Language selection

Search

Monitoring variability of environmental factors impacting tunicate infestation on coastal shellfish farms in Nova Scotia

M-13-01-002

Description

The establishment of the solitary vase tunicate (Ciona intestinalis), an invasive species in the waters of Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island, has negatively impacted mussel farm productivity in these areas. Vase tunicates grow in dense groups on mussel ropes, nets and the mussels themselves. Aside from competing with mussels for space and potentially food, fouled gear is much more difficult to handle (during harvesting for example) and can result in crop losses. Tunicates must be removed following harvesting and in heavily fouled sites they must be removed at least once before harvest, which is both a time and resource-intensive process. Despite the various management techniques in use (e.g., pressure washing, brine dips, liming, UV treatment, electric shocks), once established, vase tunicates are sufficiently persistent that their presence has become a serious hindrance to the mussel industry, and in extreme cases has cost farmers their businesses. The spatial distribution of the vase tunicate is highly heterogeneous and could be the result of variation in environmental factors between sites.

This project will examine the effect of variability of environmental factors (e.g., salinity, temperature, pH, and water movement) on the establishment and proliferation of vase tunicates. Results from this study may suggest an environmental factor to be used as an indicator to assess aquaculture sites (either current or future proposed sites) for their risk of tunicate infestation and inform siting decisions made by the government. This study may also help reduce further spread of this invasive species and the need for control treatments through the identification of sites less vulnerable to tunicate infestation.

This project supports the environmental performance objective of the Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP), pertaining to the 2013-14 national ACRDP priority to evaluate the impact of the environment on shellfish aquaculture operations through the increase of the knowledge and understanding of how aquaculture shellfish operations interact with the environment.

Program Name

Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP)

Year(s)

2013 - 2015

Ecoregion(s)

Atlantic: Gulf of Maine, Scotian Shelf

Principal Investigator(s)

Dawn Sephton
Email: Dawn.Sephton@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Collaborative Partner(s)

Aquaculture Association of Nova Scotia

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Surveillance de la variabilité des facteurs environnementaux ayant des répercussions sur l’infestation par les ascidies dans les installations conchylicoles en milieu côtier de la Nouvelle-Écosse

M-13-01-002

Description

L’apparition de l’ascidie jaune solitaire (Ciona intestinalis) dans les eaux de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard a eu des répercussions négatives sur la productivité des installations mytilicoles. L’ascidie jaune croît en agrégations denses sur les lignes, les filets et les moules. Il y a certes le problème de la compétition avec les moules pour l’espace, voire la nourriture, mais la salissure des engins est beaucoup plus difficile à traiter et peut entraîner des pertes de récoltes. Les ascidies doivent être enlevées après la récolte et, dans les sites fortement touchés, on doit les éliminer au moins une fois avant la récolte. Il s’agit d’un processus long qui nécessite beaucoup de ressources. Malgré les diverses techniques de gestion utilisées (p. ex., lavage sous pression, trempage dans la saumure, chaulage, traitement aux rayons ultraviolets, décharges électriques), une fois que les ascidies jaunes sont établies, elles sont si persistantes que leur présence est devenue un obstacle considérable pour l’industrie mytilicole. Dans les cas extrêmes, elles ont forcé les mytiliculteurs à stopper leurs opérations. Cependant, la répartition spatiale de l’ascidie jaune est très hétérogène, et ce phénomène pourrait être attribuable à la variation des facteurs environnementaux d’un site à l’autre.

Ce projet permettra d’examiner l’effet de la variabilité des facteurs environnementaux (p.ex., la salinité, la température, l’acidité [pH] et la circulation de l’eau) sur l’installation et la prolifération des ascidies jaunes. Les résultats de cette étude pourraient faire émerger un mécanisme d’évaluation des sites d’aquaculture (sites déjà exploités ou projets d’exploitation) qui permettrait de connaître leur risque d’infestation par les ascidies et de fournir au gouvernement de l'information à prendre en compte au moment de décider de l’emplacement des sites. Cette étude pourrait également aider à réduire à la fois la propagation de cette espèce envahissante et la nécessité d’appliquer des traitements antiparasitaires.

Ce projet appuie l’objectif du PCRDA en ce qui concerne le rendement environnemental, dans la mesure où il correspond à la priorité nationale visant l’évaluation des effets écologiques sur les activités de conchyliculture grâce à l’amélioration de nos connaissances et de notre compréhension des interactions entre les activités de conchyliculture et l’environnement.

Nom du programme

Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)

Année

2013 - 2015

Écorégion

Atlantique : Golfe du Maine, plateau néo-écossais

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Dawn Sephton
Courriel: Dawn.Sephton@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Partenaires collaboratifs

Aquaculture Association of Nova Scotia