Licences for introductions and transfers

Releasing live fish into fish habitat or transferring live fish to any fish rearing facility without a licence contravenes the Fishery (General) Regulations and is an offence under the Fisheries Act subject to penalties and forfeitures.

When an introduction or transfer licence is required

Fisheries and Oceans Canada issues licences under Section 56 of the Fishery (General) Regulations to authorize the intentional release and transfer of live aquatic organisms into fish-bearing waters or fish-rearing facilities in all provinces and territories, except Quebec (in freshwater), Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta where provincial officials authorize those activities.

A licence is not required for*:

  • Dead fish
  • Fish that is immediately returned to the waters in which it was caught
  • Live fish for the food trade**
  • Aquarium and water garden trade**
  • Bait**

* Even if a licence is not required, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) may have additional requirements for both live and dead fish movements under the National Aquatic Animal Health Program. Other federal, provincial, and municipal requirements may also apply. In some cases, fees are associated with these authorizations.

** Some provincial and territorial jurisdictions have restrictions and/or authorization requirements. For more information, you should contact the introductions and transfers Committee representing the aquatic organisms’ final destination.

Cost

There is no application fee for a licence, however, there may be costs associated with obtaining information requested by Fisheries and Oceans Canada to support the assessment of the application.

Service standards

Introductions and transfers Committees aim to process licence applications within 35 working days starting from the day that all the required information has been received from the applicant. Individual Committees may set shorter service delivery times as standards for their jurisdiction. Delays may be experienced in certain cases, such as when a comprehensive risk assessment or consultations with other stakeholders are required. Introductions and transfers program detailed service standards and corresponding performance information for licences issued under Section 56 of the Fishery (General) Regulations are available online.

Streamlining licensing

Licences can be sought for a single movement or for multiple movements over a designated period of time for the equivalent amount. Several species can also be included in a single licence. To confirm whether a streamlining option is available for a particular request, please contact the Introductions and Transfers Committee representing the aquatic organisms’ final destination.

Obtaining introductions and transfers licences

Individuals seeking a licence to move aquatic organisms within a province, between provinces, or into Canada must obtain application information from the Introductions and Transfers Committee in the province or territory representing the aquatic organisms’ final destination. The Introductions and Transfers Committees will help guide applicants on necessary authorizations or permissions required to carry out a specific request.

Licensing requirements specific to BC

When to apply for an introductions and transfers licence in British Columbia

Generally, a BC introductions and transfers licence IS required for:

  • Any movement of live fish into or within British Columbia to a fish-rearing facility or release into natural waters of British Columbia.
  • Any movement of live freshwater fish as regulated under the Freshwater Fishing Regulation of the BC Wildlife Act. (Does not include goldfish or ornamental tropical fish.)
  • Any movement of fish into a research/educational facility:
    • where the effluent is discharged near or into natural bodies of water in BC, and/or
    • where there is culturing/grow out activity, and/or
    • where fish are not isolated from other aquatic organisms, and/or
    • where fish will not be destroyed at the end of the research project.
  • Any movements of salmon between licensed aquaculture facilities and any movements of shellfish across transfer zones.
  • Any other movement of fish not covered under the federal aquaculture conditions of licence (e.g.: transfers of non-salmonid marine finfish species).

Generally, a BC introductions and transfers licence is NOT required for any export of fish out of BC (with the exception of freshwater fish which will require a provincial permit authorization under the Freshwater Fishing Regulation of the BC Wildlife Act) or where the movement is authorized as part of the conditions of an existing aquaculture licence.  An appropriate Provincial/Territorial IT representative in the destination province/territory must be contacted to fulfill requirements in that region.

Application form for British Columbia

Applications should be submitted at least one month before the date of the proposed collection and/or movement of aquatic organisms to allow ample opportunity for the Introductions and Transfers Committee to review. Applications are addressed on a first come, first served basis and may not meet proposed timeframes.

All supporting documentation (e.g. federal and provincial approvals, project proposals, etc.) that is required should be provided at time of application submission. If documentation is missing, applicants will be contacted by an officer to provide the missing information, which may delay the assessment of an application.

The Committee operates under a 10 business day service standard, from the time the acknowledgement notice has been sent, to provide feedback regarding an application.

Approved applications will be issued an introductions and transfers licence and/or any other necessary permits and authorizations. All authorizations must be on hand during the collection and/or transfer activity.

