Effects of husbandry practices and mitigation treatments on the long-term control of tunicate infestation in PEI mussel farms

PARR-2014-G-03

Description

Tunicate infestations have severely impacted the shellfish aquaculture industry in Atlantic Canada, particularly the mussel aquaculture industry in PEI. Floating or submerged substrate such as shellfish aquaculture structures, gear, and mussel lines provide ideal surfaces for the colonization of invasive tunicates. While mitigation practices (e.g., pressure washing) address the immediate removal of tunicates from mussel lines and substrate, they do not prevent re-infestation. Past research had focused primarily on the timing, frequency, and ecological sustainability of these practices; however, there had been no long-term assessments of these treatments or of alternative measures. Examining the role of bay-wide mussel stocking densities and related effects on tunicate recruitment provided insights into alternative options for managing tunicates on shellfish farms.

In the case of tunicates it is recognized that unused space or substrate availability facilitates the settling of these invasive species in a new environment. This project investigateed the relationship between available recruitment space and levels of infestation by the invasive tunicate, Ciona intestinalis, on PEI mussel culture sites. The study was conducted at the scale of a typical mussel aquaculture site, and will entailed multi-year simulations to assess the overwintering potential of tunicates. The effect of different mussel stocking densities on infestation levels was assessed, and numerical models developed to simulate the effects of fallowing of culture leases. The results from this study inform long-term tunicate management strategies at both farm and bay-scale levels.

Findings

Numerical modelling of the tunicate population dynamics of C. intestinalis was informed by in situ tunicate observations. A combination of tunicate treatment and mussel stock scenarios were reproduced to provide information on the long-term management of bay-scale level infestations. The potential recruitment surface area for Ciona intestinalis in PEI embayments was mostly provided by cultivated mussels. Model scenarios tested did not provide clear management options to eradicate Ciona populations from these systems.

Publications

N/A

Program Name

Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Research (PARR)

Year(s)

2014 - 2017

Atlantic: Gulf of St. Lawrence, St. Lawrence Estuary

Principal Investigator(s)

Thomas Landry
Research Scientist, Aquaculture and Coastal Ecosystems, Gulf Fisheries Centre
343 Ave Université Ave, Moncton, New Brunswick
Email: Thomas.Landry@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Thomas Guyondet
Research Scientist, Aquaculture and Coastal Ecosystems, Gulf Fisheries Centre
343 Ave Université Ave., Moncton, New Brunswick
Email: Thomas.Guyondet@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Collaborative Partner(s)

Aaron Ramsay, PEI Department of Fisheries, Aquaculture and Rural Development

Jeffrey Davidson, Atlantic Veterinary College

Thitiwan Patanasatienkul, Atlantic Veterinary College

Effets des pratiques de sélection et des mesures d'atténuation sur la lutte à long terme contre les infestations de tuniciers dans les moulières de l'Île du Prince Édouard

PRRA-2014-G-03

Description

Les infestations de tuniciers ont eu de graves impacts sur l'industrie conchylicole du Canada atlantique, notamment sur l'industrie mytilicole de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard (Î.-P.-É.). Les substrats flottants ou submergés comme les structures, les engins et les filières de moules utilisés en conchyliculture procurent des terrains idéaux pour la colonisation des tuniciers envahissants. Bien que les méthodes d'atténuation actuelles (p. ex., lavage à pression) permettent d'enlever les tuniciers présents sur les substrats et les filières de moules sur-le-champ, elles ne permettent pas d'empêcher qu'ils s'y installent de nouveau. Les recherches menées par le passé ont porté essentiellement sur les circonstances où l'on fait appel à ces méthodes, et sur leur fréquence d'utilisation et leur viabilité écologique. Ces traitements ou autres mesures de rechange n'ont pas fait l'objet d'évaluation à long terme. En se penchant sur le rôle des densités de mise en charge des moules à l'échelle de la baie et sur les effets de ces densités sur le recrutement des tuniciers, on pourrait obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur les autres options pour le contrôle des tuniciers présents dans les installations conchylicoles.

Chez les tuniciers, il est reconnu que l'espace inutilisé et la présence de substrats favorisent la colonisation de ces espèces envahissantes dans un nouveau milieu. Dans le cadre de ce projet, on étudiera la corrélation entre l'espace de recrutement disponible et les niveaux d'infestation du tunicier envahissant Ciona intestinalis dans les sites mytilicoles de l'Î.-P.-É. L'étude sera menée dans une échancrure où la mytiliculture est typiquement pratiquée, et elle comprendra des simulations pluriannuelles afin d'évaluer la capacité de survie des tuniciers pendant l'hiver. On évaluera l'effet que les différentes densités de mise en charge des moules ont sur les niveaux d'infestation, et on créera des modèles numériques afin de simuler les effets de la mise en jachère des concessions. Les résultats de cette étude serviront à orienter les travaux d'élaboration des stratégies de contrôle des tuniciers à long terme, à la fois pour les sites mytilicoles et la baie.

Constatations

La modélisation numérique de la dynamique des populations de tuniciers de C. intestinalis découle d’observations in situ de tuniciers. Une combinaison de scénarios concernant le traitement des tuniciers et le stock de moules a été reproduite pour fournir de l’information sur la gestion à long terme des infestations à l’échelle des baies. La superficie potentielle pour le recrutement de Ciona intestinalis dans les échancrures de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard provenait principalement de moules cultivées. Les scénarios modèles mis à l’essai n’offraient pas d’options de gestion claires pour éradiquer les populations de Ciona de ces systèmes.

Publications

S.O.

Nom du programme

Programme de recherche sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture (PRRA)

Année

2014 - 2017

Écorégion

Atlantique : Golfe et estuaire du Saint-Laurent

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Thomas Landry
chercheur scientifique, Aquaculture et écosystèmes côtiers, Centre des pêches du Golfe
343, avenue de l'Université, Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick)
Courriel: Thomas.Landry@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Thomas Guyondet
chercheur scientifique, Aquaculture et écosystèmes côtiers, Centre des pêches du Golfe
343, avenue de l'Université, Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick)
Courriel: Thomas.Guyondet@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Partenaires collaboratifs

Aaron Ramsay, PEI Department of Fisheries, Aquaculture and Rural Development

Jeffrey Davidson, Collège vétérinaire de l'Atlantique

Thitiwan Patanasatienkul, Collège vétérinaire de l'Atlantique