Floating Oyster Gear in New Brunswick: Testing the Bird-Deterring Effectiveness of Various Gear Designs

MG-06-04-003

Description

In New Brunswick, American oyster (Crassostrea virginica) aquaculture is mainly carried out using floating Vexar® bags. This technique keeps the filter-feeding animals in relatively warm and phytoplankton-rich surface waters. However, during routine sampling in September 2004, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) noticed the presence of bird fecal matter deposited on a number of floating bags containing market-size oysters, a situation that was deemed to be an unacceptable health and safety risk. Some oyster samples were found to exceed the standard for fecal coliforms, and both the CFIA and Environment Canada recommended that all oyster suspended culture sites situated in the waters of Eastern New Brunswick be immediately closed to harvesting. DFO proceeded with a closure order, which resulted in the near total shut down of all oyster production and marketing activities involving some 150 aquaculture sites.

As of 2006, all oysters grown in suspension are considered at high risk of being contaminated with fecal coliforms. For that reason, suspended culture gear of all types can no longer be used for the mandatory depuration procedure (Prior to their marketing, all shellfish must undergo a depuration procedure which typically involves moving the animals from their culture site to an area open to shellfish harvesting, where they remain completely immerged for a period of either 14 days (with subsequent testing) or 30 days (without testing). This policy entails a new husbandry step which is quite labor intensive, i.e. that the two side-floaters be removed from the Vexar bags for a complete immersion of the bag at the depuration site. Thus the bulk of the industry is currently growing oysters using floating gear which must be converted into non-floating gear a few weeks prior to the marketing of oysters.

The industry is considering in proceeding with a low-cost modification which would convert the floating gear into anti-roosting platforms. While this option is appealing and will be investigated as part of the proposed study, it is possible that some individuals will ultimately adapt and roost on the modified-gear, albeit the numbers would be low compared to the current floating gear structures. The industry is proposing two research objectives:

  1. evaluate the bird-deterring efficiency of four experimental floating gear types, and
  2. evaluate whether the birds will use the deterring gear when no other option is made available to them.

Program Name

Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP)

Year(s)

2006 - 2008

Ecoregion(s)

Atlantic: Gulf of St. Lawrence, St. Lawrence Estuary

Principal Investigator(s)

Luc Comeau
Email: Luc.Comeau@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Culture des huîtres en poches flottantes au Nouveau-Brunswick : contrôle de l'efficacité d'engins flottants à l'épreuve des oiseaux de diverses conceptions

MG-06-04-003

Description

Au Nouveau-Brunswick, l'huître américaine (Crassostrea virginica) est cultivée principalement en poches flottantes en Vexar® . Cette technique permet de maintenir ce mollusque filtreur dans la couche de surface relativement chaude et riche en phytoplancton. Toutefois, durant l'échantillonnage régulier en septembre 2004, l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) a relevé la présence de fèces d'oiseau sur un certain nombre de poches contenant des huîtres de taille marchande, une situation jugée comme un risque inacceptable pour la santé et la sécurité. Quelques huîtres échantillonnées renfermaient des concentrations de coliformes fécaux supérieures à la norme, et l'ACIA et Environnement Canada ont recommandé que tous les sites de culture de l'huître en suspension situés dans l'est du Nouveau-Brunswick soient immédiatement fermés à la récolte. Le MPO a émis un ordre de fermeture, ce qui a résulté en l'arrêt presque total des activités de production et de commercialisation d'huîtres à quelque 150 sites ostréicoles.

À partir de 2006, toutes les huîtres cultivées en suspension sont considérées comme étant à risque élevé d'être contaminées par des coliformes fécaux. Pour cette raison, les engins de culture en suspension de tout type ne peuvent plus être utilisés pour la dépuration obligatoire (avant d'être mis en marché, tous les coquillages doivent passer par la dépuration, qui comprend typiquement leur transfert du site de culture à un secteur coquillier ouvert, où ils sont complètement submergés pendant soit 14 jours (puis soumis à des essais) ou 30 jours (sans être soumis à des essais). Cette politique nécessite une nouvelle étape d'élevage, à forte main-d'oeuvre; les deux flotteurs latéraux des poches doivent être enlevés pour qu'elles puissent être complètement submergées au site de dépuration. La plupart des ostréiculteurs utilisent des poches flottantes à l'heure actuelle, ils doivent donc les convertir en matériel submersible quelques semaines avant de commercialiser leurs huîtres.

L'industrie considère procéder à une modification peu dispendieuse des poches flottantes, qui les verrait converties en plateformes à l'épreuve des oiseaux. Bien que l'idée soit attirante et sera évaluée dans le cadre du projet, il se peut que certains oiseaux s'adapteront à ces engins modifiés et s'y percheront, encore que le nombre sera faible en comparaison de ce qu'il est aujourd'hui. Les ostréiculteurs proposent les deux objectifs de recherche suivants :

  1. évaluer l'efficacité de quatre types espérimentaux d'engins flottants pour ce qui d'éloigner les oiseaux et
  2. déterminer si les oiseaux vont se percher sur les engins modifiés en l'absence d'autres options.

Nom du programme

Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)

Année

2006 - 2008

Écorégion

Atlantique : Golfe et estuaire du Saint-Laurent

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Luc Comeau
Courriel: Luc.Comeau@dfo-mpo.gc.ca