For further information regarding the application process or to submit your access and/or transfer application, please contact:

BC ITC Coordinator
Department of Fisheries and Oceans 
#200- 401 Burrard Street 
Vancouver, BC V6C 3S4
Phone: 604-666-5519 
Email: itc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Low risk species for introductions and transfers to British Columbia

The following list of species has been deemed low risk for movements to licensed BC aquaculture facilities from local sources (e.g. no additional site specific conditions or mitigation measures required); however, applications may require further review depending on scope and nature of aquaculture activity. In these instances, applicants will be contacted directly by the Introductions and Transfers Committee and provided further direction.

Any species not included in the lists below require an in-depth review and/or risk analysis by the BC Introductions and Transfers Committee.

Note: This list has been developed with respect to potential disease, genetic, and ecological risks and does not necessarily represent species authorized for cultivation under the Pacific Aquaculture Regulations. Applicants are responsible for securing all necessary permits and licences prior to engaging in any aquaculture activities.

Finfish
Finfish
  Common Name  Scientific Name
1 Atlantic Salmon Salmo salar
2 Black Cod Anaplopoma fimbria
3 Chinook Salmon Oncorhynchus tshawytscha
4 Coho Salmon  Oncorhynchus kisutch
5 Pacific Halibut Hippoglossus stenolepis
6 Pilchard Sardinops sagax
7 Rainbow Trout Oncorhynchus mykiss
8 Rockfish Sebastes spp
9 Sockeye Salmon Oncorhynchus nerka
Shellfish
Shellfish
  Common Name  Scientific Name
1 Butter Clam Saxidomus giganteus
2 Dungeness Crab Cancer magister
3 Eastern Blue Mussel Mytilus edulis
4 Gallo Mussel Mytilus galloprovincialis
5 Giant Rock Scallop Crassadoma gigantea
6 Horse Clam Tresus capax
7 Hybrid Pacific Scallop Patinopecten caurinus x yessoensis
8 Japanese Scallop Mizuhopecten yessoensis
9 Littleneck Clam Protothaca staminea
10 Manila Clam Venerupis philippinarum
11 Pacific Oyster Crassostrea gigas
12 Pacific Scallop Patinopecten x
13 Pink Scallop Chlamys rubida
14 Sea Scallop Placopecten magellanicus
15 Spiny Scallop Chlamys hastata
16 Weathervane Scallop Patinopecten caurinus
17 Western Blue Mussel Mytilus trossulus
18 Eastern Oyster Crassostrea virginica
19 European Oyster Ostrea edulis
Freshwater and Land-Based
Freshwater and Land-Based
  Common Name  Scientific Name
1 Atlantic Salmon Salmo salar
2 Black Cod Anaplopoma fimbria
3 Chinook Salmon Oncorhynchus tshawytscha
4 Coastal and Anadromous Cutthroat Trout Oncorhynchus clarkii
5 Coho Salmon Oncorhynchus kisutch
6 Lingcod Ophiodon elongatus
7 Pacific Halibut Hippoglossus stenolepis
8 Rainbow Trout Oncorhynchus mykiss
9 Sockeye Salmon Oncorhynchus nerka

Permis pour les introductions et les transferts

La libération de poissons dans tout habitat du poisson ou le transfert de poissons vivants dans des installations d'élevage sans permis vont à l’encontre du Règlement de pêche (dispositions générales) et constituent une infraction passible de sanctions et de confiscations en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches.

Cas pour lesquels un permis d'introduction ou de transfert est requis

La libération de poissons dans tout habitat du poisson et le transfert de poissons vivants dans des installations d'élevage sans permis contreviennent au Règlement de pêche (dispositions générales) et constituent une infraction passible de sanctions et de confiscations en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches.

Cas dans lesquels un permis d'introduction ou de transfert est requis

Pêches et Océans Canada délivre des permis en vertu de l'article 56 du Règlement de pêche (dispositions générales), qui autorise le rejet ou le transfert délibéré d'organismes aquatiques vivants dans les eaux où vivent des poissons et les installations d'élevage de poissons de toutes les provinces et tous les territoires, à l'exception du Québec (en eau douce), de l'Ontario, du Manitoba, de la Saskatchewan et de l'Alberta (provinces où les fonctionnaires provinciaux autorisent ces activités).

Aucun permis n'est nécessaire dans les cas suivants* :

  • Poisson mort
  • Poisson qui est immédiatement remis à l'eau à l'endroit où il a été capturé
  • Commerce des poissons vivants destinés à l'alimentation**
  • Commerce d'organismes d'aquarium et de jardin aquatique**
  • Appâts**

*Même si aucun permis n'est requis, l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) pourrait avoir des exigences supplémentaires en matière de déplacements de poissons vivants et morts conformément au Programme national sur la santé des animaux aquatiques. D'autres exigences fédérales, provinciales et municipales peuvent également s'appliquer. Dans certains cas, des frais sont associés à ces autorisations.

