Feeding pressure of Styela clava tunicates on phytoplankton and zooplankton in Malpeque Bay, PEI

PARR-2015-G-10

Description

To support the sustainable management of the mussel aquaculture industry, Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) and provincial aquaculture managers consider both the farm-scale and ecosystem-scale sustainability of aquaculture activities. Because mussel aquaculture has been impacted by the presence of tunicates and other fouling species in some areas of DFO’s Gulf Region, the biology of these species also has to be considered by management as they evaluate proposals for changes in production levels. Shellfish aquaculture production carrying capacity has traditionally been defined as the maximum stocking level for profitability at the farm scale. To ensure sustainability of shellfish aquaculture activities, efforts have been focused on characterizing and managing the ecological carrying capacity - that is, the most intensive level of aquaculture activity that can be supported in a particular ecosystem without causing any unacceptable changes in ecological processes. Management decisions for possible increases in mussel aquaculture activity in Malpeque Bay take into consideration both the production and ecological carrying capacities, however, these predictions also need to include estimates of filter feeding pressures from fouling species such as tunicates (Styela clava) that grow on mussel aquaculture lines.

This study will investigate the feeding physiology of S. clava so that it can be incorporated into existing ecological carrying capacity models. Specifically this study will:

  1. assess the biomass and size structure of S. clava on mussel socks,
  2. determine S. clava feeding rates on natural phytoplankton communities,
  3. measure S. clava retention efficiency on zooplankton communities,
  4. evaluate S. clava capacity to retain lobster larvae (stages I and IV), and
  5. integrate results into existing carrying capacity models to provide new carrying capacity outputs that include this information.

The outcome of this project will support the development of different mussel production scenarios (present or future) for Malpeque Bay, PEI.

Findings

Filter feeding by cultivated blue mussels, Mytilus edulis, and the invasive solitary tunicates, Styela clava, was studied in a portable aquatic laboratory on Prince Edward Island (PEI) using natural seawater. Average standardized clearance rates were 12.5 ± 1.12 Lh-1g-1 dry weight for mussels and 6.7 ± 0.7 Lh-1g-1 dry weight for tunicates. Scaling up these results to a bay scale model that integrated mussel and tunicate feeding pressures on phytoplankton in Malpeque Bay, PEI emphasized the important effect of tunicate mitigations and tunicate treatments on phytoplankton. Without mitigation measures, the feeding capacity by mussels and tunicates increases up to 171 % associated with a maximum reduction in phytoplankton of 1.72 ug chlorophyll a L-1 a reduction of approximately 45 % compared to the current levels (3.83 ug chlorophyll a L-1). Predation on zooplankton by mussels was 35 ± 9.4 % and by tunicates was 28 ± 9.0 %. There was no predation on lobster larvae in either I and IV stages. Mussels and tunicates had no retention or capture of lobster larvae, even at very high lobster densities. These clearance rates and feeding behaviours will inform ecosystem carrying capacity modelling.

Publications

Sonier, R., Filgueira, R., Douad, D. and Comeau, L.A. 2018. Feeding pressure of Mytilus edulis and Styela clava on phytoplankton and zooplankton, including lobster larvae (stages I and IV). Can. Tech. Rep. Fish. Aquat. Sci. 3263: vi+ 19p.

Comeau, L.A., Filgueira, R., Davidson, J.D.P., Nadeau, A., Sonier, R., Guyondet, T., Ramsay, A., and Davidson, J. 2017. Population structure and grazing capacity of cultivated mussels in Prince Edward Island, Canada. Can. Tech. Rep. Fish. Aquat. Sci. 3228: viii + 23 p.

Comeau, L.A., Filgueira, R., Guyondet, T. and Sonier, R. 2015. The impact of invasive tunicates on the demand for phytoplankton in longline mussel farms. Aquaculture 441: 95-105.

Program Name

Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Research (PARR)

Year(s)

2015 - 2017

Ecoregion(s)

Atlantic: Gulf of St. Lawrence, St. Lawrence Estuary

Principal Investigator(s)

Rémi Sonier
Research Scientist, Aquaculture and Coastal Ecosystems, Gulf Fisheries Centre, Science Branch
343 Université Avenue, Moncton, New Brunswick
Email: Remi.Sonier@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Team Member(s)

Luc Comeau

Ramon Filgueira

André Nadeau

Jeffrey Davidson, Aquatic and Ecosystem Health, University of Prince Edward Island

Pression alimentaire exercée par le tunicier Styela clava sur le plancton (phytoplancton et zooplancton) dans la baie Malpeque, à l'Î.-P.-É.

