Language selection

Search

Migration timing and distribution of juvenile salmon in Discovery Islands and Johnstone Strait

P-14-01-001

Description

Discovery Islands
Photo: Dan McPhee (DFO)

Purse seines and Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) trawl surveys have greatly increased the understanding of the migration and health of juvenile salmon within the Strait of Georgia, BC, especially for Sockeye Salmon. Surveys conducted in 2010-2012 revealed that Fraser River Sockeye Salmon do not enter the Discovery Islands area (a fish farming area) until the end of May, and that they are widely distributed throughout this area for at least part of June. To further assess risks associated with interactions between farmed and wild fish, information in the following key areas is needed:

  1. knowledge of migratory pathways of salmon and the duration of their residency in the vicinity of fish farms;
  2. knowledge of the prevalence of pathogens and diseases within wild and farmed populations; and
  3. knowledge of environmental and host conditions during the periods wild salmon reside in the vicinity of fish farms.

Additionally, more information is required to further understand when and for how long juvenile salmon are present in the vicinity of fish farms, as well as to describe migration timing of juvenile Fraser River Sockeye Salmon out of the Strait of Georgia. To gain this required information, sampling will be performed using a three-year trawl survey in the Strait of Georgia and a three-year purse seine combined with hydroacoustic surveys in Johnstone Strait.

This research will help explain how juvenile salmon utilize the Strait of Georgia, including the Discovery Islands area, with a focus on Fraser River Sockeye Salmon and to a lesser extent, Chinook Salmon. It will also provide the information required to fully assess the risks of disease transfer from salmon farms to the wild, understand the potential consequences of such transfers, and inform farm management policies.

This project supports the environmental performance and optimal fish health objectives of the Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP), and pertains to the 2014-15 national ACRDP priorities of: 1) wild-farmed interactions; 2) environmental impacts - from aquaculture to the environment; 3) environmental impacts - from the environment to aquaculture; and 4) health management.

Program Name

Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP)

Year(s)

2014 - 2016

Ecoregion(s)

Pacific: Strait of Georgia

Principal Investigator(s)

Stewart Johnson
Email: Stewart.Johnson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Collaborative Partner(s)

Marine Harvest Canada Inc.

Grieg Seafood BC Ltd.

Cermaq Canada

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Habitudes temporelles migratoires et répartition du salmonidé juvénile dans les îles Discovery et dans le détroit de Johnstone

P-14-01-001

Description

Les îles Discovery
Photo: Dan McPhee (MPO)

Les relevés de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) au chalut et à la senne coulissante ont grandement permis d'accroître la compréhension de la migration et de la santé des salmonidés juvéniles dans le détroit de Georgie, en Colombie-Britannique, surtout en ce qui concerne le saumon rouge. Des relevés menés en 2010-2012 révèlent que les saumons rouges du fleuve Fraser n'entrent pas dans la zone des îles Discovery (une zone de pisciculture) avant la fin mai, et qu'ils se répartissent ensuite largement dans cette zone pour au moins une partie du mois de juin. Afin d'évaluer les risques associés à l'interaction entre les poissons sauvages et d'élevage, il faut obtenir de l'information sur les principaux domaines suivants :

  1. connaissances des voies migratoires du saumon et de la durée de sa résidence à proximité des exploitations aquacoles;
  2. connaissances de la prévalence des agents pathogènes et des maladies chez les populations sauvages et d'élevage;
  3. connaissances des conditions environnementales et des hôtes durant les périodes au cours desquelles le saumon sauvage réside à proximité des exploitations aquacoles.

De plus, il faut recueillir de l'information pour mieux comprendre quand et pendant combien de temps les saumons juvéniles sont présents à proximité des exploitations aquacoles, ainsi que pour décrire la période de migration du saumon rouge juvénile du fleuve Fraser depuis le détroit de Georgie. Pour obtenir cette information, un échantillonnage sera réalisé au moyen d'un relevé de trois ans au chalut dans le détroit de Georgie et d'un relevé de trois ans à la senne coulissante combiné à des relevés hydroacoustiques dans le détroit de Johnstone.

Cette recherche aidera à expliquer comment les salmonidés juvéniles utilisent le détroit de Georgie, y compris la zone des îles Discovery, en mettant l'accent sur le saumon rouge du fleuve Fraser et, dans une moindre mesure, sur le saumon quinnat. Elle fournira également l'information nécessaire pour évaluer pleinement les risques de transfert de maladies des saumons d'élevage aux saumons sauvages, comprendre les conséquences potentielles de ces transferts, et documenter les politiques sur la gestion des exploitations aquacoles.

Ce projet appuie l'objectif du Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA) en ce qui concerne le rendement environnemental et la gestion optimale de la santé des poissons , et correspond à la priorité nationale du PCRDA pour 2014-2015 visant : 1) l'interaction entre les poissons sauvages et d'élevage; 2) les effets environnementaux – de l'aquaculture sur l'environnement; 3) les impacts environnementaux – de l'environnement sur l'aquaculture; 4) la gestion de la santé.

Nom du programme

Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)

Année

2014 - 2016

Écorégion

Pacifique : Détroit de Georgie

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Stewart Johnson
Courriel: Stewart.Johnson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Partenaires collaboratifs

Marine Harvest Canada Inc.

Grieg Seafood BC Ltd.

Cermaq Canada