Language selection

Search

Develop diagnostic markers to assess mussel population health in response to environmental stress

16-1-G-04

Description

This project will use modern genomic techniques to better enable mussel farmers to identify “stressors” impacting their crop’s health. The research will seek to identify genetic markers for various stress responses in mussels which may result in poor performance (growth). These markers can then be used to investigate the causes of stress within underperforming mussel populations and develop mitigating strategies to minimize the impacts of the underlying environmental/mechanical stressors on the long term viability of the mussel aquaculture industry in Prince Edward Island.

This project is focused on generating better tools to enable the aquaculture industry to determine and analyse the stressors that impact cultured blue mussels and what effects these stressors can have on mussel condition and health. Maintaining healthy populations is of vital importance to the aquaculture industry and this project aims to be proactive in managing health issues that may arise for cultured shellfish species in relation to climate change (water temperature and pH), tunicate treatment (high pressure water spray and hydrated lime) and other environmental stressors (food availability, hypoxia, and salinity).

The overall benefit of this project will be a proactive approach in providing insight and direction to the aquaculture industry in terms of adapting, controlling, or mitigating against the impacts related to environmental and other stressors in efforts to achieve optimal condition and health of cultured mussels.

Program name

Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP)

Years

4-year project

Principal investigator

Denise Méthé
Aquatic Research Biologist, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Gulf Fisheries Centre, Gulf Region
Email: Denise.Methe@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Team members

  • Sarah Stewart-Clark, Dalhousie University, Faculty of Agriculture
  • Stephanie Hall, Dalhousie University, Faculty of Agriculture
  • Carla Hicks, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Gulf Fisheries Centre, Gulf Region
  • Fraser Clark, Mount Allison University

Collaborators

  • Peter Warris, Prince Edward Island Aquaculture Alliance
Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Élaboration de marqueurs diagnostiques pour évaluer la santé d’une population de moules en réponse à un stress environnemental

16-1-G-04

Description

Ce projet vise à utiliser des techniques génomiques modernes pour aider les mytiliculteurs à déterminer les « agents de stress » ayant un effet sur la santé de leurs moules. Ce projet de recherche visera à identifier les marqueurs génétiques liés aux différentes réactions au stress chez les moules qui peuvent entraîner une mauvaise performance (croissance). Ces marqueurs peuvent ensuite être utilisés pour rechercher les causes de stress dans les populations de moules peu performantes et élaborer des stratégies d'atténuation afin de minimiser les impacts des agents de stress environnementaux/mécaniques sous-jacents sur la viabilité à long terme de la mytiliculture à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Ce projet se concentre sur la création de meilleurs outils qui permettront à l'industrie aquacole de déterminer et d'analyser les agents de stress qui ont un impact sur les moules bleues d'élevage et les effets que ces agents de stress peuvent avoir sur l'état et la santé des moules. Il est essentiel pour l'industrie aquacole de préserver la santé des populations et ce projet vise à être proactif dans la gestion des problèmes de santé susceptibles d'apparaître chez les espèces de mollusques d'élevage conséquemment au changement climatique (température et pH de l'eau), aux traitements contre les tuniciers (pulvérisation d'eau à haute pression et chaux hydratée) et aux autres agents de stress environnementaux (disponibilité des aliments, hypoxie et salinité).

Ce projet a l'avantage d'offrir une approche proactive visant à fournir une approche et une orientation à l'industrie aquacole en ce qui concerne l'adaptation aux impacts des agents de stress environnementaux et autres, de leur contrôle ou de leur atténuation en vue de maintenir les moules d'élevage dans un état de santé optimal.

Nom du programme

Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)

Année

Projet de quatre ans

Chercheur principal

Denise Méthé
Biologiste en recherche aquatique, Pêches et Océans Canada, Centre des pêches du Golfe, Région du Golfe
Courriel: Denise.Methe@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Membres de l'équipe

  • Sarah Stewart-Clark, Dalhousie University, Faculté d'agriculture
  • Stephanie Hall, Dalhousie University, Faculté d'agriculture
  • Carla Hicks, Pêches et Océans Canada, Centre des pêches du Golfe, Région du Golfe
  • Fraser Clark, Université Mount Allison

Collaborateurs

  • Peter Warris, Prince Edward Island Aquaculture Alliance