Regulating and monitoring British Columbia’s marine finfish aquaculture facilities 2017

Download the alternate format (PDF)

Published: 2017

DFO/2018-2009

Fs141-3E-PDF

ISBN: 2561-6625

Purpose

This report, Regulating and Monitoring British Columbia’s Marine Finfish Aquaculture Facilities 2017, provides an overview of the marine finfish aquaculture industry’s performance in meeting the regulatory requirements under the Pacific Aquaculture Regulations and the Aquaculture Activities Regulations. DFO produces this publication on an annual basis to increase information available on industry’s performance in meeting conditions of licence and on DFO’s monitoring activities, as part of the Department’s commitment to ensuring a sustainable, world-class aquaculture industry in Canada. Information presented on the Department’s public reporting web pages are updated as new information is received and may differ from this report.

Summary of marine finfish aquaculture in British Columbia

In British Columbia, the aquaculture industry is primarily regulated and managed by Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO). DFO began licensing aquaculture facilities in BC in December 2010. In 2017, there were 116 licensed marine finfish aquaculture facilities (“fish farms”). On average, 61 of these facilities have fish on site at any given time. At the end of 2017, the approved total combined peak production of all marine finfish facilities was 306,223 metric tonnes (MT). A list of all current licence holders for marine finfish aquaculture is available on the DFO website.

Marine finfish species cultivated in British Columbia

Most marine finfish aquaculture licences are issued for salmon, with Atlantic Salmon (Salmo salar) and Chinook Salmon (Oncorhynchus tshawytscha) being the most commonly farmed fish in BC. Some other species, such as Sablefish (Anoplopoma fimbria), are also cultivated on a smaller scale.

Atlantic Salmon is the preferred species for marine finfish cultivation around the world because these fish feed well on pellets, are efficient at converting food to body mass, grow quickly, and are well adapted to the confines of a net pen.

Locations of marine finfish aquaculture facilities

Marine finfish aquaculture facilities are mainly located around northern and western Vancouver Island. There are clusters of sites in several areas, such as Clayoquot Sound, the Port Hardy area, the Broughton Archipelago, and the Discovery Islands. All marine finfish aquaculture facilities with a valid licence as of December 31, 2017 are shown in Figure 1.

Map of 2017 Marine Finfish Aquaculture in British Columbia, showing Licensed Marine Finfish Aquaculture Facilities
Figure 1. Map of Marine Finfish Aquaculture Facilities in BC, 2017

Réglementation et surveillance des installations de pisciculture marine de la Colombie-Britannique 2017

Télécharger le format alternatif (PDF)

Publiée: 2017

DFO/2018-2009

Fs141-3F-PDF

ISBN: 2561-6633

Objet

Le présent rapport, intitulé Réglementation et surveillance des installations de pisciculture marine de la Colombie-Britannique 2017, donne une vue d’ensemble du rendement de l’industrie de pisciculture marine relativement au respect des exigences réglementaires prescrites en vertu du Règlement du Pacifique sur l’aquaculture et du Règlement sur les activités d’aquaculture. Le MPO produit annuellement cette publication afin d’offrir plus d’information sur le rendement de l’industrie en ce qui concerne le respect des conditions de permis et sur les activités de surveillance qu’il mène dans le cadre de son engagement à garantir une industrie d’aquaculture durable et de calibre mondial au Canada. Les renseignements présentés sur les pages Web de rapports destinés au public du Ministère sont mis à jour lorsque de l’information nouvelle est reçue et ces renseignements peuvent être différents de ceux contenus dans le présent rapport.

Résumé de la pisciculture marine en Colombie-Britannique

En Colombie-Britannique (C.-B.), l’industrie de l’aquaculture est principalement réglementée et gérée par Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO). Le MPO a commencé à délivrer des permis aux installations aquacoles en décembre 2010. En 2017, on comptait 116 installations de pisciculture marine autorisées (« exploitations aquacoles »). En moyenne, 61 de ces installations ont des poissons sur place en tout temps. Au terme de l’année 2017, la production maximale combinée approuvée des installations de pisciculture marine s’élevait à 306 223 tonnes métriques. Une liste de tous les détenteurs actuels de permis de pisciculture marine peut être consultée sur le site Web du MPO.

Espèces de poisson de mer élevées en Colombie-Britannique

La majorité des permis de pisciculture marine est délivrée pour le saumon, le saumon de l’Atlantique (Salmo salar) et le saumon quinnat (Oncorhynchus tshawytscha) étant les poissons d’élevage les plus courants en Colombie-Britannique. Certaines autres espèces, comme la morue charbonnière (Anoplopoma fimbria), sont également élevées à plus petite échelle.

Le saumon de l’Atlantique est l’espèce de poisson de mer préférée pour l’élevage à l’échelle mondiale, parce que ces poissons s’alimentent bien avec des granulés, transforment efficacement la nourriture en masse corporelle, grandissent rapidement et sont bien adaptés aux limites d’un parc en filet.

Emplacement des installations de pisciculture marine

Les installations de pisciculture marine se trouvent principalement au nord et à l’ouest de l’île de Vancouver. Il y a des concentrations de sites à plusieurs endroits, par exemple : la baie Clayoquot, la zone de Port Hardy, l’archipel Broughton et les îles Discovery. Toutes les installations de pisciculture marine possédant un permis valide en date du 31 décembre 2017 apparaissent sur la figure 1.

Figure 1 : Emplacement des installations de pisciculture marine en C.-B. (2017)
Figure 1 : Emplacement des installations de pisciculture marine en C.-B. (2017)