Language selection

Search

Impacts of shellfish aquaculture on marine vegetation

PARR-2012-P-02

Description

Marine vegetation, such as seagrass and seaweeds, form the foundation of many nearshore ecosystems and are considered critical habitat for many ecologically and economically important species. Shellfish aquaculture has the potential to impact marine vegetation in a variety of ways: via waste particles smothering vegetation; increasing water clarity affecting light penetration (thereby enhancing growth of marine vegetation); and eutrophication (fuelling growth of epiphytes which compete with the seagrasses). While the range of effects of shellfish culture on marine vegetation can be complex,  our understanding of the interactions between them is limited. Determining the impact that shellfish farms may have on marine vegetation had been identified as a priority research area on Canada's West Coast.

Baynes Sound, British Columbia is an area of intensive shellfish aquaculture making it an ideal location for this research. In addition, data on the oceanography, plankton and benthic communities in Baynes Sound had been collected for several years. This project evaluated changes in marine vegetation and associated communities by measuring the relative biomass of each trophic level (grazing, predatory, invertebrates and fish) along a gradient of effects from intensive shellfish aquaculture. This approach provided a quick assessment of ecosystem-level effects that may be induced from shellfish aquaculture activities.

Project results provide aquaculture managers with information that will help with decision making to establish appropriate carrying capacity for shellfish tenures, as well as to develop management plans with the goal of reducing environmental impacts from shellfish aquaculture.

Findings

Patterns of seaweed biomass cascaded up though grazer, consumer and predatory trophic levels. However, the distribution and abundance of seaweed across sites in the sound did not reflect the nutrient gradient of the sound. These results suggest that the communities associated with foundational nearshore seaweed are vulnerable to disturbances in the abundance and distribution of seaweed. Nevertheless, it does not appear to be a function of large scale nutrient patterns in Baynes Sound.

Publications

Stewart, H.L. and Piercey, G.E. 2013. An examination of marine vegetation communities and the trophic communities they support in Baynes Sound British Columbia. Can. Data Rep. Fish. Aquat. Sci. 1248: iv +29 p.

Program Name

Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Research (PARR)

Year(s)

2012 - 2014

Principal Investigator(s)

Hannah Stewart
Research Scientist, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, West Vancouver Laboratory, Pacific Region
Email: Hannah.Stewart@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Team Member(s)

Terri Sutherland, Research Scientist, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Pacific Region

Beth Piercey, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Pacific Region

Collaborative Partner(s)

Steve Katz, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Channel Island National Marine Sanctuary

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Répercussions de l'aquaculture des mollusques et crustacés sur la végétation marine

PRRA-2012-P-02

Description

La végétation marine, comme les graminées marines et les algues, forme la base de nombreux écosystèmes sublittoraux et est considérée comme un habitat essentiel pour un grand nombre d'espèces importantes du point de vue écologique et économique. L'aquaculture des mollusques et crustacés peut influer sur la végétation marine de diverses façons : par les particules de déchets qui étouffent la végétation, par l'augmentation de la clarté de l'eau, qui influe à son tour sur la pénétration de la lumière (et favorise ainsi la croissance de la végétation marine), et par l'eutrophisation (le fait de favoriser la croissance d'épiphytes qui entrent en concurrence avec les graminées marines). La gamme des effets de l'aquaculture de mollusques et crustacés peut être complexe. Or, notre compréhension des interactions entre ces effets est limitée. La détermination de l'incidence que les fermes conchylicoles peuvent avoir sur la végétation marine a été cernée comme domaine de recherche prioritaire dans la région du Pacifique.

Le détroit de Baynes, en Colombie-Britannique, est une zone où l'on pratique la conchyliculture de façon intensive. Il s'agit donc d'un endroit idéal pour mener cette recherche. En outre, des données ont déjà été recueillies pendant plusieurs années sur l'océanographie, le plancton et les communautés benthiques du détroit de Baynes. Dans le cadre de ce projet, on évaluera des changements au niveau de la végétation marine et des communautés qui y sont associées, notamment en mesurant la biomasse relative de chaque niveau trophique (herbivores, prédateurs, invertébrés et poissons) ainsi qu'un gradient d'effets liés à la conchyliculture intensive. Cette approche permettra d'obtenir une évaluation rapide des effets, au niveau de l'écosystème, qui pourraient être induits par des activités de conchyliculture.

Les résultats du projet fourniront aux gestionnaires en aquaculture des renseignements qui les aideront dans la prise de décisions concernant l'établissement de capacités de charge appropriées pour les parcs d'élevage de mollusques et de crustacés ainsi que dans l'élaboration de plans de gestion visant à réduire les répercussions de la conchyliculture sur l'environnement.

Constatations

S.O.

Publications

S.O.

Nom du programme

Programme de recherche sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture (PRRA)

Année

2012 - 2014

Écorégion

Pacifique : Côte Ouest de l'île de Vancouver

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Hannah Stewart
Chercheure scientifique, Pêches et Océans Canada, Laboratoire de Vancouver Ouest, région du Pacifique
Tél.:(604) 666-6659
Courriel: Hannah.Stewart@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Membres de l'équipe

Terri Sutherland et Beth Piercey, (MPO Vancouver Ouest, région du Pacifique)

Partenaires collaboratifs

Steve Katz – NOAA – Channel Island National Marine Sanctuary, Californie