Phytoplankton Early Warning Approaches for Salmon Farmers in Southwestern New Brunswick

MG-04-04-001

Description

When phytoplankton blooms occur in areas where salmon farming is conducted the health of the caged salmon may be compromised. This has happened several times within the past decade, especially within the Passamaquoddy and Bocabec Bay areas. The phytoplankton can cause physical damage to the gills of fish and/or introduce toxins into the fish. In either case the result may be mortality in small S0 and S1 smolts and loss of growth in all sizes of caged salmon. These effects have caused millions of dollars of lost revenue to the affected salmon farmers and insurance companies are interested in knowing what farmers are doing to mitigate potential phytoplankton related losses.

As a result of the economic consequences, the salmon farmers would like to have a monitoring approach that warns them of an upcoming potentially harmful phytoplankton event, a toolbox of mitigation actions and a table of phytoplankton species and cell concentrations that are likely to cause production losses. Warnings of hours to days are useful since farmers could act on the information by adjusting harvesting schedules, delaying the entry of smolts, adjusting feeding schedules and medication treatments.

The purpose of the proposed research is to investigate the feasibility and cost-effectiveness of several potential early warning approaches and to estimate concentration thresholds for production losses in several of the dominant harmful algal species.

Program Name

Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP)

Year(s)

2004 - 2007

Ecoregion(s)

Atlantic: Gulf of Maine, Scotian Shelf

Principal Investigator(s)

Blythe Chang
Email: Blythe.Chang@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Mécanisme de détection rapide de poussées phytoplanctoniques à l'intention des salmoniculteurs du sud-ouest du Nouveau-Brunswick

MG-04-04-001

Description

Lorsque des poussées phytoplanctoniques ont lieu à des endroits où se pratique la salmoniculture, la santé des saumons d'élevage peut être compromise. Cela s'est produit plusieurs fois au cours de la dernière décennie, en particulier dans les régions des baies Passamaquoddy et Bocabec. Le phytoplancton peut endommager les branchies du poisson et/ou y introduire des toxines. Quoi qu'il en soit, il peut en résulter une mortalité chez les petits smolts S0 et S1 et une réduction de la croissance chez les saumons d'élevage de toutes les tailles. Ces effets ont causé aux salmoniculteurs des millions de dollars de pertes de revenus et les sociétés d'assurance veulent savoir ce qu'ils font pour minimiser les pertes potentielles attribuables aux poussées phytoplanctoniques.

En raison des répercussions d'ordre économique, les salmoniculteurs aimeraient disposer d'un moyen de surveillance qui les permettrait de détecter les poussées phytoplanctoniques potentiellement nuisibles, d'une boîte à outils de mesures d'atténuation et d'un tableau des espèces de phytoplancton et des concentrations de cellules susceptibles de causer des pertes de poissons. L'avertissement d'une poussée phytoplanctonique des heures ou des jours avant qu'elle se produise permettrait aux salmoniculteurs de rajuster leur calendrier de récolte, de retarder le déversement de smolts dans les cages, ainsi que d'ajuster les heures d'alimentation et le régime d'administration des médicaments.

Le but du projet est d'établir la faisabilité et la rentabilité de plusieurs moyens potentiels de détection rapide et d'estimer les seuils de concentration de cellules des principales algues nuisibles causant des pertes de poissons.

Nom du programme

Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)

Année

2004 - 2007

Écorégion

Atlantique : Golfe du Maine, plateau néo-écossais

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Blythe Chang
Courriel: Blythe.Chang@dfo-mpo.gc.ca