**Certaines administrations provinciales et territoriales ont des restrictions ou des exigences en matière d'autorisation. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le Comité des introductions et des transferts qui représente la destination finale des organismes aquatiques.

Coût

Aucun frais n'est associé à une demande de permis; cependant, des frais pourraient être associés à l'obtention de renseignements demandés par Pêches et Océans Canada à l'appui de la demande.

Normes de service

Les Comités des introductions et des transferts ont pour objectif de traiter les demandes de permis dans un délai de 35 jours ouvrables à compter du jour où tous les renseignements requis ont été fournis par le demandeur. Les comités pourraient fixer des délais de prestation de service plus courts dans leur administration. Il pourrait y avoir des retards dans certains cas, comme lorsqu'une évaluation complète des risques ou des consultations avec d'autres intervenants sont nécessaires. Le détail des normes de service du Programme d'introductions et de transferts et les renseignements connexes sur le rendement pour les permis délivrés en vertu de l'article 56 du Règlement de pêche (dispositions générales) sont disponibles en ligne.

Rationalisation de la délivrance de permis

Des permis peuvent être demandés pour un déplacement unique ou plusieurs au cours d'une période donnée, pour un montant équivalent. Plusieurs espèces peuvent également être visées par un seul permis. Pour confirmer si une option de rationalisation est disponible pour une demande particulière, veuillez communiquer avec le Comité des introductions et des transferts qui représente la destination finale des organismes aquatiques.

Obtention de permis d'introduction et de transfert

Les personnes souhaitant obtenir un permis pour déplacer des organismes aquatiques vers le Canada, entre des provinces et des territoires ou à l'intérieur de provinces ou de territoires, doivent s'informer sur les demandes de permis auprès du Comité des introductions et des transferts de la destination finale des organismes aquatiques. Les Comités des introductions et des transferts indiqueront aux demandeurs les autorisations ou les permis nécessaires pour une demande précise.

Exigences propres à la Colombie-Britannique en matière de délivrance de permis

Quand faire une demande de permis d'introduction et de transfert en Colombie-Britannique

En général, un permis d'introduction et de transfert de la Colombie-Britannique EST requis dans les cas suivants :

  • Tout déplacement de poissons vivants vers la Colombie-Britannique ou à l'intérieur de la province vers une installation de pisciculture ou tout rejet dans les eaux naturelles de la Colombie-Britannique.
  • Tout déplacement de poissons d'eau douce vivants en vertu du règlement Freshwater Fish Regulation of the BC Wildlife Act (Règlement sur les poissons d'eau douce de la Loi sur la faune de la Colombie-Britannique, en anglais seulement). (Ne comprend pas les carassins dorés ou les poissons tropicaux d'ornement.)
  • Tout déplacement de poissons vers une institution de recherche ou d'enseignement :
    • si l'effluent se déverse à proximité ou dans des plans d'eau naturels en Colombie-Britannique, et/ou
    • s'il y a une activité d'élevage ou de grossissement, et/ou
    • si les poissons ne sont pas isolés des autres organismes aquatiques, et/ou
    • si les poissons ne sont pas détruits à la fin du projet de recherche.
  • Tout déplacement de saumons entre des installations d'aquaculture détentrices d'un permis et tout déplacement de mollusques et de crustacés entre des zones de transfert.
  • Tout autre déplacement de poissons non couverts en vertu des conditions fédérales de permis d'aquaculture (p. ex. : transferts d'espèces de poissons marins autres que des salmonidés).

En général, un permis d'introduction et de transfert en Colombie-Britannique n'EST PAS requis pour toute exportation de poissons hors de la Colombie-Britannique (à l'exception des poissons d'eau douce qui nécessiteront une autorisation de permis provincial en vertu du Freshwater Fish Regulation of the BC Wildlife Act [Règlement sur les poissons d'eau douce de la Loi sur la faune de la Colombie-Britannique, en anglais seulement]) ou si le déplacement est autorisé dans le cadre des conditions d'un permis d'aquaculture existant. Il est obligatoire de communiquer avec un représentant provincial/territorial approprié en matière d'introduction et de transfert pour répondre aux exigences dans cette région.

Formulaire de demande pour la Colombie-Britannique

Les demandes doivent être soumises au moins un mois avant la date de la collecte et/ou du déplacement proposés d'organismes aquatiques pour que le Comité des introductions et des transferts dispose de suffisamment de temps pour effectuer son examen. Les demandes sont traitées selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi et pourraient ne pas respecter les échéances proposées.

