Evaluation of the FVCOM modeling system to map the far-field dispersal of aquaculture waste

PARR-2012-M-03

Description

Particulate aquaculture wastes, such as fish feces and feed pellets can accumulate beneath and near farm operations. Near-field waste accumulation is relatively well understood and can be predicted using depositional modelling tools such as DEPOMOD. In contrast, the far-field distribution and potential environmental effects of particulate waste and material that is re-suspended from beneath aquaculture cages is more complex and difficult to predict. With increasing concerns over the potential far-field effects of aquaculture, including cumulative effects and ecosystem interactions, it is necessary to be able to predict the quantity and range of this dispersal. The goal of this study is to develop a coupled hydrodynamic-sediment transport model capable of mapping the far-field dispersal of aquaculture wastes from a single farm site in southwest New Brunswick using the Finite Volume Coastal Ocean Model (FVCOM).

The hydrodynamic component of the FVCOM model has been used and validated for ocean currents in southwest New Brunswick. Additionally, the particle tracking component of this model, for use with passive particles, has been successfully employed to infer the movement of and the dispersal of dye which is analogous to therapeutant transport. The fully coupled hydrodynamic-sediment transport model will add active particle transport by defining variables such as settling velocity, critical erosion shear stress, and erosion rate, which are necessary to predict the deposition and transport of aquaculture waste. To develop the model, parameters obtained from previous and current research on the transport dynamics of aquaculture waste will be used. The model will be validated using site specific data collected from a salmon aquaculture site in southwest New Brunswick.

The success of this proof of concept modelling project will help facilitate improved predictions regarding the transport of wastes generated from aquaculture operations and consequently the potential environmental interactions associated with aquaculture operations in the far-field. This will provide managers and regulators with the information needed to assist in decision making regarding the monitoring and/or mitigation of far-field wastes associated with aquaculture operations and for new siting criteria.

Findings

N/A

Publications

N/A

Program Name

Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Research (PARR)

Year(s)

2012 - 2014

Ecoregion(s)

Atlantic: Gulf of Maine, Scotian Shelf

Principal Investigator(s)

Brent Law
Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Bedford Institute of Oceanography (BIO)
1 Challenger Drive, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada, B2Y 4A2
Tel.: (902) 426-8548
Fax: (902) 246-6695
Email: Brent.Law@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Yongsheng Wu
Fisheries and Oceans Canada, BIO
1 Challenger Drive, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada, B2Y 4A2
Tel.: (902) 407-8062
Fax: (902) 426-6927
Email: Yongshen.Wu@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Terri Sutherland
Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Centre for Aquaculture and Environmental Research (CAER)
4160 Marine Drive, West Vancouver, B.C., Canada V7V 1N6
Tel.: (604) 666-8537
Fax: (604) 666-3497
Email: Terri.Sutherland@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Team Member(s)

David Greenberg, DFO-Maritimes region (BIO)

Jason Chaffey, DFO-Maritimes region (BIO)

Adam Drozdowski, DFO-Maritimes region (BIO)

Collaborating Government Department(s)

Fred Page, DFO-Gulf region (St. Andrews Biological Station - SABS)

Susan Haigh, DFO-Gulf region (SABS)

Randy Losier, DFO-Gulf region (SABS)

Évaluation du système de modélisation FVCOM pour cartographier la dispersion des déchets produits par l'aquaculture, dans un champ éloigné

PRRA-2012-M-03

Description

Les déchets formés de particules, produits par l'aquaculture, comme les excréments de poisson et les grains de moulée, peuvent s'accumuler sous un site aquacole ou dans son voisinage. L'accumulation de déchets à proximité est relativement bien comprise et elle peut être prévisible à l'aide d'outils de modélisation de dépôts tels que DEPOMOD. À l'inverse, la distribution en champ éloigné et les effets environnementaux potentiels causés par des déchets formés de particules et de matériel, déposés sous les cages d'aquaculture, puis remis en suspension, sont beaucoup plus complexes et difficiles à prédire. Les inquiétudes grandissantes au sujet des effets de l'aquaculture en champ éloigné, incluant les effets cumulatifs et les interactions entre écosystèmes, rendent nécessaire la capacité de prédire la quantité et la portée de la dispersion. Le but de cette étude est d'élaborer un modèle hydrodynamique couplé de transport des sédiments, capable de cartographier la dispersion en champ éloigné des déchets produits par l'aquaculture sur un site du sud-ouest du Nouveau-Brunswick, à l'aide du modèle de volumes finis des eaux côtières (FVCOM).

La composante hydrodynamique du modèle FCVOM a été utilisée et validée pour les courants marins du sud-ouest du Nouveau-Brunswick. De plus, la composante relative au suivi des particules dans ce modèle, valide pour des particules passives, a été utilisée avec succès pour induire le mouvement et la dispersion d'une teinture, qui sont similaires au transport de produits thérapeutiques. Le modèle hydrodynamique entièrement couplé de transport des sédiments ajoutera le transport actif de particules en définissant des variables comme la vélocité, la force de cisaillement critique de l'érosion et le taux d'érosion, qui sont requis pour prédire le dépôt et le transport de déchets produits par l'aquaculture. Des paramètres obtenus lors de recherches courantes et précédentes sur la dynamique de transport des déchets produits par l'aquaculture seront utilisés pour élaborer le modèle. Le modèle sera validé à l'aide de données propres au site, recueillies sur un site d'aquaculture de saumon du sud-ouest du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Le succès de ce projet de modélisation visant une validation de principe facilitera la formulation de prédictions améliorées au sujet du transport des déchets générés par les activités aquacoles et, par conséquent, au sujet des interactions environnementales potentielles associées aux activités aquacoles, dans un champ éloigné. Ceci fournira aux gestionnaires et aux organismes de réglementation l'information nécessaire à la prise de décisions concernant la surveillance et l'atténuation des effets causés par les déchets en champ éloigné, associées aux activités d'aquaculture et à l'établissement de nouveaux critères pour le choix des sites.

Constatations

S.O.

Publications

S.O.

Nom du programme

Programme de recherche sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture (PRRA)

Année

2012 - 2014

Écorégion

Atlantique : Golfe du Maine, plateau néo-écossais

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Brent Law
Pêches et Océans Canada, Bedford Institute of Oceanography (BIO)
1 Challenger Drive, Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse), Canada, B2Y 4A2
Tél.:(902) 426-8548
Téléc:(902) 246-6695
Courriel: Brent.Law@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Yongsheng Wu
Pêches et Océans Canada, BIO
1 Challenger Drive, Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse), Canada, B2Y 4A2
Tél.:(902) 407-8062
Téléc:(902) 426-6927
Courriel: Yongshen.Wu@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Terri Sutherland
Pêches et Océans Canada, Centre for Aquaculture and Environmental Research (CAER)
4160 Marine Drive, Vancouver Ouest (C.-B.), Canada V7V 1N6
Tél.:(604) 666-8537
Téléc:(604) 666-3497
Courriel: Terri.Sutherland@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Membres de l'équipe

David Greenberg, MPO-région des Maritimes (BIO)

Jason Chaffey, MPO-région des Maritimes (BIO)

Adam Drozdowski, MPO-région des Maritimes (BIO)

Ministères collaborateurs

Fred Page, MPO-région du Golfe (Station Biologique de St. Andrews - SBSA)

Susan Haigh, MPO-région du Golfe (SBSA)

Randy Losier, MPO-région du Golfe (SBSA)