Regulating and monitoring British Columbia’s marine finfish aquaculture facilities 2015–2016

Table of Contents

  1. Summary of marine finfish aquaculture in British Columbia
  2. How aquaculture facilities are regulated
  3. Assessing compliance
    1. How DFO assesses the performance of aquaculture facilities
    2. Enforcement options
    3. Summary of charges and convictions, 2015-2016
    4. Enforcement activities
    5. Violations in 2015
    6. Violations in 2016
  4. Reporting requirements and reports submitted
    1. Reporting requirements
    2. Scheduled reports
    3. Event-based reports
  5. Monitoring and audits: Fish health
    1. Fish health management plans
    2. Fish health in 2015
    3. Fish health in 2016
    4. Sea Lice
    5. Fish Mortality
  6. Monitoring and audits: Environmental
    1. Benthic (seabed) monitoring
    2. DFO’s benthic audit program
    3. Escapes
    4. Incidental catch
    5. Interactions with marine mammals
    6. Use of lights
    7. Use of chemicals, and feed and other substances
    8. Aquaculture activities regulations
  7. Monitoring and audits: Inventory and aquaculture statistics
    1. Inventory plans and stock transfers
    2. Annual aquaculture statistical report
  8. Summary

Purpose

This report, Regulating and Monitoring British Columbia’s Marine Finfish Aquaculture Facilities 2015-2016, provides an overview of the marine finfish aquaculture industry’s performance in meeting the regulatory requirements under the Pacific Aquaculture Regulations and the Aquaculture Activities Regulations. Regulating and Monitoring British Columbia’s Marine Finfish Aquaculture Facilities 2015-2016 follows the earlier publication of the same report, which provided an overview of compliance from 2011-2014. DFO aims to produce this publication on an annual basis to increase information available on the industry’s performance in meeting conditions of licence and on DFO’s monitoring activities, as part of the Department’s commitment to ensuring a sustainable, world-class aquaculture industry in Canada. All data presented in this document is accurate to the best of our knowledge at the time of publishing. Information presented on the Department’s public reporting web pages are updated as new information is received and may differ from this report.

Summary of marine finfish aquaculture in British Columbia

In British Columbia, the aquaculture industry is primarily regulated and managed by Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO). DFO began licensing aquaculture facilities in BC in December 2010. In 2015, there were 116 licensed marine finfish aquaculture facilities (“fish farms” or “(farm) sites”). In 2016, DFO approved three new operations for a total of 119 licensed farms; about half of these farms have fish on site at any given time. At the end of 2016 the approved total combined peak production of all marine finfish facilities was 297,099 metric tonnes (MT). A list of all current licence holders for marine finfish aquaculture is available on the DFO website: DFO website.

Marine finfish species cultivated in British Columbia

The majority of marine finfish aquaculture licences are issued for salmon, with Atlantic salmon (Salmo salar) and chinook salmon (Oncorhynchus tshawytscha) being the most commonly farmed fish in B.C. Some other species are also cultivated on a smaller scale, including sablefish/black cod (Anoplopoma fimbria) and coho salmon (Oncorhynchus kisutch).

Atlantic salmon is the preferred species for marine finfish cultivation around the world because these fish feed well on pellets, are efficient at converting food to body mass, grow quickly, and are well adapted to the confines of a net pen.

Locations of marine finfish aquaculture facilities

Marine finfish aquaculture facilities are mainly located around northern and western Vancouver Island. There are clusters of sites in several areas, such as Clayoquot Sound, the Port Hardy area, the Broughton Archipelago, and the Discovery Islands. All marine finfish aquaculture facilities with a valid licence on December 31, 2016 are shown in Figure 1.

Map of 2016 Marine Finfish Aquaculture in British Columbia, showing Licensed Marine Finfish Aquaculture Facilities
Figure 1. Map of Marine Finfish Aquaculture Facilities in BC, 2016

Réglementation et surveillance des installations de pisciculture marine de la Colombie-Britannique 2015–2016

