Acoustic monitoring of wild fish interactions with aquaculture sites

17-P-01

Description

The sustainability of the BC salmon aquaculture industry is widely questioned due to concerns related to the potential risk posed by farmed salmon to wild salmon. Building on previous ARCDP project P-14-01-001 Migration timing and distribution of juvenile salmon in Discovery Islands and Johnstone Strait, this project is aiming at understanding the ecological interactions between wild and farmed salmon by determining the distribution and duration of juvenile salmon migration in the Discovery Islands and Johnstone Strait area and monitoring wild salmon’s interactions with aquaculture facilities.

The current project will monitor the activity of wild fish in the direct vicinity of aquaculture sites, continue monitoring wild salmon migration in Okisollo channel, perform fishing experiments, and complete detailed analyses of the collected acoustic data. The results from this project will contribute to address critical uncertainties and recommendations with respect to: 1) marine survival in their early marine life; 2) disease transfer and interactions between wild and farm salmon; and 3) assessing the cumulative impacts of multiple stressors on Fraser River Sockeye Salmon productivity.

This project will address understanding the migratory pathways of wild salmon and the duration of their residency in the vicinity of fish farms. The understanding of the prevalence of pathogens and the disease within wild and farmed populations, along with the overall physiological well-being and the health of wild populations, would help assess the risk associated with microbe transfer between farmed and wild hosts. This research in combination with the other funded projects on this topic will greatly improve our understanding in all of these areas.

Program name

Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP)

Years

1-year project

Principal investigator

Stéphane Gauthier, Research Scientist, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Institute of Ocean Sciences, Pacific Region
Email: Stephane.Gauthier@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Team members

Stewart Johnson, Research Scientist, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Pacific Biological Station, Pacific Region
Chrys Neville, Biologist, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Pacific Biological Station, Pacific Region
Marc Trudel, Research Scientist, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, St. Andrews Biological Station, Maritimes Region

Collaborators

Barry Milligan, Fish Health Director and Veterinarian, Cermaq Canada Ltd.
Sharon DeDominicis, Director, Marine Harvest Canada Limited

Surveillance acoustique des interactions entre les poissons sauvages et les sites d'aquaculture

17-P-01

Description

La durabilité de la salmoniculture en Colombie-Britannique est largement remise en question en raison des préoccupations liées au risque potentiel posé par le saumon d'élevage pour le saumon sauvage. En se basant sur le projet P-14-01-001 du PCRDA intitulé Habitudes temporelles migratoires et distribution du salmonidé juvénile dans les îles Discovery et dans le détroit de Johnstone, ce projet vise à comprendre les interactions écologiques entre les saumons sauvages et d'élevage en déterminant la répartition et la durée de la migration des salmonidés juvéniles dans les îles Discovery et le détroit de Johnstone ainsi qu'en surveillant les interactions des saumons sauvages avec les installations d'aquaculture.

Le projet permettra de surveiller l'activité des poissons sauvages à proximité des sites aquacoles, de poursuivre la surveillance de la migration du saumon sauvage dans le chenal Okisollo, de réaliser des expériences de pêche et d'effectuer des analyses détaillées des données acoustiques recueillies. Les résultats de ce projet aideront à éliminer d'importantes incertitudes et à formuler des recommandations concernant : 1) le taux de survie lors des premiers stades de leur vie marine; 2) la transmission de maladies et les interactions entre les saumons sauvages et d'élevage; 3) l'évaluation des effets cumulatifs de plusieurs facteurs de stress sur la productivité du saumon rouge du fleuve Fraser.

Ce projet vise à comprendre les voies migratoires du saumon sauvage et la durée de sa résidence à proximité des exploitations aquacoles. La compréhension de la prévalence des agents pathogènes et des maladies chez les populations sauvages et d'élevage, ainsi que du bien-être physiologique et de la santé en général des populations sauvages, aidera à évaluer les risques associés à la transmission de microbes entre les saumons d'élevage et les hôtes sauvages. En combinaison avec les autres projets financés sur ce sujet, cette recherche améliorera grandement notre compréhension globale dans ces domaines.

Nom du programme

Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)

Années

Projet d'un an

Chercheur principal

Stéphane Gauthier, chercheur, Pêches et Océans Canada, Institut des sciences de la mer, Région du Pacifique
Courriel : Stephane.Gauthier@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Membres de l'équipe

Stewart Johnson, chercheur, Pêches et Océans Canada, Station biologique du Pacifique, Région du Pacifique
Chrys Neville, biologiste, Pêches et Océans Canada, Station biologique du Pacifique, Région du Pacifique
Marc Trudel, chercheur, Pêches et Océans Canada, Station biologique de St. Andrews, Région des Maritimes

Collaborateurs

Barry Milligan, Directeur de la santé des poissons et vétérinaire, Cermaq Canada Ltd.
Sharon DeDominicis, Directrice, Marine Harvest Canada Limited