Language selection

Search

Passive protection of mussel production through use of exclusion cages to prevent duck predation in the Gaspé (QC)

15-1-Q-01

Description

Migrating ducks that feed on farmed mussels are the cause of significant economic losses for the mussel aquaculture industry, and current deterrent systems are becoming increasingly ineffective at keeping the ducks away. The aquaculture industry in Chaleur Bay, Québec normally uses self-regulating mussel collector techniques. It is believed that mussels grown in this way would be best protected from diving ducks by deploying a passive, physical deterrent system of underwater duck exclusion cages around the mussels.

The project aims to develop protective cage prototypes made with common and locally available materials to keep costs as low as possible. It will determine the optimal type of netting to prevent duck bycatch and biofouling, while measuring the effectiveness of the exclusion cages in preventing duck predation compared to the traditional methods used for self-regulating mussel collectors.

The results of this project will increase the knowledge surrounding diving duck predation on mussel farms in Québec (and elsewhere) and how this impact may be responsibly mitigated while adhering to the Migratory Birds Convention Act (1994). The results will also economically improve the standing of the Québec mussel industry and provide the industry and authorized management bodies with effective and conservation-oriented mitigation tools, thus benefitting the mussel aquaculture industry as a whole to better understand and mitigate potential wild-farmed interactions concerning duck predation to improve the sustainability of the shellfish culture industry.

Program Name

Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP)

Year(s)

2015 - 2017

Principal Investigator(s)

Chris McKindsey
Researcher, Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Maurice Lamontagne Institute, Québec Region
Email: Chris.McKindsey@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Team Member(s)

Andréa Weise, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Maurice Lamontagne Institute, Québec Region

François Roy, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Maurice Lamontagne Institute, Québec Region

Annick Drouin, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Maurice Lamontagne Institute, Québec Region

Élisabeth Varennes, University of Québec at Rimouski

Collaborative Partner(s)

Éric Bujold, La Ferme Maricole du Grand Large

Manon Deslauriers, Moules Tracadigash Inc.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Protection passive de la production de moules grâce à l'utilisation de cages d'exclusion afin d'empêcher la prédation par les canards en Gaspésie (Québec)

15-1-Q-01

Description

Les canards migrateurs qui se nourrissent de moules d'élevage sont la cause de pertes économiques importantes pour l'industrie de la mytiliculture, et les systèmes de dissuasion actuels parviennent de moins en moins à tenir les canards à l'écart. L'industrie de l'aquaculture dans la Baie-des-Chaleurs, au Québec, utilise normalement des collecteurs de moules autorégulateurs. On croit que les moules élevées de cette façon seraient mieux protégées contre les canards plongeurs grâce au déploiement d'un système de dissuasion physique passif, constitué de cages d'exclusion des canards placées sous l'eau autour des moules.

Le projet vise à développer des prototypes de cages protectrices faites de matériaux communs et disponibles localement afin de maintenir les coûts à un niveau aussi faible que possible. Il permettra de déterminer le type optimal de filets à utiliser pour prévenir les prises accidentelles de canards et les biosalissures, tout en mesurant l'efficacité des cages d'exclusion pour ce qui est d'empêcher la prédation par les canards comparativement aux méthodes traditionnelles utilisées pour les collecteurs de moules autorégulateurs.

Les résultats de ce projet permettront d'améliorer les connaissances sur la prédation par les canards plongeurs dans les moulières du Québec (et d'ailleurs), et de voir comment ce problème pourrait être atténué de manière responsable tout en respectant la Loi sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs (1994). En outre, les résultats permettront d'améliorer la position économique de l'industrie mytilicole du Québec et fourniront à l'industrie et aux organismes de gestion autorisés des outils d'atténuation efficaces et axés sur la conservation, profitant à l'industrie de la mytiliculture dans son ensemble, qui sera ainsi en mesure de mieux comprendre et d'atténuer les interactions potentielles entre les espèces sauvages et d'élevage liées à la prédation par les canards, afin de renforcer la durabilité de l'industrie de la conchyliculture.

Nom du programme

Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)

Année

2015 - 2017

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Chris McKindsey
Chercheur, Pêches et Océans Canada
Institut Maurice-Lamontagne, Région du Québec
Courriel: Chris.McKindsey@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Membres de l'équipe

Andréa Weise, Pêches et Océans Canada, Institut Maurice-Lamontagne, Région du Québec

François Roy, Pêches et Océans Canada, Institut Maurice-Lamontagne, Région du Québec

Annick Drouin, Pêches et Océans Canada, Institut Maurice-Lamontagne, Région du Québec

Élisabeth Varennes, Université du Québec à Rimouski

Partenaires collaboratifs

Éric Bujold, La Ferme Maricole du Grand Large

Manon Deslauriers, Moules Tracadigash Inc.