Alternative detection methods for performance indicators of the oxic state of bottom sediments: indicator inter-calibration and thresholds

PARR-2016-M-07

Description

Potential impacts associated with biochemical oxygen demanding (BOD) matter effluents at aquaculture sites are assessed by monitoring the oxic state of the bottom sediment. Performance indicators, such as sulfide concentrations and Redox Potential (Eh), are used to determine the effects of BOD matter deposits. Previous research had shown that the standard method for quantifying total free sulfides in sediments can provide inaccurate results as a result of contamination with mineral sulfides, calibration variability, and inappropriate sample storage. Eh measurements were also known to have high variability. There is ongoing research to develop and validate alternative methods for measuring total free sulfides and dissolved oxygen in sediments that solve many of these problems. This project aimed to inter-calibrate available oxic state indicators to ensure they provide comparable information on sediment oxic state, and develop thresholds for the oxic state indicators that equate to the management objective of no greater than 50% biodiversity loss. Additional thresholds were identified which can be used to classify the oxic status of sediments over the full range of possible biological effects from sediment organic enrichment (i.e. oxic to anoxic). A new pore water sampling technology was developed that will greatly reduce aquaculture monitoring costs while also eliminating concerns over the capacity of present sampling approaches (grabs and cores) to provide undisturbed surficial sediment and pore water samples.

Findings

The standard ion selective electrode (ISE) method for total free sulfide analysis generally provides biased results related to sample contamination with non-toxic mineral sulfides and/or the oxidation and volatilization of free sulfides prior to analysis. Alternative field and laboratory protocols, based on pore-water analysis, were developed to alleviate these problems. These protocols also included a practical approach for simultaneously measuring pore-water dissolved oxygen concentrations using commercially available micro-sensors. A simple ultra-violet (i.e., UV) spectrophotometry method was extensively field tested and shown to provide rapid and accurate total free sulfide measures in the field. A sample preservation and laboratory-based microplate methylene blue method was simultaneously tested and shown to provide sulfide results comparable to the UV method. In contrast, the ISE method was confirmed to give biased results that were poorly correlated with those obtained with both alternative methods. The simultaneous use of sulfide and oxygen indicators in sediment evaluations more accurately describes the geochemical alterations of sediment that affect benthic communities.

Publications

Cranford, P.J., L. Brager, and D. Wong. 2017. A dual indicator approach for monitoring benthic impacts from organic enrichment with test application near Atlantic salmon farms. Marine Pollution Bulletin. 124:258-265.

Multimedia

Innovative aquaculture tools

Program Name

Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Research (PARR)

Year(s)

2016 - 2017

Principal Investigator

Peter Cranford
Marine Ecologist, Bedford Institute of Oceanography
Email: Peter.Cranford@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Méthodes de détection de remplacement à titre d'indicateurs de rendement de l’état oxique des sédiments marins : étalonnage comparatif des indicateurs et seuils

PRRA-2016-M-07

Description

On évalue actuellement les répercussions potentielles des effluents de matières exerçant une demande biochimique d'oxygène (DBO) provenant des sites aquacoles en surveillant l'état oxique des sédiments marins. Les indicateurs de rendement, tels que les concentrations de sulfures et le potentiel d'oxydoréduction (Eh), sont actuellement utilisés pour établir les effets des dépôts de matières exerçant une DBO. Des recherches précédentes ont montré que la méthode standard de quantification des sulfures libres totaux dans les sédiments peut produire des résultats inexacts du fait de la contamination par des sulfures minéraux, de la variabilité de l'étalonnage et d'un entreposage inadéquat des échantillons. Les mesures du potentiel d'oxydoréduction sont également connues comme présentant une variabilité élevée. Des recherches en cours visent à élaborer et à valider d'autres méthodes de mesure des concentrations totales de sulfure libre et d'oxygène dissous dans les sédiments qui permettent de résoudre bon nombre de ces problèmes. Ce projet permettra de faire un étalonnage comparatif des indicateurs d'état oxique disponibles afin de s'assurer qu'ils fournissent des renseignements comparables sur l'état oxique des sédiments, et d'élaborer des seuils pour les indicateurs d'état oxique qui correspondent à l’objectif de gestion d’une perte de biodiversité inférieure à 50 %. On établira les seuils supplémentaires qui peuvent être utilisés pour classer l'état oxique des sédiments selon toute la gamme des effets biologiques possibles de l'enrichissement en matière organique des sédiments (c.-à-d. oxique à anoxique). Une nouvelle technologie d'échantillonnage de l'eau interstitielle sera élaborée; elle permettrait de réduire grandement les coûts de surveillance de l'aquaculture tout en éliminant les préoccupations concernant la capacité de présenter des méthodes d'échantillonnage (échantillonnage ponctuel et carottes de sédiments) afin de fournir des échantillons d'eau interstitielle et des sédiments de surface non perturbés.

Constatations

La méthode standard de l’électrode sélective d’ions pour l’analyse des sulfures libres totaux fournit généralement des résultats biaisés sur la contamination des échantillons par des sulfures minéraux non toxiques ou sur l’oxydation et la volatilisation des sulfures libres avant l’analyse. D’autres protocoles d’analyse sur le terrain et en laboratoire, basés sur l’analyse de l’eau interstitielle, ont donc été mis au point pour atténuer ces problèmes. Ces protocoles prévoient une approche pratique pour mesurer simultanément la concentration d’oxygène dissous dans l’eau interstitielle à l’aide de microcapteurs du commerce. Une méthode simple de spectrophotométrie UV a fait l’objet de nombreux essais sur le terrain et a démontré qu’elle permettait de mesurer rapidement et de façon précise les sulfures libres totaux sur le terrain. Une méthode de conservation des échantillons et d’analyse sur microlame au bleu de méthylène a été testée simultanément et a donné des résultats sur les sulfures comparables à ceux obtenus avec la méthode UV. À l’inverse, il a été confirmé que la méthode de l’électrode sélective d’ions donne des résultats biaisés qui sont faiblement corrélés avec ceux obtenus avec les deux autres méthodes. L’utilisation simultanée d’indicateurs des sulfures et de l’oxygène dans l’analyse des sédiments permettra de décrire d’une manière plus précise les altérations géochimiques dans les sédiments qui ont des effets sur les communautés benthiques.

Publications

Cranford, P.J., L. Brager, and D. Wong. 2017. A dual indicator approach for monitoring benthic impacts from organic enrichment with test application near Atlantic salmon farms. (En anglais seulement) Marine Pollution Bulletin. 124:258-265.

Multimédia

Nouveaux outils pour l’aquaculture

Nom du programme

Programme de recherche sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture (PRRA)

Année

2016 - 2017

Chercheur principal

Peter Cranford
Écologiste marin, Institut océanographique de Bedford
Courriel: Peter.Cranford@dfo-mpo.gc.ca