement organique, notamment des tapis bactériens, des polychètes opportunistes ou des substrats stériles (c.-à-d. sans épifaune visible). Les données vidéo recueillies à des fins réglementaires avant et après la production aquacole ont été utilisées pour documenter (1) les changements dans la richesse des taxons épibenthiques et le pouvoir de discrimination de ces changements pour déterminer les effets de l’aquaculture et (2) le lien entre les changements dans la richesse taxonomique et la présence d’indicateurs visuels. La réduction de la richesse taxonomique a été associée à la présence d’indicateurs visuels, validant ainsi l’utilisation d’une série d’indicateurs visuels pour détecter les dépôts organiques. Fait important à souligner, les indicateurs visuels devraient être examinés ensemble à des fins de réglementation, puisque les liens entre la richesse taxonomique et les indicateurs ne sont pas linéaires lorsque ces derniers sont examinés séparément. Selon les résultats de cette étude, le seuil fixé par le Règlement sur les activités d’aquaculture (2015), à savoir 70 % des emplacements où la surveillance visuelle détecte la présence de complexes de polychètes opportunistes (CPO), de Beggiatoa ou de bactéries semblables ou de substrat stérile, correspondrait probablement à une réduction de 100 % de la richesse taxonomique. Il y aurait lieu d’évaluer l’utilisation d’une série d’indicateurs visuels, plutôt que d’un seul, afin d’harmoniser les approches dans le contexte canadien de réglementation des sites à fond dur et des seuils y afférents.

Publications

Salvo F., Mersereau J., Hamoutene D., Belley R., Dufour S., 2017. Spatial and temporal changes in epibenthic communities at deep, hard bottom aquaculture sites in Newfoundland. (En anglais seulement) Ecological Indicators. 76, 207-218.

Hamoutene D., Salvo F., Belley R., Lush L., Hendry C. and Marshall K. 2017. An evaluation of benthic monitoring baseline assessments completed as part of the regulatory requirements for aquaculture finfish site applications on the South Coast of Newfoundland. (En anglais seulement). Rapp. tech. can. sci. halieut. aquat. Fs97 6/3222E-PDF: v + 25 p.

Hamoutene D., Salvo F., Cross S., Dufour S., Donnet S. (2018) Linking the presence of visual indicators of aquaculture deposition to changes in epibenthic richness at finfish sites installed over hard bottom substrates. (En anglais seulement) Environmental Monitoring and Assessment. 190(12). DOI: 10.1007/s10661-018-7108-2.

Salvo F., Marshall K., Hamoutene D. 2018. Mesocosm trials to determine survival of Ophryotrocha cyclops (Salvo, 2014) to different oxygen conditions. (En anglais seulement). Ecological indicators. Sous 89: 572 - 575 https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ecolind.2018.02.025

Nom du programme

Programme de recherche sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture (PRRA)

Année

2016 - 2018

Chercheur principal

Dounia Hamoutene
Chercheuse, Centre des pêches de l'Atlantique nord-ouest
Courriel: Dounia.Hamoutene@dfo-mpo.gc.ca