Language selection

Search

Assessing the effect of climate-change-related summer heat wave on the condition and physiology of the cultured blue mussel (Mytilus edulis) and monitoring of the carbonate system within Prince Edward Island bays

15-1-G-02

Description

Climate change is an issue that will impact the shellfish aquaculture industry in Atlantic Canada. There are a number of questions related to the impact of the physical effects of climate change on the environment (such as ocean acidification) in which the shellfish aquaculture industry operates, and consequently the health and health management of farmed animals.

This project will quantify the physiological stress (shellfish health impact) associated with increased water temperature for extended periods of time. In relation to ocean acidification, parameters of the carbonate system will be measured within the shellfish aquaculture environment to assess current levels. Results from this project will offer guidance on maintaining healthy mussel populations in the face of climate change and sustainable management of shellfish aquaculture in the present and future.

Program Name

Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP)

Year(s)

2015 - 2018

Principal Investigator(s)

Carla Hicks
Aquatic Science Biologist, Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Gulf Fisheries Centre, Gulf Region
Email: Carla.Hicks@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Team Member(s)

Luc Comeau, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Gulf Fisheries Centre, Gulf Region

Aaron Ramsay, Department of Agriculture and Fisheries, PEI

Kumiko Azetsu-Scott, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Bedford Institute of Oceanography, Maritimes Region

Sarah Stewart-Clark, Dalhousie University, Faculty of Aquaculture

Collaborative Partner(s)

Peter Warris, Prince Edward Island Aquaculture Alliance

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Évaluation de l'effet de la vague de chaleur estivale liée au changement climatique sur l'état et la physiologie de la moule bleue (Mytilus edulis) d'élevage, et surveillance du système de carbonate dans les baies de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

15-1-G-02

Description

Le changement climatique est un enjeu qui aura une incidence sur l'industrie de la conchyliculture dans le Canada atlantique. Un certain nombre de questions sont soulevées concernant les répercussions des effets physiques du changement climatique sur l'environnement (comme l'acidification des océans) dans lequel l'industrie de la conchyliculture mène ses activités et, par conséquent, sur la santé et la gestion de la santé des animaux d'élevage.

Ce projet permettra de quantifier le stress physiologique (incidence sur la santé des mollusques et crustacés) associé à l'augmentation de la température de l'eau durant des périodes prolongées. En ce qui a trait à l'acidification des océans, les paramètres du système de carbonate seront mesurés dans l'environnement de la conchyliculture, afin d'évaluer les niveaux actuels. Les résultats de ce projet permettront d'offrir des orientations pour maintenir des populations de moules en santé dans le contexte des changements climatiques et pour assurer la gestion durable de la conchyliculture dans le présent et dans l'avenir.

Nom du programme

Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)

Année

2015 - 2018

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Carla Hicks
Biologiste des sciences aquatiques, Pêches et Océans Canada
Centre des pêches du Golfe, Région du Golfe
Courriel: Carla.Hicks@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Membres de l'équipe

Luc Comeau, Pêches et Océans Canada, Centre des pêches du Golfe, Région du Golfe

Aaron Ramsay, ministère de l'Agriculture et des Pêches, Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Kumiko Azetsu-Scott, Pêches et Océans Canada, Institut océanographique de Bedford, Région des Maritimes

Sarah Stewart-Clark, Université Dalhousie, Faculté des sciences de l’aquaculture

Partenaires collaboratifs

Peter Warris, Prince Edward Island Aquaculture Alliance