Development and evaluation of standardized monitoring and data acquisition systems for the management of mollusc culture in Atlantic Canada

MG-01-06-026

Description

In 2002, the Shellfish Monitoring Network (SMN) in the southern Gulf of St. Lawrence was initiated by DFO in collaboration with the PEI Aquaculture Alliance and the Atlantic Veterinary College. The objective of this study is to develop a standardized system for monitoring shellfish productivity in culture bays. The SMN is based on the European "REMORA" monitoring network .

The protocol is simple, allowing for coverage of a large geographic area, and promoting long term viability of the network. In early spring, juvenile oysters and mussels are deployed at fixed stations throughout the Southern Gulf. Shell growth and meat content are then monitored until late autumn. At each site the animals are kept in a cage and vexar bag, positioned either on the bottom (oysters) or in the water column (mussels). Cages are deployed at locations were food supply and water flow are less likely to be influenced by farming operations, as the object is to monitor growth patterns that reflect the natural changes in the bay environment. This requires multiple cages in some bays with suspected inequities in growing conditions.

In 2002-2003 approximately 60 sites were monitored, the majority of these being located on PEI. Average shell growth rates in 2003 ranged from 0.8 to 3.3 mm/month for mussels and 0.7 to 3.8 mm/month for oysters.

In addition to the monitoring of caged animals, scuba diving surveys were conducted in multiple bays. The objective of these surveys is to measure and document husbandry practices, to see how they correlated with shellfish productivity. In 2003, a total of 59 sites were randomly chosen in 16 bays across PEI. Focusing on the 1-yr old crop, divers measured line spacing, distance between socks. Table 1 shows that the measurements differed noticeably from bay to bay.

Table 1: Results from SCUBA survey. Average sock lengths, distance between longlines (m), distance between socks (m) and sock yield (kg/sock) of all 16 bays surveyed.
Bay # Average Sock Length (m) Average Distance Between Lines (m) Average Distance Between Socks (m) Average Sock Weight (kg)
1 2.12 20.82 0.37 10.34
2 1.85 15.72 0.37 8.27
3 2.18 18.15 0.42 10.31
4 2.08 12.01 0.47 6.31
5 1.85 6.96 0.38 6.66
6 2.28 9.19 0.40 6.85
7 1.61 9.24 0.44 12.72
8 2.08 13.01 0.45 8.39
9 2.07 6.09 0.58 7.34
10 1.86 8.74 0.51 4.03
11 1.69 11.40 0.37 8.37
12 1.41 8.43 0.37 5.93
13 1.98 9.54 0.37 10.84
14 2.06 10.83 0.57 5.32
15 1.92 16.33 0.46 8.58
16 1.75 13.13 0.43 9.51
Average of All Bays 1.92 11.85 0.43 8.11

The results of both the SMN along with the SCUBA diving survey data will be made available to the growers via a web site which will be updated as new data is obtained. It is hoped that the project will lead to a better understanding of the factors controlling shellfish productivity in an aquaculture setting.

This web site will allow growers to compare the performance of their own lease with other areas to help make more informed decisions about the way they manage there aquaculture sites for increased productivity.

Program Name

Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP)

Year(s)

2001 - 2005

Ecoregion(s)

Atlantic: Gulf of Maine, Scotian Shelf

Principal Investigator(s)

Luc Comeau
Email: Luc.Comeau@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Mise au point et évaluation de systèmes normalisés de surveillance et d'acquisition de données pour la gestion de la conchyliculture au Canada atlantique

MG-01-06-026

Description

En 2002, le MPO, de concert avec la PEI Aquaculture Alliance et le Collège vétérinaire de l'Atlantique, a lancé le réseau de surveillance des mollusques (RSM) dans le sud du golfe du Saint Laurent. Cette étude vise à élaborer un système normalisé de surveillance de la productivité des mollusques dans les baies conchylicoles. Le RSM a été conçu sur le modèle du réseau de surveillance européen « REMORA » .

