Sustainable Aquaculture Program, 2008-2013

In 2008, the Government of Canada provided $70 million for a five-year Sustainable Aquaculture Program to enhance the sustainable development of Canada’s aquaculture industry. The Program consisted of four interrelated areas of work through which Fisheries and Oceans Canada was able to strengthen regulatory reform and governance, broaden aquaculture science research, advance sustainability reporting, and develop a Canadian approach to certification and traceability. Innovation across the sector was also supported through the Aquaculture Innovation and Market Access Program. There were many significant results and achievements:

Governance and Regulatory Reform

Federal, provincial and territorial aquaculture regulations and policies were streamlined with regards to environmental aspects of farm-site review processes, ongoing regulatory management, and regulatory amendments. A regulatory risk-management framework, new policies, and tools to guide and set parameters for the industry were also developed. These changes resulted in improved regulatory management for the sector’s sustainability, reduced regulatory burden on companies, and increased investor, market and public confidence in the environmental performance of the sector.

Regulatory Science

The Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Reform (PARR) funded high-priority aquaculture regulatory research undertaken by departmental researchers. The knowledge derived from this research supported federal, provincial and territorial requirements associated with the development of the framework for aquaculture environmental management. This funding also increased the development of science advice through peer-reviewed workshops and papers (such as the Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat (CSAS) process) and through other science workshops that informed aquaculture regulatory management, policy development and decision making.

Innovation

Investments made across Canada through the Aquaculture Innovation and Market Access Program (AIMAP) assisted the industry in continuous development and adoption of innovative technologies and management techniques to enhance its global competiveness and environmental performance. Over the five years of the program, Fisheries and Oceans Canada contributed $23.2 million to 163 projects for a total project value of $ 113.1 million. Project final reports are available at: Project Overviews.

Certification and Market Access

Under the Aquaculture Sustainability Reporting Initiative (ASRI), Fisheries and Oceans Canada worked in collaboration with federal partners, provincial governments, industry, non-governmental organizations, and others to document conditions and trends in Canada’s aquaculture sector to produce a report that documented conditions and trends: Aquaculture in Canada 2012: A Report on Aquaculture Sustainability.

An approach to certification and market access was also developed to support the Canadian aquaculture sector to be in line with the broader fish, seafood and agriculture sectors, international markets, and competitor trends. As a result of the Program, industry and governments became more aware of the need to demonstrate sustainability through third-party certification and traceability, and companies were well positioned to take part in these initiatives.

Programme d'aquaculture durable, 2008-2013

En 2008, le gouvernement du Canada a accordé un financement de 70 millions de dollars sur cinq ans au Programme d'aquaculture durable. Dans le cadre du Programme, qui visait quatre domaines de travail interreliés, Pêches et Océans Canada a pu renforcer la réforme réglementaire et la gouvernance; étendre la portée des recherches scientifiques en lien avec l'aquaculture; mettre de l'avant l'établissement de rapports sur la durabilité; définir l'approche du Canada en matière de certification et de traçabilité. De plus, le Programme d’innovation en aquaculture et d’accès au marché favorisait les projets novateurs dans le domaine. Ci-après sont présentés les réalisations et les résultats importants dans les quatre volets du Programme.

Réforme réglementaire et gouvernance

Les politiques et règlements fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux ont été simplifiés en ce qui concerne les aspects environnementaux associés aux processus d’examen sur les sites d'exploitation, la gestion de la réglementation et les modifications réglementaires. Un cadre de gestion des risques liés aux règlements, de nouvelles politiques et des outils pour orienter l'industrie et établir des paramètres pour cette dernière ont également été créés. Il résulte de ces changements une meilleure gestion de la réglementation à l'égard de la durabilité du secteur, un fardeau moins grand pour les entreprises, ainsi qu'une confiance accrue du public, du marché et des investisseurs envers le rendement environnemental de l'aquaculture.

Travaux scientifiques à l'appui de la réglementation

Des recherches hautement prioritaires sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture, menées par des scientifiques du Ministère, ont été financées par l'intermédiaire du Programme de recherche sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture (PRRA). Les connaissances résultant de ces recherches contribuent à répondre aux exigences des gouvernements fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux qui sont associées à l'élaboration du cadre de gestion de l'environnement aquacole. Le financement a aussi contribué à accroître la rédaction d'avis scientifiques par l'intermédiaire d'ateliers et d'articles évalués par les pairs (comme le Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique (SCCS), mais aussi dans le cadre d'autres ateliers scientifiques qui ont aidé à la gestion de la réglementation, à l'élaboration de politiques et à la prise de décisions.

Innovation

Les investissements réalisés partout au Canada par l'intermédiaire du Programme d’innovation en aquaculture et d’accès au marché (PIAAM) ont aidé l'industrie à concevoir et à adopter continuellement des technologies novatrices et des techniques de gestion lui permettant d'être plus concurrentielle et d'améliorer son rendement environnemental. Au cours des cinq années du Programme, Pêches et Océans Canada a versé 23,2 millions de dollars à 163 projets, projets dont la valeur totale s'élève à 113,1 millions de dollars. Les rapports définitifs des projets peuvent être consultés à la page Aperçu des projets.

Certification et accès au marché

Dans le cadre de l'initiative de rapports sur la durabilité de l’aquaculture (IRDA), Pêches et Océans Canada s'est uni à des partenaires fédéraux, des gouvernements provinciaux, des joueurs de l'industrie, des organisations non gouvernementales et divers autres intervenants pour répertorier les conditions et les tendances dans l'industrie de l'aquaculture au Canada. Il a résulté de ce travail collectif le rapport suivant : L'aquaculture an Canada 2012 : un rapport sur la durabilité de l'aquaculture.

Une approche à l'égard de la certification et de l'accès au marché a également été élaborée, afin que l'industrie de l'aquaculture au Canada harmonise son approche avec les tendances dans les industries de l'agriculture, du poisson et des fruits de mer, des marchés internationaux et de la concurrence. Grâce au Programme, l'industrie et les gouvernements ont pu saisir l'importance de démontrer la durabilité de l'aquaculture au moyen d'une certification par une tierce partie et de mécanismes de traçabilité, sans compter qu'il a aidé les entreprises à prendre les mesures nécessaires pour pouvoir participer aux initiatives.