Assessing trace-element indicators of benthic organic enrichment associated with aquaculture activities

PARR-2012-P-07

Description

Aquaculture wastes, such as faeces or uneaten food, can accumulate beneath and near farm sites. In the near-field, this accumulation is predictable using depositional modelling tools such as DEPOMOD, and the organic enrichment effects associated with this deposition are well known and managed to ensure environmental sustainability. However, the far-field effects that may be associated with the release of aquaculture waste material are poorly understood, partly because it is difficult to accurately predict where wastes will be dispersed. Additionally, once wastes are moved from the immediate vicinity of a farm site it is difficult to distinguish between deposits coming from farm activities, other industrial sources and naturally occurring materials.

To monitor, and if necessary, regulate, the far-field effects of aquaculture wastes, it is necessary to be able to identify where wastes are transported and what material originates from farm sources. A limited number of sensitive detection tools (sediment free sulfides and geonormalized trace-metals) are currently available to environmental monitoring programs for making such identifications. Research to date, focused on trace-metal assessments at a variety of aquaculture sites, has shown that aquaculture waste material (fish feed and faeces) has a trace-metal signature that can be distinguished from that of naturally-occurring trace-metals. It is proposed that the geonormalization of trace-elements may identify depositional "hot spots" and track transport pathways to determine the fate of farm waste material. This approach could help to identify areas where wastes would accumulate in the far-field and ultimately, inform aquaculture management in the spatial design of monitoring programs.

As a first step towards conducting a robust regional impact assessment (longer-term research goal), this PARR project will focus on obtaining, formatting, and running a preliminary analysis on archived benthic data sets previously collected by the British Columbia Ministry of the Environment and Fisheries and Oceans Canada. These datasets will support a region-wide assessment of aquaculture-derived trace-metal signature under various oceanographic, bathymetric and operational settings. This geonormalization approach may be adopted to assess the fate of aquaculture wastes in the far-field and across a range of environmental settings.

Findings

N/A

Publications

N/A

Program Name

Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Research (PARR)

Year(s)

2012 - 2014

Ecoregion(s)

Pacific: Vancouver Island West Coast

Principal Investigator(s)

Terri Sutherland
Research Scientist, Fisheries and Oceans Canada (FOC), DFO-UBC Centre for Aquaculture and Environmental Research (CAER)
4160 Marine Drive, West Vancouver, B.C., Canada V7V 1N6
Tel.: (604) 666-8537
Fax: (604) 666-3497
Email: Terri.Sutherland@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Team Member(s)

Bernie Taekema, DFO-Pacific Region

Kerra Hoyseth, DFO-Pacific Region

March Klaver, DFO-Pacific

Évaluation d'oligo-éléments indicateurs d'un enrichissement organique benthique associé à des activités d'aquaculture

PRRA-2012-P-07

Description

Les déchets de l'aquaculture, comme les déjections des poissons ou les résidus d'aliments, peuvent s'accumuler au-dessous et à proximité des sites d'élevage. À proximité des sites, l'accumulation peut être prévue à l'aide d'outils de modélisation des dépôts comme DEPOMOD, et les effets d'enrichissement organique associés à ces dépôts sont bien connus et gérés de manière à assurer la durabilité environnementale. Toutefois, les effets à distance qui peuvent être associés à la dispersion de déchets de l'aquaculture sont encore mal compris, en partie parce qu'il est difficile de prédire avec exactitude où ils seront dispersés. En outre, une fois que les déchets sont éloignés de l'environnement immédiat d'un site d'élevage, il est difficile de faire la distinction entre les dépôts provenant des activités d'élevage et les résidus provenant d'autres sources industrielles ou les matières présentes naturellement à un endroit donné.

Pour surveiller et, au besoin, réguler les effets à distance des déchets de l'aquaculture, il faut pouvoir déterminer où sont transportés les déchets et quelles sont les matières qui proviennent des sites d'élevage. Actuellement, les programmes de surveillance environnementale disposent d'un nombre limité de moyens de détection sensibles (sulfures exempts de sédiments et oligo-éléments géonormalisés) pour effectuer de telles déterminations. La recherche effectuée jusqu'à maintenant, qui a été concentrée sur des évaluations d'oligo-éléments dans divers sites d'aquaculture, a montré que les déchets de l'aquaculture (aliments pour le poisson et déjections) portent une signature d'oligo-éléments qui peut être distinguée de celle des oligo-éléments présents à l'état naturel sur un site. On propose que la géonormalisation des oligo-éléments pourrait permettre de repérer des « points chauds » de dépôts et de retracer le chemin que parcourent les déchets provenant des sites d'élevage. Cette approche pourrait aider à cerner les zones où les déchets s'accumulent à distance et aider les gestionnaires en aquaculture dans la conception spatiale des programmes de surveillance.

Comme premier pas vers la réalisation d'une évaluation robuste de l'impact régional (objectif de recherche à long terme), ce projet du PRRA sera centré sur l'obtention et le formatage d'ensembles de données benthiques archivées qui ont déjà été recueillies antérieurement par le ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique et par Pêches et Océans Canada, ainsi que sur la réalisation d'une analyse préliminaire de ces données. Ces ensembles de données soutiendront une évaluation à l'échelle régionale de la signature d'oligo-éléments dans différents contextes océanographiques, bathymétriques et opérationnels. Cette approche fondée sur la géonormalisation pourrait être adoptée pour évaluer le devenir des déchets de l'aquaculture loin des sites d'élevage et dans divers contextes environnementaux.

Constatations

S.O.

Publications

S.O.

Nom du programme

Programme de recherche sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture (PRRA)

Année

2012 - 2014

Écorégion

Pacifique : Côte Ouest de l'île de Vancouver

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Terri Sutherland
Chercheure scientifique, Pêches et Océans Canada (Comité de l’océanographie des pêches) Centre de recherche sur l'aquaculture et l'environnement (MPO-Université de la Colombie-Britannique)
4160 Marine Drive, West Vancouver (C.-B.) Canada V7V 1N6
Tél.:(604) 666-8537
Téléc:(604) 666-3497
Courriel: Terri.Sutherland@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Membres de l'équipe

Bernie Taekema, MPO, région du Pacifique

Kerra Hoyseth, MPO, région du Pacifique

March Klaver, MPO, région du Pacifique