Le protocole est simple afin de permettre la surveillance d'une vaste zone géographique et de promouvoir la viabilité à long terme du réseau. Au début du printemps, des huîtres et des moules juvéniles sont placés à des stations fixes à divers endroits dans le sud du golfe. La croissance des coquilles et le contenu en chair sont ensuite surveillés jusqu'à la fin de l'automne. À chaque station, les organismes sont conservés dans une cage et une poche de vexar, placées sur le fond (huîtres) ou dans la colonne d'eau (moules). Compte tenu que l'objectif est de surveiller les profils de croissance qui reflètent les changements naturels qui se produisent dans les baies, les cages sont installées à des endroits où la quantité de nourriture disponible et l'écoulement de l'eau ont le moins de chances d'être modifiés par les activités conchylicoles. Dans certaines baies que l'on soupçonne de présenter des différences dans les conditions d'élevage, il est nécessaire d'utiliser plusieurs cages.

En 2002-2003, environ 60 sites ont été surveillés, la plupart à l'Î. P. É. Les taux de croissance moyens de coquille dans 2003 se sont étendus de 0.8 à 3.3 millimètres par mois pour des moules et 0.7 à 3.8 millimètres par mois pour des huîtres.

En plus de la surveillance de mollusque en cages, cette étude comprend des relevés effectués par des plongeurs dans de nombreuses baies. L'objectif de ces relevés est de recueillir des données sur les pratiques d'élevage afin de déterminer leur relation avec la productivité des mollusques. En 2003, 59 sites ont été choisis aléatoirement dans 16 baies de l'Î. P. É. Les plongeurs ont porté une attention particulière aux mollusques d'un an et ont mesuré la distance entre les filières et celle entre les boudins. Le tableau 1 montre que les résultats obtenus différaient nettement d'une baie à l'autre.

Tableau 1 - Résultats des relevés effectués par des plongeurs : longueur moyenne des boudins (m), distance moyenne entre les filières (m), distance moyenne entre les boudins (m) et productivité des boudins (kg/boudin) dans les 16 baies qui ont fait l'objet d'une surveillance.
Baie Longueur moyenne des boudins (m) Distance moyenne entre les filières (m) Distance moyenne entre les boudins (m) Poids moyen des boudins (kg/boudin)
1 2.12 20.82 0.37 10.34
2 1.85 15.72 0.37 8.27
3 2.18 18.15 0.42 10.31
4 2.08 12.01 0.47 6.31
5 1.85 6.96 0.38 6.66
6 2.28 9.19 0.40 6.85
7 1.61 9.24 0.44 12.72
8 2.08 13.01 0.45 8.39
9 2.07 6.09 0.58 7.34
10 1.86 8.74 0.51 4.03
11 1.69 11.40 0.37 8.37
12 1.41 8.43 0.37 5.93
13 1.98 9.54 0.37 10.84
14 2.06 10.83 0.57 5.32
15 1.92 16.33 0.46 8.58
16 1.75 13.13 0.43 9.51
Moyenne pour toutes les baies 1.92 11.85 0.43 8.11

Les conchyliculteurs pourront consulter les résultats du RSM et des relevés effectués par des plongeurs sur un site Web qui sera mis à jour à mesure que de nouvelles données seront disponibles. Il est à souhaiter que le projet permette d'approfondir les connaissances sur les facteurs qui influent sur la productivité des mollusques d'élevage.

Ce site Web permettra aux conchyliculteurs de comparer le rendement de leur concession à celui dans d'autres zones afin de leur permettre de prendre des décisions plus éclairées relatives à la gestion de leur site aquacole pour en augmenter la productivité.

Nom du programme

Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)

Année

2001 - 2005

Écorégion

Atlantique : Golfe du Maine, plateau néo-écossais

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Luc Comeau
Courriel: Luc.Comeau@dfo-mpo.gc.ca