PRRA-2015-G-10

Description

Afin d'appuyer la gestion durable de l'industrie mytilicole, les gestionnaires en aquaculture de Pêches et Océans Canada et des provinces tiennent compte de la viabilité des activités aquacoles sur les deux plans : à l'échelle des exploitations et à l'échelle de l'écosystème. La présence des tuniciers et des autres espèces salissantes a un impact sur la mytiliculture dans le Région du Golfe. Les caractéristiques biologiques de ces espèces doivent donc elles aussi être prises en compte par la gestion au moment de l'évaluation des propositions de changements relatives aux niveaux de production. La capacité de charge de production conchylicole désigne historiquement le niveau de stocks maximal que l'exploitation peut maintenir à des fins de rentabilité. Afin d'assurer la viabilité des activités conchylicoles, on concentre les efforts sur la définition et la gestion de la capacité de charge écologique, qui correspond au niveau d'activité aquacole maximal qu'un écosystème donné peut supporter sans entraîner de changements inacceptables au chapitre des processus écologiques. Les décisions de gestion liées à l'intensification éventuelle des activités mytilicoles dans la baie Malpeque tiennent compte des deux capacités, à savoir la capacité de production et la capacité de charge écologique. Toutefois, ces prévisions doivent également inclure des estimations des pressions de filtration exercées par certaines espèces salissantes comme les tuniciers (Styela clava) qui poussent sur les filières de mytiliculture.

Dans cette étude, on se penchera sur l'alimentation et la physiologie de cette espèce de tunicier, de manière à pouvoir incorporer celle-ci dans les modèles de capacité de charge écologique actuels. Plus précisément, l'étude consiste en ce qui suit :

  1. évaluer la structure de la biomasse et de la taille des tuniciers S. clava présents sur les boudins de moules;
  2. déterminer les taux d'alimentation de l'espèce au sein des communautés naturelles de phytoplancton;
  3. mesurer l'efficacité de rétention de l'espèce au sein des communautés de zooplancton;
  4. évaluer la capacité de l'espèce à retenir les larves de homard (stades I et IV);
  5. intégrer les résultats dans les modèles de capacité de charge écologique actuels afin d'obtenir de nouveaux extrants de capacité de charge qui comprennent cette information.

Les résultats de ce projet aideront à élaborer divers scénarios de production mytilicole (actuels ou futurs) pour la baie Malpeque, à l'Î.-P.-É.

Constatations

L’alimentation par filtrage de la moule bleue d’élevage, Mytilus edulis, et du tunicier solitaire envahissant, Styela clava, a été étudiée dans un laboratoire aquatique portatif de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard utilisant de l’eau de mer naturelle. Les taux de clairance normalisés moyens ont été de 12,5 ± 1,12 Lh-1g-1 de poids sec pour les moules et de 6,7 ± 0,7 Lh-1g-1 de poids sec pour les tuniciers. L’extrapolation de ces résultats à un modèle à l’échelle de la baie intégrant les pressions alimentaires exercées par les moules et les tuniciers sur le phytoplancton dans la baie Malpeque, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, a fait ressortir l’importance des mesures d’atténuation et des traitements visant les tuniciers pour le phytoplancton. De fait, en l’absence de mesures d’atténuation, la capacité d’alimentation des moules et des tuniciers augmente dans une proportion pouvant atteindre 171 %, cette hausse s’accompagnant d’une réduction maximale du phytoplancton de 1,72 ug/L de chlorophylle (L-1), soit une réduction d’environ 45 % par rapport aux niveaux actuels (3,83 ug/L de chlorophylle (L-1)). Le taux de prédation du zooplancton a été de 35 ± 9,4 % pour les moules et 28 ± 9,0 % pour les tuniciers. Aucune prédation des larves de homard n’a été observée aux stades I et IV. Les moules et les tuniciers n’ont présenté aucune capacité de capture ou de rétention des larves de homard, même en présence d’une très forte densité de homards. Ces taux de clairance et comportements alimentaires permettront d’étayer la modélisation de la capacité de charge des écosystèmes.

Publications

Sonier, R., Filgueira, R., Douad, D. and Comeau, L.A. 2018. Feeding pressure of Mytilus edulis and Styela clava on phytoplankton and zooplankton, including lobster larvae (stages I and IV). (En anglais seulement) Rapp. tech. can. sci. halieut. aquat. 3263: vi+ 19 p.

Comeau, L.A., Filgueira, R., Davidson, J.D.P., Nadeau, A., Sonier, R., Guyondet, T., Ramsay, A., and Davidson, J. 2017. Population structure and grazing capacity of cultivated mussels in Prince Edward Island, Canada. (En anglais uniquement) Rapp. tech. can. sci. halieut. aquat. 3228: viii + 23 p.

Comeau, L.A., Filgueira, R., Guyondet, T. et Sonier, R. 2015. The impact of invasive tunicates on the demand for phytoplankton in longline mussel farms. (En anglais seulement) Aquaculture. 441: 95-105.

Nom du programme

Programme de recherche sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture (PRRA)

Année

2015 - 2017

Écorégion

Atlantique : Golfe et estuaire du Saint-Laurent

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Rémi Sonier
chercheur scientifique, Aquaculture et écosystèmes côtiers, Centre des pêches du Golfe
343, avenue de l'Université, Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick)
Courriel: Remi.Sonier@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Membres de l'équipe

Luc Comeau

Ramon Filgueira

André Nadeau

Jeffrey Davidson, Santé aquatique et de l'écosystème, Université de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard