Evaluating the effectiveness of fallowing as a mitigation tool at predominantly hard-bottom aquaculture sites in Newfoundland

PARR-2014-NL-07

Description

Atlantic salmon aquaculture sites in Newfoundland are located predominantly over hard ocean substrates where it is difficult to consistently obtain sediment samples. The primary mitigation measure to manage impacts from uneaten food and faeces is to fallow (leave the site without fish) at the end of a production cycle. Optimal fallowing times and the factors that can influence the rate of benthic community recovery remain key knowledge gaps important to the environmental management of the industry.

This project sets out to examine the recovery processes at aquaculture sites undergoing different periods of fallowing by evaluating how the length of the fallowing period influences the distribution of bio-indicator species, Beggiatoa and Opportunistic Polychaete Complexes (OPC). Results from the Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat (CSAS) process, ‘Potential Impacts of Finfish Aquaculture on Hard Bottom Substrates and Development of a Standardized Monitoring Protocol’ (Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat Science Advisory Report - CSAS-SAR 2014/017) suggested that these were acceptable indicators of organic deposition over a range of substrates. This study will examine the changes in flocculent matter Footnote 1 and non-indicator species during fallowing. The biological basis for changes in the distribution of Beggiatoa and OPC during fallowing will be examined to determine if the observed changes occur in a predictable manner across aquaculture sites on the south coast of Newfoundland. Factors associated with changes in the distribution of bio-indicators and the composition of epifauna Footnote 2 will also be described. The outcome of this research will improve our understanding of the processes of benthic recovery in the Newfoundland and Labrador Region during fallowing. In particular, the results will shed light on the degree of benthic recovery associated with various lengths of fallowing, the biological processes underlying OPC dynamics in association with organic matter degradation, and the effectiveness of fallowing as a mitigation strategy in the region.

Findings

Information from all performance indicators is needed to accurately evaluate finfish aquaculture impacts. Multivariate analysis revealed that aquaculture production led to rapid changes in epibenthic communities with the development of bacterial mats and opportunistic polychaetes. No clear intermediate stages between aquaculture impacted and reference sites were discernable. Bacterial mats and opportunistic polychaetes were typically observed up to 100 m, and occasionally up to 160 m from cages. After 15 months of fallowing, bacterial mats and opportunistic polychaetes remained present at sites and were occasionally accompanied by other taxa, suggesting incomplete site recovery. A new species of dorvilleid polychaete, Ophryotrocha cyclops, was observed on the rocky seafloor under NL salmon aquaculture sites. O. cyclops consumed both fish pellets and flocculent matter-associated with bacteria, contributing to the overall recovery process. O.cyclops has temperature and oxygen limitations suggesting caution in interpreting its absence as an absence of aquaculture impact.

Publications

Salvo F., Wiklund H., Dufour S.C., Hamoutene D., Pohle G. and Worsaae K.,  2014. A new annelid species from whalebones in Greenland and aquaculture sites in Newfoundland: Ophryotrocha cyclops, sp. nov. (Eunicida: Dorvilleidae). Zootaxa, 3887(5), 555-568. DOI: 10.11646/Zootaxa.3887.5.3

Salvo F., Hamoutene D., and Dufour S.C., 2014. Trophic analyses of opportunistic polychaete (Ophryotrocha n. sp.) at salmonid aquaculture sites. Journal of the Marine Biological Association of the United Kingdom, DOI: 10.1017/S0025315414002070.

Hamoutene D., Salvo F., Bungay T., Mabrouk G., Couturier C., Ratsimandresy A. and Dufour S., 2015. Assessment of Finfish Aquaculture Effect on Newfoundland Epibenthic Communities through Video Monitoring. North American Journal of Aquaculture 77(2), 117-127. DOI: 10.1080/15222055.2014.976681

Salvo F.; Dufour S., Hamoutene D., Parrish, C., 2015. Lipid Classes and Fatty Acids in Ophryotrocha cyclops, a Dorvilleid from Newfoundland Aquaculture Sites: e0136772. PLoS ONE10.8.

Hamoutene D., Salvo F., Donnet S., Dufour S., 2016. The usage of visual indicators in regulatory monitoring at hard-bottom finfish aquaculture sites in Newfoundland (Canada). Marine Pollution Bulletin. DOI:10.1016/j.marpolbul.2016.04.028.

Salvo F., Dufour S., Hamoutene D., 2017. Temperature thresholds of opportunistic annelids used as benthic indicators of aquaculture impact in Newfoundland (Canada). Ecological Indicators 79, 103-105.

Program Name

Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Research (PARR)

Year(s)

2014 - 2017

Ecoregion(s)

Atlantic: Newfoundland, Labrador Shelves

Principal Investigator(s)

Dounia Hamoutene
Research Scientist, Aquaculture Section, Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre
80 East White Hills Road St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador
Email: Dounia.Hamoutene@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Team Member(s)

Kimberley Burt

Flora Salvo

Collaborative Partner(s)

Suzanne Dufour, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Robert Sweeney, Sweeney International Marine Corp and SIMCorp Marine Environmental

Évaluation de l'efficacité de la période de mise en jachère comme outil d'atténuation aux sites aquacoles principalement à fond plat de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

PRRA-2014-NL-07

Description

Les sites aquacoles du saumon atlantique de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador sont principalement situés au-dessus de substrats durs où il est difficile de prélever des échantillons de sédiments de manière uniforme. La principale mesure d'atténuation utilisée pour gérer les effets des aliments non consommés et des fèces consiste à faire une mise en jachère (laisser le site sans poisson) à la fin du cycle de production. Au chapitre de la gestion environnementale de l'industrie, les principales connaissances manquantes demeurent les périodes optimales pour la mise en jachère et les facteurs connexes qui peuvent avoir une influence sur le taux de rétablissement de la communauté benthique.

Le but de ce projet était d'examiner les processus de rétablissement aux sites aquacoles qui font l'objet de mises en jachère à différentes périodes, en évaluant la manière dont la durée de la période de mise en jachère influe sur la répartition des espèces bio-indicatrices que sont Beggiatoa et les complexes de polychètes opportunistes (CPO). Les résultats du processus du Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique (SCCS), « Les incidences potentielles de la pisciculture sur les substrats de fond marin dur et l'élaboration d'un protocole de surveillance normalisé » (Avis scientifique du Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique – SCCS-AS 2014/017), semblent démontrer que ces organismes sont des indicateurs acceptables des dépôts organiques sur un éventail de substrats. Dans cette étude, on a examiné les changements de la matière floculante Footnote 1 et des espèces non indicatrices pendant la mise en jachère. Ensuite, on a étudié le fondement biologique des changements survenant au chapitre de la répartition de Beggiatoa et des CPO pendant la mise en jachère, afin de déterminer si les changements observés se sont produits de façon prévisible dans l'ensemble des sites aquacoles de la côte sud de Terre-Neuve. Enfin, on a décrit les facteurs liés aux changements sur le plan des bio-indicateurs et de la composition de l'épifaune Footnote 2 . Les résultats de cette recherche ont permis d'améliorer notre compréhension des processus de rétablissement des organismes benthiques dans la Région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador opérant pendant la mise en jachère. En particulier, ils ont permis d'améliorer nos connaissances sur le degré de rétablissement du milieu benthique associé à diverses durées de mise en jachère, les processus biologiques qui sous-tendent la dynamique des CPO en lien avec la dégradation des matières organiques, et l'efficacité de la mise en jachère comme stratégie d'atténuation dans la région.

Constatations

L’information provenant de tous les indicateurs de performance est nécessaire pour évaluer avec précision les impacts de l’aquaculture des poissons à nageoires. L’analyse à plusieurs variables a révélé que la production de l’aquaculture a entraîné des changements rapides dans les communautés épibenthiques avec le développement de tapis de bactéries et de polychètes opportunistes. Aucune étape intermédiaire claire entre l’aquaculture touchée et les sites de référence n’était perceptible. Des tapis de bactéries et des polychètes opportunistes ont généralement été observés jusqu’à 100 m, et parfois jusqu’à 160 m des cages. Après 15 mois de mise en jachère, des tapis de bactéries et des polychètes opportunistes sont restés présents sur les sites et ont parfois été accompagnés par d’autres taxons, ce qui suggère un rétablissement incomplet du site. Une nouvelle espèce de polychète dorvilléidé, l’Ophryotrocha cyclops, a été observée sur le fond rocheux sous les sites d’aquaculture du saumon de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. L’O. cyclops consommait à la fois des granulés de poisson et des matières floculantes associées à des bactéries, contribuant ainsi au processus global de récupération. L’O. cyclops a des limites de température et d’oxygène, ce qui incite à la prudence lorsqu’on interprète son absence comme une absence d’impact de l’aquaculture.

Publications

Salvo F., Wiklund H., Dufour S.C., Hamoutene D., Pohle G. et Worsaae K., 2014. A new annelid species from whalebones in Greenland and aquaculture sites in Newfoundland: Ophryotrocha cyclops, sp. nov. (Eunicida: Dorvilleidae). Zootaxa, 3887(5), 555-568. DOI: 10.11646/Zootaxa.3887.5.3

Salvo F., Hamoutene D., et Dufour S.C., 2014. Trophic analyses of opportunistic polychaete (Ophryotrocha n. sp.) at salmonid aquaculture sites. Journal of the Marine Biological Association of the United Kingdom, DOI: 10.1017/S0025315414002070.

Hamoutene D., Salvo F., Bungay T., Mabrouk G., Couturier C., Ratsimandresy A. et Dufour S., 2015. Assessment of Finfish Aquaculture Effect on Newfoundland Epibenthic Communities through Video Monitoring. North American Journal of Aquaculture 77(2), 117-127. DOI: 10.1080/15222055.2014.976681

Salvo F.; Dufour S., Hamoutene D., Parrish, C., 2015. Lipid Classes and Fatty Acids in Ophryotrocha cyclops, a Dorvilleid from Newfoundland Aquaculture Sites: e0136772. PLoS ONE10.8.

Hamoutene D., Salvo F., Donnet S., Dufour S., 2016. The usage of visual indicators in regulatory monitoring at hard-bottom finfish aquaculture sites in Newfoundland (Canada). Marine Pollution Bulletin. DOI:10.1016/j.marpolbul.2016.04.028.

Salvo F., Dufour S., Hamoutene D., 2017. Temperature thresholds of opportunistic annelids used as benthic indicators of aquaculture impact in Newfoundland (Canada). Ecological Indicators 79, 103-105.

Nom du programme

Programme de recherche sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture (PRRA)

Année

2014 - 2017

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Dounia Hamoutene
chercheuse scientifique, Section de l'aquaculture, Centre des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest
80, East White Hills Road, St. John's (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
Courriel: Dounia.Hamoutene@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Membres de l'équipe

Kimberley Burt

Flora Salvo

Partenaires collaboratifs

Suzanne Dufour, Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve

Robert Sweeney, Sweeney International Marine Corp. et SIMCor Marine Environmental