Characterization of lobster habitat and fishery’s spatial use in relation to shellfish aquaculture leases in Malpeque Bay, PEI

PARR-2015-G-02

Description

Shellfish aquaculture is an important economic activity for coastal communities in Atlantic Canada. The Blue Mussel industry emerged on the east coast during the 1970s and expanded rapidly in PEI during the 1990s. Today, Blue Mussels are the nation’s leading cultured shellfish species by weight and value. In 2013, Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) identified the need to develop a detailed spatial plan to accommodate a possible increase in leases for mussel aquaculture in Malpeque Bay, PEI. In addition to considering the scale of shellfish aquaculture that can be sustainably cultured in Malpeque Bay, there also remain questions related to lobster-cultured mussel interactions. In making decisions or proposing potential increases in the number of leases in Malpeque Bay, aquaculture managers have to consider complex coastal zone management issues, including the potential for habitat overlap between lobsters and aquaculture mussel leases.

This project will address management questions related to lobster-cultured mussel interactions by investigating the potential overlaps between current and proposed mussel aquaculture sites with lobster rearing grounds and fishing activities in Malpeque Bay. The study will also evaluate the potential scenarios for shellfish aquaculture expansion to minimize effects on the productivity of commercial, recreational, or Aboriginal fishery species, such as lobster and rock crab, which are managed under the Fisheries Act. The outcomes of this study will inform departmental and provincial decision-makers in their marine spatial planning processes and contribute to the sustainable aquaculture industry.

Findings

Results from this study showed that most of the proposed expansion areas for aquaculture were considered poor habitat for lobster, based on catch per unit effort and seabed characteristics. These areas served mostly as a transitory zone for lobsters. However, the southern portion of the west block is considered prime lobster ground serving as residence habitat for all benthic life stages and size groups of lobster. This study provided relevant information to the current marine spatial planning process in addressing some concerns from the lobster fishing industry. It provides objective observations and measurements, which facilitate effective and transparent consultations.

Publications

Ouellette, M., Comeau, M., LeBlanc, A., and Comeau, B. 2016. Characterization of the American lobster (Homarus americanus) habitat and fishery to inform marine spatial planning in Malpeque Bay, PEI. DFO Can. Sci. Advis. Sec. Res. Doc. 2016/025. v + 39 p.

DFO. 2016. Review of potential impacts of hydrated lime treatments associated with proposed expansion of mussel production in Malpeque Bay, PEI. DFO Can. Sci. Advis. Sec. Sci. Advis. Rep. 2016/014.

Program Name

Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Research (PARR)

Year(s)

2015 - 2017

Ecoregion(s)

Atlantic: Gulf of St. Lawrence, St. Lawrence Estuary

Principal Investigator(s)

Marc Ouellette
Aquatic Science Biologist, Gulf Fisheries Centre, Science Branch
343 Université Avenue, Moncton, New Brunswick
Email: Marc.Ouellette@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Team Member(s)

Michel Comeau

Denis Gagnon

Angeline LeBlanc

Bruno Comeau

Deryck Mills

Caractérisation de l'habitat du homard et de l'utilisation de l'espace par la pêche par rapport aux concessions de conchyliculture dans la baie Malpeque, à l'Î.-P.-É.

PRRA-2015-G-02

Description

La conchyliculture est une activité économique importante pour les collectivités côtières du Canada atlantique. L'industrie conchylicole des moules bleues a vu le jour sur la côte Est au cours des années 1970, puis a rapidement pris de l'expansion à l'Î.-P.-É au cours des années 1990. Aujourd'hui, la moule bleue se classe au premier rang des mollusques et crustacés d'élevage, en poids et en valeur. En 2013, Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) a déterminé qu'il était nécessaire d'élaborer un plan spatial détaillé afin de tenir compte d'une augmentation éventuelle du nombre de concessions mytilicoles dans la baie Malpeque (Î.-P.-É.). On doit se pencher sur l'envergure de la conchyliculture qui pourrait être pratiquée de façon durable dans la baie Malpeque. De plus, il y a encore des interrogations au chapitre de l'interaction entre le homard et la moule d'élevage. Au moment de prendre des décisions ou de proposer une hausse du nombre de concessions dans la baie Malpeque, les gestionnaires en aquaculture doivent tenir compte des enjeux complexes liés à la gestion des zones côtières, notamment du risque qu'il y ait chevauchement de l'habitat entre les concessions de culture du homard et les concessions mytilicoles.

Ce projet a répondu aux questions en matière de gestion relatives à ces interactions, au moyen d'un examen du risque qu'il y ait chevauchement entre les sites mytilicoles actuels du temps et proposés, les zones de frai du homard et les activités de pêche dans la baie Malpeque. L'étude a consisté également à évaluer les scénarios envisageables pour l'expansion de la conchyliculture, de façon à atténuer autant que possible les effets sur la productivité des espèces faisant l'objet de pêches commerciales, récréatives ou autochtones comme le homard et le crabe commun, qui sont gérés en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches. Les résultats de cette étude orientent les décisions prises par les décideurs ministériels et de la province sur le plan de leurs processus de planification spatiale marine, et ils contribuent à une industrie aquacole durable.

Constatations

Les résultats de cette étude montrent que la plupart des zones envisagées pour l’expansion de l’aquaculture ont été considérées comme étant de piètres habitats pour le homard, d’après les prises par unité d’effort et les caractéristiques du fond marin. Ces secteurs servent principalement de zones de transition pour les homards. Cependant, la portion sud du bloc ouest est considérée comme étant un habitat de prédilection des homards et sert d’habitat de résidence pour tous les stades de vie benthique et tous les groupes de tailles de homard. Cette étude fournit des renseignements pertinents sur le processus actuel de planification de l’espace marin qui aideront à répondre à certaines préoccupations exprimées par l’industrie de la pêche du homard. Elle fournit également des mesures et des observations objectives, qui faciliteront la tenue de consultations efficaces et transparentes.

Publications

Ouellette, M., Comeau, M., LeBlanc, A. et Comeau, B. 2016. Caractérisation de l’habitat et de la pêche du homard de l’Atlantique (Homarus americanus) pour documenter la planification de l’espace marin dans la baie Malpeque, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Secr. can. de consult. sci. du MPO, Doc. de rech. 2016/025. v + 39 p.

MPO. 2016. Examen des incidences possibles des traitements à la chaux hydratée dans le contexte du projet d’expansion de la production de moules dans la baie Malpeque, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Secr. can. de consult. sci. du MPO, Avis scient. 2016/014.

Nom du programme

Programme de recherche sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture (PRRA)

Année

2015 - 2017

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Marc Ouellette
biologiste en sciences aquatiques, Centre des pêches du Golfe, Direction des sciences
343, avenue de l'Université, Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick)
Courriel: Marc.Ouellette@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Membres de l'équipe

Michel Comeau

Denis Gagnon

Angeline LeBlanc

Bruno Comeau

Deryck Mills