Temporal assessment of organic loading from finfish aquaculture on hard bottom communities in Newfoundland

PARR-2015-NL-07

Description

Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) developed and implemented the Aquaculture Activities Regulations (AAR) to clarify conditions under which aquaculture operators may treat their fish for disease and parasites, as well as deposit organic matter (i.e., uneaten feed and faeces). These regulations permit aquaculture operators to deposit organic matter and treatments within certain restrictions while avoiding, minimizing, and mitigating potential impacts of aquaculture on fish habitat and on commercial, recreational and Aboriginal fisheries. In support of the AAR, there is a need to evaluate monitoring standards and protocols for biochemical oxygen demanding (BOD) deposits (i.e., organic matter) in locations where it is not possible to collect sediment samples (i.e., hard-bottom substrates). So far, research findings had suggested that video (i.e., visual) monitoring should be the primary tool for environmental assessment; however, a better understanding of its limitations is necessary.
To assess the impacts from unconsumed fish feed and fish faeces on the benthic community, video monitoring data was validated with information on the benthic community. Samples of the waste that builds up under finfish farm net-pens was collected and analyzed for changes in fauna and flora, and specifically for the presence or absence of indicator species (i.e., Polychaete worms and bacterial mats) known to occur near finfish farms. The study also evaluated the use of remote video survey methods (ROVs) for monitoring benthic impacts, based on the protocol used in British Columbia. The results from this study support the development of science advice on the best practices for monitoring the effects of finfish aquaculture on the hard bottom benthic community.

Findings

Finfish aquaculture production was associated with the presence of bacterial mats and opportunistic polychaetes, two performance indicators that can be visually detected and are not found at reference sites. Bacterial community composition was determined via 16S rRNA gene sequencing under a hard-bottom aquaculture site in Newfoundland. Flocculent matter was composed of the genera Spirochaeta (12%), Prolixibacter (5.6%) and Marinifilum (4.6%). Bacterial mats were not composed of Beggiatoa as hypothesized, but instead were dominated by the genera Prevotella (21%), Odoribacter (20%), Spirochaeta (15%), and Meniscus (11%). In addition, bacterial composition analysis revealed four clusters, three of which (defined as "recently disturbed," "intermediate impact," and "high impact") differed markedly from a fourth "low impact" cluster that contained far-field samples collected >500 m from cages. Samples within the high impact group were most often collected directly under cages, whereas those in the intermediate impact group were mainly sampled from 20 to 40 m from cages. Large scale phylum shifts and a decline in bacterial diversity were observed in the high impact cluster, indicating significant ecological change. Samples from sites of different fallow duration were found in the high impact cluster, indicating incomplete recovery, even after 35 months of fallowing. Our results suggested that effects can be accurately tracked using bacterial community profiles or specific biomarkers. In addition to the identification of bacteria, our results showed that the chemical signature of the samples confirms that copper (Cu), zinc (Zn), calcium (Ca) and phosphorus (P) present around fish cages, are direct markers of aquaculture wastes. Persistence of two pyrethroids, one avermectin, and one antibiotic in grab samples showed a potentially lasting association between these chemicals and the organic matter from fish feed and wastes, even after 2 years. Overall, the concentrations measured did not indicate a direct lethal toxicity on marine organisms (as per studies described in literature) except for Zn. Nevertheless, the long-term persistence of a flocculent mixture rich in chemicals and the lack of information on sublethal and synergistic effects on hard-bottom communities calls for caution and additional studies.

Publications

Verhoeven J., Dufour S., Salvo F., Hamoutene D., 2016. The bacterial community composition of flocculent matter under a salmonid aquaculture site in Newfoundland, Canada. Aquaculture Environmental Interactions 8:637-646 - DOI: https://doi.org/10.3354/aei00204.

Hamoutene, D., F. Salvo, S. Egli, A. Modir-Rousta, R. Knight, G. Perry, C. Bottaro and S. Dufour. Measurement of Aquaculture Chemotherapeutants in Flocculent Matter Collected at a Hard-Bottom Dominated Finfish Site on the South Coast of Newfoundland (Canada) After Two Years of Fallow. Frontiers in Marine Science 5 (2018): 228.

Verhoeven J.T.P., Salvo F., Knight R., Hamoutene D., Dufour S.C., 2018. Temporal Bacterial Surveillance of Salmon Aquaculture Sites Indicates a Long Lasting Benthic Impact With Minimal Recovery. Front. Microbiol. 9:3054. DOI:https://doi.org/10.3389/fmicb.2018.03054

Program Name

Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Research (PARR)

Year(s)

2015 - 2018

Principal Investigator(s)

Dounia Hamoutene
Research Scientist, Aquaculture Section, Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre
80 East White Hills Road, St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador
Email: Dounia.Hamoutene@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Team Member(s)

Flora Salvo

Pierre Goulet

Dwight Drover

Kimberly Burt

Jon Grant, Department of Oceanography, Dalhousie University

Jeffrey Barrell, Department of Oceanography, Dalhousie University

Suzanne Dufour, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Robert Sweeney, Sweeney International Marine Corp. and SIMCorp Marine Environmental

Évaluation temporelle de l'impact que la charge organique issue de la pisciculture a sur les communautés de fond marin dur de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

PRRA-2015-NL-07

Description

Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) est en train de mettre en place le Règlement sur les activités d'aquaculture (RAA) qu'il a récemment élaboré dans le but de préciser les conditions auxquelles les exploitants en aquaculture doivent se plier lorsqu'ils traitent leur poisson en cas de maladie et de parasites, et aussi lorsqu'ils rejettent des matières organiques (des aliments non consommés ou des fèces). En vertu de ce règlement, les exploitants en aquaculture ont le droit de rejeter des matières organiques et d'utiliser des traitements tout en évitant, réduisant et atténuant le risque posé par l'aquaculture sur l'habitat du poisson et les pêches commerciales, récréatives et autochtones, pourvu qu'ils respectent certaines restrictions. En appui au règlement, il faut évaluer les normes et les protocoles de surveillance qui permettent d'étudier les dépôts de matière (matière organique) qui exercent une demande biochimique en oxygène (DBO) dans les endroits où il est impossible de prélever des échantillons de sédiments (dans les substrats de fond marin dur). Les résultats des recherches ayant été menées à ce jour tendent à indiquer que la surveillance vidéo (donc un support visuel) devrait être l'outil principal pour les évaluations environnementales. Toutefois, on a besoin de mieux connaître les limites de l'outil.

Pour évaluer les impacts que les aliments non consommés et les fèces de poisson ont sur la communauté benthique, il faut valider les données de surveillance vidéo avec les renseignements dont on dispose sur cette communauté. On prélèvera et analysera des échantillons des déchets qui s'accumulent sous les parcs en filet des exploitations de pisciculture, afin d'évaluer les changements subis par la faune et la flore, notamment pour déterminer si on y trouve des espèces indicatrices (les vers polychètes et les tapis de bactéries) que l'on sait présentes à proximité de ces exploitations. Sur la base du protocole utilisé en Colombie-Britannique, l'étude évaluera également les méthodes de surveillance vidéo à distance pour l'observation des impacts benthiques. Les résultats de cette étude aideront à élaborer des avis scientifiques sur les pratiques exemplaires au chapitre de la surveillance des effets que la pisciculture a sur la communauté benthique vivant sur un fond dur.

Constatations

La production piscicole marine a été associée à la présence de tapis de bactéries et de polychètes opportunistes, deux indicateurs de performance qui peuvent être détectés visuellement et qui ne se trouvent pas aux sites de référence. La composition de la communauté bactérienne a été déterminée par séquençage du gène ARNr 16S sous un site aquacole à fond plat à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. La matière floculante était composée des bactéries genera Spirochaeta (12 %), Prolixibacter (5,6 %) et Marinifilum (4,6 %). Les tapis de bactéries n’étaient pas composés de Beggiatoa comme on en avait émis l’hypothèse, mais étaient dominés par les bactéries genera Prevotella (21 %), Odoribacter (20 %), Spirochaeta (15 %) et Meniscus (11 %). De plus, l’analyse de la composition bactérienne a révélé quatre grappes, dont trois (définies comme « récemment perturbées », « à impact intermédiaire » et « à impact élevé ») différaient sensiblement d’une quatrième grappe « à faible impact » qui contenait des échantillons prélevés en champ éloigné à moins de 500 m des cages. Les échantillons du groupe à impact élevé ont le plus souvent été prélevés directement sous les cages, tandis que ceux du groupe à impact intermédiaire ont été prélevés principalement à entre 20 et 40 m des cages. Des changements de phylum à grande échelle et un déclin de la diversité bactérienne ont été observés dans la grappe à impact élevé, ce qui indique un changement écologique important. Des échantillons provenant de sites de jachère de durée différente ont été trouvés dans la grappe à impact élevé, ce qui indique un rétablissement incomplet, même après 35 mois de mise en jachère. Nos résultats suggèrent que les effets peuvent être suivis avec précision au moyen du profilage bactérien communautaire ou de biomarqueurs spécifiques. En plus de l’identification des bactéries, nos résultats indiquent que la signature chimique des échantillons confirme la présence de cuivre (Cu), de zinc (Zn), de calcium (Ca) et de phosphore (P) autour des cages à poissons, qui sont des marqueurs directs des déchets de l’aquaculture. La persistance de deux pyréthroïdes, une avermectine et un antibiotique dans les échantillons ponctuels montrent une association potentiellement durable entre ces produits chimiques et les matières organiques issues de la nourriture et des déchets des poissons même après deux ans. Dans l’ensemble, les concentrations mesurées n’indiquent pas une toxicité létale directe pour les organismes marins (selon les études décrites dans la littérature) sauf pour l’élément Zn. Néanmoins, la persistance à long terme d’un mélange floculant riche en produits chimiques et le manque d’information sur les effets sublétaux et synergiques sur les communautés vivant sur un fond plat exigent de la prudence et des études supplémentaires.

Publications

Verhoeven J., Dufour S., Salvo F., Hamoutene D., 2016. The bacterial community composition of flocculent matter under a salmonid aquaculture site in Newfoundland, Canada. Aquaculture Environmental Interactions 8:637-646 - DOI : https://doi.org/10.3354/aei00204. (En anglais seulement)

Hamoutene, D., F. Salvo, S. Egli, A. Modir-Rousta, R. Knight, G. Perry, C. Bottaro et S. Dufour. Measurement of Aquaculture Chemotherapeutants in Flocculent Matter Collected at a Hard-Bottom Dominated Finfish Site on the South Coast of Newfoundland (Canada) After Two Years of Fallow. Frontiers in Marine Science 5 (2018): 228. (En anglais seulement)

Verhoeven J.T.P., Salvo F., Knight R., Hamoutene D., Dufour S.C., 2018. Temporal Bacterial Surveillance of Salmon Aquaculture Sites Indicates a Long Lasting Benthic Impact With Minimal Recovery. Front. Microbiol. 9:3054. DOI : https://doi.org/10.3389/fmicb.2018.03054 (En anglais seulement)

Nom du programme

Programme de recherche sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture (PRRA)

Année

2015 - 2018

Écorégion

Atlantique : Plateaux de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Dounia Hamoutene
chercheuse scientifique, Section de l'aquaculture, Centre des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest
80, East White Hills Road, St. John's (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
Courriel: Dounia.Hamoutene@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Membres de l'équipe

Flora Salvo

Pierre Goulet

Dwight Drover

Kimberly Burt

Jon Grant, département d'océanographie, Université Dalhousie

Jeffrey Barrell, département d'océanographie, Université Dalhousie

Suzanne Dufour, Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve

Robert Sweeney, Sweeney International Marine Corp. et SIMCorp Marine Environmental