Tous les documents à l'appui (p. ex. approbations fédérales et provinciales, propositions de projet, etc.) requis doivent être fournis au moment de la soumission de la demande. Si des documents sont manquants, un agent communiquera avec les demandeurs pour qu'ils fournissent les renseignements manquants, ce qui pourrait retarder l'évaluation de la demande.

Le Comité applique une norme de service de 10 jours ouvrables à compter de la date d'envoi de l'accusé de réception pour formuler des commentaires au sujet d'une demande.

Les demandes approuvées recevront un permis d'introduction et de transfert et/ou tout autre permis et autorisation nécessaire. Toutes les autorisations doivent pouvoir être présentées pendant la collecte et/ou le transfert.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet du processus de demande ou pour soumettre votre demande d'accès et/ou de transfert, veuillez communiquer avec la personne suivante :

Coordonnateur, CIT de la C.­B.
Pêches et Océans Canada
401, rue Burrard, bureau 200
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)  V6C 3S4
Téléphone : 604-666-5519
Courriel : itc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Espèces présentant un faible risque en matière d'introduction et de transfert vers la Colombie-Britannique

Les déplacements vers des installations d'aquaculture détentrices d'un permis de la Colombie-Britannique à partir de sources locales (p. ex. aucune condition ou mesure d'atténuation supplémentaire propre au site n'est requise) ont été jugés comme présentant un risque faible pour les listes d'espèces reproduites ci-dessous; cependant, les demandes pourraient nécessiter un examen supplémentaire en fonction de la portée et de la nature de l'activité aquacole. Dans ces cas, le Comité des introductions et des transferts communiquera directement avec les demandeurs et leur fournira d'autres directives.

Pour toute espèce qui n'est pas incluse dans les listes ci-dessous, le Comité des introductions et des transferts de la Colombie-Britannique doit effectuer un examen approfondi et/ou une analyse de risques.

Remarque : Ces listes ont été élaborées en prenant en compte les risques potentiels de maladie, génétiques et écologiques, et ne représentent pas forcément les espèces dont l'élevage est autorisé en vertu du Règlement du Pacifique sur l’aquaculture. Les demandeurs doivent obtenir tous les permis et les licences nécessaires avant d'entreprendre des activités aquacoles.

Poisson
Poisson
Nom commun Nom scientifique
1 Saumon de l'Atlantique Salmo salar
2 Morue charbonnière Anaplopoma fimbria
3 Saumon quinnat Oncorhynchus tshawytscha
4 Saumon coho Oncorhynchus kisutch
5 Flétan du Pacifique Hippoglossus stenolepis
6 Sardine Sardinops sagax
7 Truite arc-en-ciel Oncorhynchus mykiss
8 Sébaste Sebastes spp
9 Saumon rouge Oncorhynchus nerka
Mollusques et crustacés
Mollusques et crustacés
Nom commun Nom scientifique
1 Palourde jaune Saxidomus giganteus
2 Crabe dormeur Cancer magister
3 Moule bleue de l'est Mytilus edulis
4 Moule gallo Mytilus galloprovincialis
5 Peigne des roches géant Crassadoma gigantea
6 Fausse-mactre Tresus capax
7 Pétoncle du Pacifique hybride Patinopecten caurinus x yessoensis
8 Pétoncle japonais Mizuhopecten yessoensis
9 Palourde du Pacifique Protothaca staminea
10 Palourde japonaise Venerupis philippinarum
11 Huître creuse du Pacifique Crassostrea gigas
12 Pétoncle du Pacifique Patinopecten x
13 Pétoncle rose Chlamys rubida
14 Pétoncle géant Placopecten magellanicus
15 Pétoncle épineux Chlamys hastata
16 Peigne géant du Pacifique Patinopecten caurinus
17 Moule bleue de l'ouest Mytilus trossulus
18 Huître américaine Crassostrea virginica
19 Huître plate Ostrea edulis
En eau douce et en milieu terrestre
En eau douce et en milieu terrestre
Nom commun Nom scientifique
1 Saumon de l'Atlantique Salmo salar
2 Morue charbonnière Anaplopoma fimbria
3 Saumon quinnat Oncorhynchus tshawytscha
4 Truite fardée côtière et anadrome Oncorhynchus clarkii
5 Saumon coho Oncorhynchus kisutch
6 Morue-lingue Ophiodon elongatus
7 Flétan du Pacifique Hippoglossus stenolepis
8 Truite arc-en-ciel Oncorhynchus mykiss
9 Saumon rouge Oncorhynchus nerka