Table des matières

  1. Résumé de la pisciculture marine en Colombie-Britannique
  2. Modes de réglementation des installations aquacoles
  3. Évaluation de la conformité
    1. Méthode d'évaluation du rendement des installations aquacoles par le MPO
    2. Options d'application de la loi
    3. Résumé des poursuites et des condamnations
    4. Activités d’application de la loi
    5. Infractions en 2015
    6. Infractions en 2016
  4. Exigences en matière de rapports et rapports présentés
    1. Exigences générales en matière de rapports
    2. Rapports programmés
    3. Rapports d’événement
  5. Surveillance et vérifications : santé des poissons
    1. Plans de gestion de la santé des poissons
    2. La santé des poissons en 2015
    3. La santé des poissons en 2016
    4. Utilisation des lumières
    5. Mortalité du poisson
  6. Surveillance et vérifications : environnement
    1. Surveillance du milieu benthique (fond marin)
    2. Programme de vérification du milieu benthique du MPO
    3. Évasions
    4. Prises accidentelles
    5. Interactions avec les mammifères marins
    6. Utilisation d'éclairage
    7. Utilisation de produits chimiques, de nourriture et d'autres substances
    8. Règlement sur les activités d’aquaculture
  7. Surveillance et vérifications : Inventaire et statistiques sur l'aquaculture
    1. Plans d'inventaire et transferts des stocks
    2. Rapport statistique annuel sur l'aquaculture
  8. Résumé

Objet

Le présent rapport, intitulé Réglementation et surveillance des installations de pisciculture marine de la Colombie-Britannique 2015-2016, donne une vue d’ensemble du rendement de l’industrie de pisciculture marine relativement au respect des exigences réglementaires prescrites en vertu du Règlement du Pacifique sur l’aquacultureet du Règlement sur les activités d’aquaculture. Le rapport Réglementation et surveillance des installations de pisciculture marine de la Colombie-Britannique 2015-2016 fait suite à une publication antérieure du même rapport, qui présentait une vue d’ensemble de la conformité de 2011 à 20141 . Le MPO vise à produire annuellement cette publication afin d’offrir plus d’information sur le rendement de l’industrie en ce qui concerne le respect des conditions de permis et sur les activités de surveillance qu’il mène dans le cadre de son engagement à garantir une industrie d’aquaculture durable et de calibre mondial au Canada. Toutes les données présentées dans ce document sont exactes au meilleur de nos connaissances au moment de la publication. Les informations présentées sur les pages Internet des rapports publics du Ministère sont mises à jour à mesure que de nouvelles informations dissemblables à celles des rapports nous parviennent.

Résumé de la pisciculture marine en Colombie-Britannique

En Colombie-Britannique (C.-B.), l’industrie de l’aquaculture est principalement réglementée et gérée par Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO). Le MPO a commencé à délivrer des permis aux installations aquacoles en décembre 2010. En 2015, on comptait 116 installations de pisciculture marine autorisées (« exploitations aquacoles »). En 2016, le MPO a approuvé trois nouvelles activités, ce qui porte le total d’installations autorisées à 119, dont la moitié environ ont des poissons sur place en tout temps. Au terme de l’année 2016, la production maximale combinée approuvée des installations de pisciculture marine s’élevait à 297 099 tonnes métriques. La liste de tous les détenteurs actuels de permis de pisciculture marine peut être consultée sur le site Web du MPO : site Web du MPO.

Espèces de poisson de mer élevées en Colombie-Britannique

La majorité des permis de pisciculture marine est délivrée pour le saumon, le saumon de l'Atlantique (Salmo salar) et le saumon quinnat (Oncorhynchus tshawytscha) étant les poissons d'élevage les plus courants en C.-B. D'autres espèces sont également élevées à plus petite échelle, notamment la morue charbonnière (Anoplopoma fimbria) et le saumon coho (Oncorhynchus kisutch).

Le saumon de l'Atlantique est l'espèce de poisson de mer préférée pour l'élevage à l'échelle mondiale, parce que ces poissons s'alimentent bien avec des granulés, transforment efficacement la nourriture en masse corporelle, grandissent rapidement et sont bien adaptés aux limites d'un parc en filet.

Emplacement des installations de pisciculture marine

Les installations de pisciculture marine se trouvent principalement au nord et à l’ouest de l’île de Vancouver. Il y a des concentrations de sites à plusieurs endroits, par exemple : la baie Clayoquot, la zone de Port Hardy, l’archipel Broughton et les îles Discovery. Toutes les installations de pisciculture marine possédant un permis valide au 31 décembre 2016 apparaissent sur la figure 1.

Figure 1 : Emplacement des installations de pisciculture marine en C.-B. (2016)
Figure 1 : Emplacement des installations de pisciculture marine en C.-B. (2016)