Aboriginal Aquaculture in Canada Initiative

Learn how the Aboriginal Aquaculture in Canada Initiative supported Indigenous communities from April 2013 to March 2018.

This program is no longer active. Information on current funding and support for Aboriginal aquaculture can now be accessed through the Northern Integrated Commercial Fisheries Initiative.

On this page

Strategic Partnership Initiative funds

Fisheries and Oceans Canada led the delivery of the Aboriginal Aquaculture in Canada Initiative from April 2013 to March 2018. Together with Indigenous organizations, this 5-year program allowed us to increase Indigenous participation in the aquaculture sector. We supported Indigenous communities and entrepreneurs by:

The Strategic Partnerships Initiative funded this program. Each dollar they invested received an additional $1.92 from other programs and project supporters. The total project value was $6.83 million.

Business development teams

The Strategic Partnership Initiative invested $4.32 million over 5 years to support regional aquaculture business development teams. We established 3 of these teams to identify opportunities and provide business development services to 170 Indigenous communities.

These teams organized and participated in 24 workshops and 51 meetings to:

The teams also helped prepare reports and studies, including:

They also worked on strategic plans and business development plans.

Projects

The Strategic Partnership Initiative also invested $2.33 million to support 90 Indigenous aquaculture projects, including:

Job creation

The initiative’s overall investment supported job creation, including:

Aboriginal Aquaculture Engagement Initiative

The Aboriginal Aquaculture in Canada Initiative builds on the Aboriginal Aquaculture Engagement Initiative, which is now concluded. Its aim was to help increase Indigenous engagement in aquaculture. We partnered with Indigenous organizations across Canada, hearing comments at 20 meetings and at the second National Aboriginal Fisheries Forum.

Through the initiative, we found that a significant and growing number of Indigenous communities are interested in aquaculture opportunities. Representatives want to be meaningfully engaged in:

Initiative d’aquaculture autochtone au Canada

Découvrez comment cette initiative en matière d’aquaculture a soutenu les communautés autochtones d’avril 2013 à mars 2018.

Ce programme n'est plus actif. Obtenez de l'information sur le financement et le soutien actuels de l'aquaculture autochtone par l'Initiative des pêches commerciales intégrées du Nord.

Sur cette page

Fonds de l’Initiative de partenariats stratégiques

Pêches et Océans Canada a dirigé la mise en œuvre de l’Initiative d’aquaculture autochtone au Canada d’avril 2013 à mars 2018. Ce programme de 5 ans nous a permis de collaborer avec des organisations autochtones pour accroître la participation autochtone dans le secteur de l’aquaculture. Nous avons soutenu les communautés et les entrepreneurs autochtones en :

L’Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques a financé ce programme. Pour chaque dollar investi dans le cadre de l’initiative, 1,92 $ supplémentaire a été versé par d’autres programmes et défenseurs du projet. La valeur totale du projet s’élevait à 6,83 millions de dollars.

Équipes de développement d’entreprises

L’Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques a investi 4,32 millions de dollars sur une période de 5 ans. Cet investissement visait à soutenir les équipes régionales de développement d’entreprises dans le domaine de l’aquaculture. Nous avons formé 3 de ces équipes pour cerner les possibilités et fournir des services de développement d’entreprises à 170 communautés autochtones.

Ces équipes ont organisé 24 ateliers et 51 réunions, et y ont participé, afin de :

Elles ont également contribué à la préparation de rapports et d’études, dont :

De plus, les équipes ont travaillé sur des plans stratégiques et des plans de développement d’entreprises.

Projets

L’Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques a aussi investi 2,33 millions de dollars pour soutenir 90 projets d’aquaculture autochtones, dont :

Création d'emplois

L’investissement global de l’initiative a contribué à la création d’emplois, dont :

Initiative de mobilisation de l’aquaculture autochtone

L’Initiative d’aquaculture autochtone au Canada s’appuie sur l’Initiative de mobilisation de l'aquaculture autochtone, qui a pris fin. L’initiative de mobilisation avait pour but d’encourager la participation des Autochtones à l’aquaculture. Nous avons travaillé avec des organisations autochtones de partout au Canada. Nous avons entendu les commentaires des participants à 20 réunions ainsi qu’au deuxième Forum national sur les pêches autochtones.

Cette initiative nous a permis de constater qu’un nombre considérable et grandissant de communautés autochtones s’intéresse aux possibilités offertes par l’aquaculture. Les représentants désirent participer de manière significative à la :

Liens connexes