Turning of OysterGro cages

MG-09-02-001

Description

Our project aims to develop a reliable approach to cage flipping in order to control biofouling of the cages and the oysters they contain, with a view to improving net productivity and the economic viability of the oyster breeding industry.

The first objective is to determine the optimal frequency for flipping, the one which will eliminate the largest possible quantity of biofouling while reducing economic losses due to raising the cages out of the water and to breaking of the frill. This will be useful to the entire industry in southeastern New Brunswick.

The second objective is to determine the shortest out-of-water time that will achieve a high degree of elimination of fouling organisms. The longer the period during which the oysters are out of the water, the greater their mortality. To reduce mortality as well as the growth loss that results from being out of the water, the optimal out-of-water time for eliminating biofouling needs to be determined, based on the size of the oysters.

Program Name

Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP)

Year(s)

2009 - 2012

Ecoregion(s)

Atlantic: Gulf of Maine, Scotian Shelf

Principal Investigator(s)

Angeline Leblanc
Email: Angeline.Leblanc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Retournement des cages OysterGro

MG-09-02-001

Description

Par ce projet, nous proposons de développer une technique fiable de retournement des cages dans le but de contrôler les salissures marines qui infestent les cages d'élevage OysterGro et les huîtres qu'elles contiennent, tout cela dans le but d'améliorer la productivité nette et la viabilité économique de l'industrie ostréicole.

Le premier objectif est de déterminer la fréquence de retournement optimale afin d'éliminer la plus grande quantité possible de salissures marines tout en réduisant les pertes de croissances dues à l'émersion et au bris de la frange. Ces résultats serviront à l'ensemble de l'industrie conchylicole du sud-est du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Le deuxième objectif est de déterminer le temps minimal d'émersion des cages nécessaire pour une bonne élimination des salissures marines. Plus les huîtres passent du temps hors de l'eau, plus le taux de mortalité de celles-ci augmente. Pour réduire la mortalité et la perte de croissance des huîtres de culture due à l'émersion des cages, il faut déterminer le temps optimal nécessaire afin d'éliminer les salissures marines en fonction de la taille des huîtres.

Nom du programme

Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)

Année

2009 - 2012

Écorégion

Atlantique : Golfe du Maine, plateau néo-écossais

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Angeline Leblanc
Courriel: Angeline.Leblanc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca