Distribution and concentration patterns of SLICE® in sediments at high, medium, and low energy aquaculture sites on the west coast

PARR-2012-P-04

Description

The aim of this research project is part of the broader-scope DFO objective of assessing the potential impact of commercial salmon fish farming on the health of the surrounding marine ecosystem. Specifically, this study looks at the effect of finfish farm sea lice treatments on non-target organisms. Current fish farming practices include the use of in-feed chemical treatments for controlling sea lice such as SLICE® , an in-feed treatment that includes emamectin benzoate (EB) as its active ingredient.

This study builds on previous research done in the Broughton Archipelago to assess the effects of SLICE® on Spot Prawns. Sediment samples have been collected close to aquaculture sites to determine the distribution and concentration patterns of SLICE® in the sediments (surface and sediment cores) under a wide range of oceanographic conditions: at high, medium and low energy aquaculture sites on the west coast. The biodegradation characteristics of SLICE® in marine sediments will also be examined to determine how long these chemicals may persist in the environment and at what concentrations.

The overall findings of these studies will increase our knowledge of the potential effects of SLICE® applications at marine cage finfish farm locations on the surrounding benthic environment. The measured environmental EB concentrations will be used to test, calibrate, and implement the DEPOMOD (modeling system) and other biophysical models to help predict the behaviour of EB in relevant aquatic ecosystems. These findings will be useful in forming regulations for the use of SLICE® in the aquaculture industry.

Findings

N/A

Publications

N/A

Program Name

Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Research (PARR)

Year(s)

2012 - 2013

Ecoregion(s)

Pacific: Vancouver Island West Coast

Principal Investigator(s)

Michael Ikonomou
(DFO)
Email: Michael.Ikonomou@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Team Member(s)

Les Burridge

Kerra Hoyseth

Cory Dubetz, (DFO)

Collaborating Government Department(s)

Jon Chamberlain

Mike Foreman

Terri Sutherland (DFO)

Sharon DeDominicis (Marine Harvest Canada)

Frank Gobas (SFU)

Collaborative Partner(s)

BAMP - Broughton Archipelago Management Plan

Modèles de répartition et de concentration de l'agent chimiothérapeutique antiparasitaire SLICE® dans les sédiments de sites aquacoles de la côte ouest caractérisés par des courants faibles, moyens et forts

PRRA-2012-P-04

Description

Le but de ce projet de recherche s'inscrit dans la portée plus vaste de l'objectif de Pêches et Océans Canada qui vise à évaluer les répercussions possibles de la salmoniculture commerciale sur la santé de l'écosystème marin environnant. Plus particulièrement, cette étude porte sur l'effet des traitements contre le pou du poisson en pisciculture sur les organismes non ciblés. Actuellement, les pratiques d'élevage piscicole comprennent l'ajout de traitements chimiques à la nourriture pour lutter contre le pou du poisson, comme l'agent chimiothérapeutique antiparasitaire SLICE® , dont l'ingrédient actif est le benzoate d'émamectine.

Cette étude est fondée sur des recherches précédentes qui ont été effectuées dans l'archipel Broughton pour évaluer les effets du SLICE® sur la crevette tachetée. Des échantillons de sédiments ont été prélevés près des sites aquacoles afin de déterminer la répartition et la concentration du SLICE® dans les sédiments (sédiments de surface et carottes de sédiments) soumis à diverses conditions océanographiques, c'est-à-dire à des sites aquacoles de la côte ouest situés dans des milieux caractérisés par des courants faibles, moyens et forts. Les caractéristiques biodégradables du SLICE® dans les sédiments marins sont aussi étudiées pour déterminer combien de temps ce produit chimique peut demeurer dans l'environnement et à quelles concentrations.

Les conclusions générales de cette étude nous permettront de mieux connaître les effets possibles de l'utilisation du SLICE® dans les sites aquacoles de poissons en cages sur le milieu benthique environnant. Les concentrations de benzoate d'émamectine qui ont été mesurées dans l'environnement seront utilisées pour mettre à l'essai, calibrer et mettre en application le modèle DEPOMOD et d'autres modèles biophysiques pour faciliter la prédiction de l'évolution du benzoate d'émamectine dans les écosystèmes aquatiques concernés. Ces conclusions seront utiles pour le développement de réglementations sur l'utilisation du SLICE® dans l'industrie de l'aquaculture.

Constatations

S.O.

Publications

S.O.

Nom du programme

Programme de recherche sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture (PRRA)

Année

2012 - 2013

Écorégion

Pacifique : Côte Ouest de l'île de Vancouver

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Michael Ikonomou
(MPO)
Courriel: Michael.Ikonomou@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Membres de l'équipe

Les Burridge

Kerra Hoyseth

Cory Dubetz, (MPO)

Ministères collaborateurs

Jon Chamberlain

Mike Foreman

Terri Sutherland (MPO)

Sharon DeDominicis (Marine Harvest Canada)

Frank Gobas (SFU)

Partenaires collaboratifs

BAMP - Broughton Archipelago Management Plan (français : Plan de surveillance de l'archipel Broughton)