Language selection

Search

A study of the reproductive patterns of the blue mussel, Mytilus edulis grown in deep and shallow water sites in Notre Dame Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador

15-1-N-03

Description

Notre Dame Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador, traditionally uses shallow water sites for mussel aquaculture, but changing spawning patterns have had a direct effect on sustainability. Offshore and deeper sites might provide a more stable deep water environment that might help to reduce physical/environmental factors (such as mitigating temperature/salinity changes, less mechanical/wave disturbance, or different concentrations of phytoplankton) thought to influence the frequency of spawning events. Offshore sites would also have lesser impacts on the benthic environment, enabling enhanced environmental sustainability.

ACRDP project NL-12-01-001’s preliminary results have suggested that: blue mussels from deep water sites can show improved conditions versus shallow water sites; spawning events are more infrequent and predictable; and meat yield is maintained.

This project will document, characterize, and compare the gonadal development in mussels cultured in deep vs. shallow water sites to determine differences in spawning frequency. The project will also monitor environmental factors that might affect gonadal development in blue mussels.

Results from this project will assist the mussel industry to enhance environmentally responsible operations by optimizing the utilization of resources on leases. Industry will be provided with important information on the reproductive condition and patterns of farmed mussels, leading to better overall management. The success of this project would also help reduce the impact of mussel farming on near-shore environment.

Program Name

Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP)

Year(s)

2015 - 2017

Principal Investigator(s)

Dr. Harry Murray
Research Scientist, Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre, Newfoundland and Labrador Region
Email: Harry.Murray@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Team Member(s)

Sharon Kenny, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre, Newfoundland and Labrador Region

Dwight Drover, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre, Newfoundland and Labrador Region

Collaborative Partner(s)

Terry Mills, Norlantic Processors Ltd.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Une étude des comportements de reproduction de la moule bleue (Mytilus edulis) élevée dans des sites d'eau profonde et peu profonde dans la baie Notre Dame, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

15-1-N-03

Description

La baie Notre Dame, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, offre habituellement des sites d'eau peu profonde pour la mytiliculture, mais les comportements de frai changeants ont un effet direct sur la durabilité. Les sites au large des côtes et plus profonds peuvent offrir un milieu en eau profonde plus stable qui peut permettre de réduire les facteurs physiques et environnementaux (comme l'atténuation des changements de température/de la salinité, moins de perturbations mécaniques/causées par les vagues, ou différentes concentrations de phytoplancton) censés influencer la fréquence des événements de frai. Les sites au large des côtes auraient également des répercussions moins importantes sur le milieu benthique, favorisant la durabilité environnementale.

Les résultats préliminaires du projet du PCRDA NL-12-01-001 suggèrent que les moules bleues des sites d'eau profonde bénéficient de meilleures conditions que les moules bleues des sites d'eau peu profonde; les événements de frai sont plus ponctuels et prévisibles; et le rendement en chair est maintenu.

Ce projet permettra de documenter, de caractériser et de comparer le développement des gonades des moules élevées dans des sites d'eau profonde par rapport à celui des moules élevées dans des sites d'eau peu profonde afin de déterminer les différences en termes de fréquence du frai. Le projet permettra également de surveiller les facteurs environnementaux qui peuvent affecter le développement des gonades des moules bleues.

Les résultats issus de ce projet permettront à l'industrie de la moule d'améliorer les pratiques respectueuses de l’environnement en optimisant l'utilisation des ressources des concessions. L'industrie recevra des renseignements importants sur les conditions et les comportements de reproduction des moules d'élevage, favorisant la gestion générale. Le succès de ce projet permettra également de limiter les répercussions de la mytiliculture sur le milieu littoral.

Nom du programme

Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)

Année

2015 - 2017

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Dr Harry Murray
Chercheur, Pêches et Océans Canada
Centre des pêches de l'Atlantique nord-ouest, Région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Courriel: Harry.Murray@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Membres de l'équipe

Sharon Kenny, Pêches et Océans Canada, Centre des pêches de l'Atlantique nord-ouest, Région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Dwight Drover, Pêches et Océans Canada, Centre des pêches de l'Atlantique nord-ouest, Région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Partenaires collaboratifs

Terry Mills, Norlantic Processors Ltd.